Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 18th November 2009, 16:56
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,405
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
Default

For me it looks like an attack on your server.

Do you have any errors in the global apache error log or in the individual apache error logs that might be related to this?

You should consider to set the max number of apache instances to a lowe value (see apache2.conf file or httpd.conf or one of the includes).
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 18th November 2009, 17:32
wxman wxman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 189
Thanks: 11
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Hi Till

You might not have seen what I added to the last post.
There was an increase in the total traffic for the day. On the 16th the total hits was 70890 and on the 17th it went to 113208.
This in apache2.conf:
Code:
<IfModule mpm_prefork_module>
    StartServers          5
    MinSpareServers       5
    MaxSpareServers      10
    MaxClients          200
    MaxRequestsPerChild   0
</IfModule>
I'm also using ISPConfig 3.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 20th November 2009, 07:54
wxman wxman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 189
Thanks: 11
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Till or anyone

I'm in a real bind now. One of my web sites, the same one I was talking about here, is running a contest. She gets an increase in traffic, but not out of what I would expect. The as the traffic increases, The server goes crazy. The CPU and memory both go off the scale, and even top show load averages into the 100s!
I have tried to fine tune the my.cnf and apache2.conf but it isn't helping. I have 1.5GB of RAM on this machine running Ubuntu with the server on a xen virtual machine. The processor is a core duo Pentium and the operating system is installed as 64bit. Any help would be appreciated.

Last edited by wxman; 20th November 2009 at 07:59.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 20th November 2009, 08:32
damir damir is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 375
Thanks: 11
Thanked 51 Times in 42 Posts
Default

What is the amount of traffic we are talking about here?

Have you started to monitor the system to see where is the bottleneck?

How many sites do you host and is is all in one server or multiserver install?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 20th November 2009, 09:52
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,405
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
Default

Additionally to damirs questions, which php type did you enable for this website and do you have a php binary cache like eaccelerator or xcache installed to speed up php.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 20th November 2009, 11:09
wxman wxman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 189
Thanks: 11
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Additionally to damirs questions, which php type did you enable for this website and do you have a php binary cache like eaccelerator or xcache installed to speed up php.
I thought I was running Zend Optimizer for an accelerator, but it's not listed when I checked phpinfo. I'm using mod-php for a type.

Quote:
Originally Posted by damir
What is the amount of traffic we are talking about here?

Have you started to monitor the system to see where is the bottleneck?

How many sites do you host and is is all in one server or multiserver install?
haven't got the traffic stats for the moment of the crash. It happened just after midnight, and that's when I compile the webalizer stats.

I'm currently on a single server, with only three active site. I'm using Ubuntu, and xen, with 1.5GB RAM. I'm going to double the RAM this week in hopes that might help. We have quite a few more sites to add.

As for bottlenecks, I watched top as it locked up (see page one of this thread). All I could see is a lot of apache threads running at the same time. The site that caused this is using Drupal 6 too.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 20th November 2009, 11:21
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,405
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
Default

Zend optimizer is not a real accelerator, it just optimizes a bit. I recommend that you install either eacceleretor or xcache beside zend optimizer.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 20th November 2009, 13:29
wxman wxman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 189
Thanks: 11
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Zend optimizer is not a real accelerator, it just optimizes a bit. I recommend that you install either eacceleretor or xcache beside zend optimizer.
Hi Till

Have you heard if there is one that works better than the other with ISPConfig and/or Drupal?
This is such a pain not being able to see in any log where this might be starting. I'm also going to check around the xen world to see if maybe it's something there I need to tweak.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 22nd January 2010, 00:17
sajo sajo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 42
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Did you found solution, I have same problem for two weeks now, dont know what to do. i already add RAM so I have now 3Gb. only diference is that I am running ispconfig2.
But the top output is totaly the same.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 22nd January 2010, 10:30
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,405
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
 
Default

ISPConfig 3 uses a completely different setup and logging process, so your problem can not be related to this as the software that caused this is not even installed on a ispconfig 2 setup. Please make a new thread in the ispconfig 2 forum and post an exact description of the problem incl. log and ps output.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error in System Log dclardy General 0 27th October 2009 01:39
Random Questions dclardy General 9 3rd September 2009 23:39
I don't recieve mail. privir Installation/Configuration 2 3rd June 2009 22:08
Rejecting outbound mail tristanlee85 General 11 20th May 2007 17:04
Webmail Relay Error palkat General 17 23rd April 2006 18:12


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.