Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 21st October 2009, 16:39
reason8 reason8 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 141
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stefanos View Post
Hi,

Sorry I cannot help with the config.inc.php. However I think that there is an option when you install as to what port to run on. As I said I left mine on port 81 (but this should not be a problem if the RevProxy is working as you can RevProxy for IspConfig to port 81 on your internal server. So I would leave this alone and do it via the RevProxy.

i.e.:
.....
ProxyPass / http://www.server1.com:81/
ProxyPassReverse / http://www.server1.com:81/

As for the /etc/hosts this is the anoying part every time you add a new site in ISPConfig you need to conf the RevProxy server to point to the new host.

i.e. add in the /etc/hosts the line to the server
eg:
192.168.1.12 auth.server1.com auth
192.168.1.11 www.server1.com server1.com
192.168.1.11 album.server1.com
192.168.1.11 server2.com www.server2.com

you also need to create the new vhosts file (/etc/apache2/sites-available) and run:
a2ensite server3.vhost

And don't forget you will need to restart Apache!!
This I dont understand. My new website (host?) will be on the second machine. But I create it in server1's control panel? Why do I need to create a new vhost file? Doesnt ISPConfig do this when you create a new site in sites-available? I am totally confused by this process.

Also, a2ensite is not a command on my OpenSuse box. What does this program do?

By the way, ISPCOnfig does not install on port 81. It installes the control panel on port 8080 by default but all websites are on port 80. Where did 81 come from?
__________________
Running:

ISPConfig 3
openSUSE Linux 11.3
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 21st October 2009, 16:43
reason8 reason8 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 141
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stefanos View Post
Hi reason8,

The way I understand it works is if you have a front end webserver that accepts all HTTP requests and then forwards it on as per your hosts file (or your internal DNS server).

My VirtualHost config looks like this:
<VirtualHost *:80>
ServerName www.server1.com
ServerAlias server1.com

ProxyRequests Off

<Proxy *>
Order deny,allow
Allow from all
</Proxy>

ProxyPass / http://www.server1.com/
ProxyPassReverse / http://www.server1.com/
</VirtualHost>

I have put the domains in the hosts file with the server ip as follows.

i.e.
/etc/hosts
192.168.1.11 www.server1.com
192.168.1.12 www.server2.com

You need to do it this way as the servers (192.168.1.11 & 192.168.1.12) need the host address to be passed in the GET request.

Personaly I run ISPconfig on a different port number but I have 4 vmware servers working (3 X Debian Lenny, 1 X Ubuntu), 1 is the front end Rev Proxy server that has a FIREWALL installed etc...

I think I did it with :
http://www.howtoforge.com/apache_rev...roxy_ispconfig
and with referance:
http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.0/vho...les.html#proxy

Kind regards
Stephen
So this configuration file goes on server 1 (the primary webserver aka server1.com per your documentation) and is saved in /apache2/v.host/ as foo.conf (correct)?
__________________
Running:

ISPConfig 3
openSUSE Linux 11.3
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 21st October 2009, 17:01
reason8 reason8 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 141
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stefanos View Post
Hi Reason8,

That is good news if it's working.

What I did was point port 80 from my ADSL router to one of my internal webservers and made sure that it was working as it was ment to. If you are vhosts on your internal server make sure it works.

I then built the my front end RevProxy server as per above and changed my ADSL router to point to the new front end Revproxy server.

So in short, make sure your back end servers works as normal as if each is was itself a front end server then do not touch them. Then configure the RevProxy server to forward requests to your internal server. You should end up with your normal webserver conf files on your internal servers and the



conf's on your front end server and that is it.

If it helps this is my conf file of one of my internal servers:



And ofcourse the hosts file:


hope it helps
Stephen
So where do these conf files go on the front end and the back end servers? I think I am getting confused. There are the conf files in the /apache2/vhost.d directory, vhost files in the /sites-available/ directory with symlinks to /sites-enabled. What goes where?

Where does the rev proxy conf file go?
__________________
Running:

ISPConfig 3
openSUSE Linux 11.3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora 4 TPS mail problem Hagforce HOWTO-Related Questions 13 10th February 2010 19:23
Slow network performance reading data JoeySpace Installation/Configuration 2 10th April 2007 18:42
WARNING: services not running MicCo Installation/Configuration 31 4th September 2006 13:16
network not really running blackflag Installation/Configuration 2 9th May 2006 02:12
Perfect Xen 3.0 setup for Debian gurneyzap HOWTO-Related Questions 4 26th March 2006 12:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.