#1  
Old 30th October 2009, 15:46
ovredsson ovredsson is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Nameserver bug?

Hi,
I run ispconfig 3 and have some problem with my nameserver creation.
I host my own nameservers,

I have lets say ns1.XXXXXXX.se
and ns2.XXXXXXX.se

Ns1 = 123.123.123.2
Ns2 = 123.333.443.1

When I take an nslookup on ns1.ns1.XXXXXXX.se I get.
Non-authoritative answer:
ns1.XXXXXXX.se canonical name = www.xxxxxxx.se.
Name: www.xxxxxx.se
Address: 123.123.123.2

When I run ns2.XXXXXXX.se I get the same awnser.
And the address is the same as ns1.

Whats wrong.

The result of the answers should be different IP.

I haved Ispconfig 2 before with the same configuration and got the answer.
Non-authoritative answer:
Name: ns2.xxxxxxxxx.se
Address: 123.333.443.1

The different thing is that it worked :-)

Hope you can help me.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 30th October 2009, 19:51
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Make sure that you used the dns wizard to create the dns records, it will create all sub records as needed for you.

Also ns records can never be an IP address, they must be a domain.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st November 2009, 02:37
ovredsson ovredsson is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Dns

Hi
thank you for the reply.
You are right about the guide and that it cant be an ip.
But My problem is that i host My own DNS.
So when i have created My DNS name with the guide i have to create ns1 and ns2 with ip so the n1 and 2 i typed in when created the DNA site knows them.
This is what the isp DNS looks for. Ns1 is My own stativ isp address and ns2 points to My secondary. Thats where it's go wrong. Ispconfig2 found both of them ispconfig 3 finds them as same ip when it's to different one.

Hope you understand more from this mail and My first.

Sorry for My iPhone spelling it chooses My words

Peter
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st November 2009, 12:18
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

There is nothing wrong. Its absolutely ok that the answer is the same on primary and secondary ns server. run:

dig NS yourdomain.com

if it lists both nameservers, the the setup is correct.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd November 2009, 11:09
ovredsson ovredsson is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default Thank you!

If this is right then it is right then :-)
Thank you for all the help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
error: File /root/rpm/SOURCES/postfix-2.3.3-vda.patch: No such file or directory mxtdn Installation/Configuration 1 25th July 2009 10:20
Step 11 Error:rpmbuild -ba postfix.spec tgxg00 Installation/Configuration 7 22nd April 2009 16:16
Nameserver Problem marm26 HOWTO-Related Questions 21 25th February 2009 19:07
ISPConfig & Nameserver StevenD General 32 28th November 2008 14:20
DNS: Multiple IPs, want to setup a "private" nameserver on each IP for resellers bpmee Server Operation 8 17th September 2006 10:35


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.