Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 22nd October 2009, 14:02
tester321 tester321 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 34
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Question How to create another host in already existing domain (not blank)?

Hello, using the "Drupal 5.6 with ISPConfig on Debian Etch" from this site (all versions are as indicated in that HowTo).

Works great; various sites using it already.


How can I create a 2nd, independent host in the same domain?

i.e.,
www.domain.tld
pictures.domain.tld
...

1) The problem is that when you go through the ISPConfig process, it creates a "co-domain" to "domain.tld" for the first one ("www.domain.tld"). The 2nd site ("pictures.domain.tld") then seems to just forward visitors to "www.domain.tld"

2) Also, (I know this is Drupal specific BUT it is based on the same HowToForge multisite setup using ISPConfig, so tell me if I have to make another post in a separate forum), in the HowToForge directions to setup the "Multisite Installation" Section 10.1, it has you create a directory name "domain.tld" (no hostname).
Code:
mkdir /www/web1/web/sites/multiexample.tld
So now both sites seem to also share the settings.php, etc. Which is NOT what I want.

In short, in this case, I would like both sites to be completely independent websites, though they exist in the same "domain.tld"

Thank you in advance for any guidance and let me know if that explanation should be clarified further.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 22nd October 2009, 14:11
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,769
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,609 Times in 4,420 Posts
Default

Add a new website:

hostname: pictures
domain: domain.tld
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd October 2009, 14:46
tester321 tester321 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 34
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Add a new website:

hostname: pictures
domain: domain.tld
Till: Thanks for the quick response, but I have already done that. pictures.domain.tld is going to www.domain.tld. I made this post after trying this.

(If necessary, I can pm the urls)

Last edited by tester321; 22nd October 2009 at 14:49.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd October 2009, 14:56
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,769
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,609 Times in 4,420 Posts
Default

Remove the co-domain and then add a new website (not co-domain) instead to get a independant site.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd October 2009, 15:30
tester321 tester321 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 34
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Remove the co-domain and then add a new website (not co-domain) instead to get a independant site.
Till, thanks. Still no luck.

o I removed the "domain.tld" co-domain (no hostname; which was auto-created by ISPConfig when setting up "www.domain.tld").

o I already had the new website ("pictures.domain.tld") created in ISPConfig (without the co-domain as well).

pictures.domain.tld keeps sending me to www.domain.tld
(both are Drupal sites using the HowToForge setup on the same IP; other independent sites already functioning successfully on the same server). Does the "mkdir /www/web1/web/sites/multiexample.tld" thing factor in at all? Since that was already created for "www.domain.tld" and can't be done for "pictures.domain.tld"?

Last edited by tester321; 22nd October 2009 at 15:39.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd November 2009, 05:23
tester321 tester321 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 34
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
 
Question Any ideas on this one? Still no go.

I still can't get this to work ...

(This and the TLS multi SSL certificates via named-based hosting are my only 2 remaining "show stoppers")

Recap:
1) Drupal5 multisite+ISPConfig -> working perfectly based on HowToForge howto
All sites using the same IP

2) www.domain.tld -> responding fine, no problems

3) I want to have pictures.domain.tld -> a completely separate Drupal site from www.domain.tld

4) I have /var/www/pictures.domain.tld properly setup and the Drupal part prepared to setup the 1st account, etc.
(I already have numerous www domains working this way)

5) When I type in "pictures.domain.tld" it takes me to www.domain.tld

6) I think it is falling down here:
/var/www/web1/web/sites/domain.tld
Since that usually just has "domain.tld" directories -- without the hostname
But I already have one for the "www.domain.tld" site

Any thoughts on this?

Thanks in advance.

PS: I am using DNS external to ISPConfig ... and I have numerous sites working this way without any issues; this is the first I have tried two with the same TLD

Last edited by tester321; 22nd November 2009 at 05:33.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mail server using Postfix, Dovecot, Mysql... Postfix virtual maps doesn't work?? tarasbuljba HOWTO-Related Questions 33 28th May 2010 15:33
Postfix not responding to telnet CarbonCopy Server Operation 6 8th May 2009 06:39
mydns with blank host names tom88 Tips/Tricks/Mods 0 14th October 2008 02:53
Postfix problem: lost connection after CONNECT from unknown fernando_torrez Server Operation 5 30th November 2007 15:17
I broke it.. I think.. Email in is not being delivered? edge Server Operation 1 3rd July 2006 15:22


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.