Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 8th December 2009, 14:17
JerryJones JerryJones is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cool ispconfig3/mydns as slave - ispconfig2/bind master

Hi,
sorry that i'm starting here with my question, but everybody talks only about transfers for bind as slave and mydns as master.

herre my situation:
both configs based on Centos 5.2,5.3 32bit
as in the title my configs was
1th dns master ispconfig2/bind
2th dns slave ispconfig2/bind
and now the last one:
config based on Centos 5.4 64bit
1th dns master ispconfig3/mydns

i cannot find any manual how its discribed how i can setup a secondary zone on the mydns via the gui. sorry with ispconfig 2 it was allready simple.

pleasy give me help, i think iths the soft way to make a slow migration to a modern tool like ispconfig 3

kindest regards Jerry
__________________
Jerry Jones
---------------------------------
2 x
VMWare Server CEntOS 5.2,5.3 32
ISPConfig V. 2.2.27
1 x
ESXi 3.5 CEntOS 5.4 64
ISPConfig V.3.0
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 6th January 2010, 11:47
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,395
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,489 Times in 4,321 Posts
Default

MyDNS does not support to be the slave for a bind master, thats why there is no such function in the ispconfig interface.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 27th January 2010, 21:07
xxfog xxfog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 30
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hi folks,

what do i have to enter in the notify-source field ?

My Domain-Provider uses 3 SLAVE-DNS-Servers with powerdns running on.
But I don`t get them running as slave like I need it.
I always get messages like "Zonetranfer unsuccessfull"

The Provider just tried to start AXFR manually and got this message:

Quote:
dig @server.dm-o.com mv-chat.de AXFR

->
; (1 server found)
;; global options: +cmd
; Transfer failed.
How do I have to put more than just 1 secondary DNS-server in the XFER Field of ISPConfig>Zones?
Do they have to be sperated with "," or with ";" or what sign do I have to use for seperation? The german language file says "-" as seperator and the english one says ",".

I found out that the notify section is missing in my conf-file, do I have to add it too?
If yes, can I transfer the IP-Adresses I entered in ISPConfig in XFER-Field to use them as notify-IP somehow too?

Sorry for my bad english.

What I really don`t understand: if I use another (older) SLAVE Server (I guess with bind running on) than it seems to work :-(
So I thought, that the error has to be on the 3 new Nameservers of my Provider. But these new servers are there main servers and if it would be like I mentioned than 1000nds of users would be very angry. So I guess what they say is right and the error seems to be on my server / configuration :-/

My configuration file says:
.
.
allow-axfr = yes
allow-tcp = yes
allow-update = no
ignore-minimum = no
.
.
but notify-enabled = yes and notify-source are missing

So please tell me, how can I add all XFER IPs there out of the database?

thanks and best greetings
__________________
greetz Steffan

Need help? Try out irc://irc.quakenet.org/ISPConfig
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 1st February 2010, 21:26
lucani lucani is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 81
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I dont know if anybody force this s... to work... axfr has many problems in MyDNS. Did you use this fix ? It's absolutely necessary: http://howtoforge.com/forums/showpos...8&postcount=15
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 1st February 2010, 21:50
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,395
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,489 Times in 4,321 Posts
Default

No, dont apply this. This fix is for a outdated version of mydns. Instead install the latest mydns-ng that includes the fix already! If you apply this on a recent version of ispconfig and mydns, zone transfers will stop.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2nd February 2010, 17:43
lucani lucani is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 81
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Yeah... ; / But tell me what does it mean "recent", in sourceforge I see this

Quote:
mydns-1.2.8.27.tar.gz 2009-03-26
If its corrected version it means that ixfr works ? What about axfr ? I saw code and it seems that it still doesnt edited because I done it manually.

Anyway, what should I do now ? Do I have to reinstall all ? ; /
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2nd February 2010, 18:00
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,395
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,489 Times in 4,321 Posts
Default

Nobody said that you should reinstall anything

I'am pretty sure that there was a mydns-1.2.8.28 available which fixed this issue, seems as if it had been removed.

In this case you are right that the mydns sources would have to be patched or you change the ispconfig sources. But as its a mydns bug (I explained thst in detail in the thread), it might be better to change the mydns sources.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2nd February 2010, 21:34
lucani lucani is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 81
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Yes, I heard about release in last July (?). Someone saids that zonetransfers works good, have you got copy in local disks or maybe links to mirrors ?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 3rd February 2010, 09:50
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,395
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,489 Times in 4,321 Posts
Default

I've searched the net and checked my vm images that I use for testing but I was not able to find it. Lets hope that the mydns project releases a fixed version soon. With the upcoming ISPConfig 3.0.2, there will also be BIND and powerdns available as alternatives.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 3rd February 2010, 13:00
manarak manarak is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 263
Thanks: 32
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
 
Default

that's good news, because I too was unable to find a newer version of mydns, and was unable to get the zone transfers to work.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
axfr, bind, ispconfig 3, mydns, zone transfer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Permission Denied Bind Slave Server Problems wxman Server Operation 17 22nd March 2014 12:30
ispconfig 3 mydns master to ispconfig 2 bind slave mooseman Installation/Configuration 2 2nd November 2009 01:11
master myDNS and slave bind9 acumen Installation/Configuration 3 9th July 2009 10:20
named.conf.master ISPconfig duplication hypertec_hope Installation/Configuration 0 18th July 2008 18:23
DNS Zone Transfer not complete. joelee HOWTO-Related Questions 3 19th August 2007 14:55


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.