Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 9th December 2009, 02:51
zpdrumer zpdrumer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default installed compiz now desktop effects gone

Hey, well I used the how to on this site found here (http://www.howtoforge.com/enabling-c...a-geforce-8100) to install the compiz desktop effects, however after installing it, my enable desktop effects is gone (normally found under system>preferences>desktop effects)
Does anyone know how to get the desktop effects back? My compiz doesn't work, and I think it is because I need to have the effects enabled, thanks

a little background info:
1) before install the compiz I had both the cube and wobble enabled in the desktop effects
2) I have an ati x1200 (or possibly x1300 but more than likely 1200)
3) I'm running fedora 11 with gnome
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 9th December 2009, 03:02
zpdrumer zpdrumer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well I got the desktop effects back by entering this in terminal:

su -c 'yum install ccsm emerald-themes compizconfig-backend-gconf fusion-icon-gtk \
emerald compiz-fusion compiz-fusion-gnome libcompizconfig compiz-gnome \
compiz-bcop compiz compizconfig-python compiz-fusion-extras \
compiz-fusion-extras-gnome'

for anyone else who has similar problems,

now the wobble and cube work, but the rest of the compiz effects wont work, am I missing something?

edit: I am solving a ton of my problems, but I still cant get the compiz effects to work, I feel like I check the boxes, and they don't apply, in help getting these things to work? I loked up keyboard shortcuts, tried them, changed a few tried them, nothing really worked

Last edited by zpdrumer; 9th December 2009 at 03:26.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th December 2009, 16:04
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Did you try out a few settings in the CompizConfig Settings Manager?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th December 2009, 21:37
zpdrumer zpdrumer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

I did try a few. some of the ones I think should be more obvious were I used my own pic for the skydome (doesn't show up), changed color of the cube top (still says fedora and the color didn't change). Turned on fire, doesn't work, the animations don't work. I went into the settings for each individual feature as well made sure it was configured looked at the keyboard shortcuts.
I even told it to grab shortcuts, just to make sure that <super> was in fact the windows button. and nothing. the effects just don't show up. Do I have to like turn on compiz?
I noticed when I turn off my computer a dialouge box flashes up that says screen not composited or something to that effect, could this be my problem?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora 11 - new user & help with guide on best desktop & compiz as well as themes? virtuallynothere HOWTO-Related Questions 1 1st October 2009 18:09
Fedora 10: Desktop Effects Issues kikyz1313 Installation/Configuration 0 28th July 2009 20:14
Problems with Yum following The Perfect Server - CentOS 5.3 x86_64 Guide GOPalmer HOWTO-Related Questions 7 1st July 2009 15:20
Upgrade to php 5.2 in suse 10.1 gimhan90 Installation/Configuration 3 1st January 2009 21:32
Enable Desktop effects in Ubuntu 8.10 (Intel) zacha HOWTO-Related Questions 2 8th November 2008 16:59


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.