Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st October 2009, 15:34
spr spr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Some questions after heavy testing

Hi

For testing reasons I've set up 3 Virtual Boxes running Ubuntu-Server an prepared them with the necessary steps out of http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-se...04-ispconfig-3

Box 1:
- MySQL Server
- ISPConfig Interface

Box 2:
- Mailserver

Box 3:
- Apache (for the hosting)

Everything works fine for now!
But a few questions are still bugging me...

Why do I need a MySQL-Server running on every Box?
The Installation (only) creates an "ISPConfig DB" there and inputs just the server running on!
Also it moves the interface to /var/www even if I choose not to do !!
If I choose to join an existing setup for Box2 and 3 it creates the Servers in the DB on Box1 and in the DB on themselves... Why that???
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st October 2009, 15:57
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,669
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,317 Times in 4,170 Posts
Default

Quote:
Why do I need a MySQL-Server running on every Box?
There are several reasons:

1) Redundancy
2) Faster
3) To be able to process higher loads.

Quote:
The Installation (only) creates an "ISPConfig DB" there and inputs just the server running on!
Correct. All records for this server will be replicated from the master database if you add them in ispconfig on the master DB.

Quote:
Also it moves the interface to /var/www even if I choose not to do !!
The interface is never in /var/www, it is always in /usr/local/ispconfig/interface. You mix up symlinks with the interface location.

Quote:
If I choose to join an existing setup for Box2 and 3 it creates the Servers in the DB on Box1 and in the DB on themselves... Why that???
Answer see your first question.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st October 2009, 16:49
spr spr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi till,

your fast in answering my questions

1.) That means that every change in the iface will be saved to the DB on Box1 an gets replicated to the DB on Box* imediatly !? Or just in the other direction!?

2.) You're right, it's "just" a symlink. But why does the install place it if I choose not to have the Iface on that Box !?

3.) Ok, but that also creates higher load because of everytime something gets changed a replication has to be done. What happens if the MySQL-Server on Box* is down?

Big thanks to you till.
Obviously you're loving your project and take care of it's users and future!
That's another big reason for using ISPConfig...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st October 2009, 16:56
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,669
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,317 Times in 4,170 Posts
 
Default

1) Every change that you do trough the ispconfig interface on the master server gets replicated to the slave. Technically, the slave is querying the master once a minut if there are pending changes to be replicated.

2) The ispconfig sources are always installed completely, but the interface is not activated.

3) Changes cause only minimal loads as only the changed record gets updated and the system is completely fault tolerant. Or how often a day do you change the settings of your mail account (I change mine typically every few moths if not just once a year) if you compare it with how many times the mail table has to be accessed when a mail is received. Thats why it uses exactly this architecture and not a central DB! You can power down the master db or power down the slave db, it does not matter. As soon as both db's are online again, the slave will get synched. You can even power down the slave for weeks and nothing get lost.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lots of questions from noob papokergod Installation/Configuration 5 21st January 2009 13:19
Hostname & DNS questions... SurfingAlien Installation/Configuration 6 16th October 2007 16:32
Questions and more questions... ellisgl General 1 21st July 2007 14:52
Many "is this possible?" questions... ClarkVent General 2 6th June 2007 15:35
Newbie Questions on ISPConfig - Please Shed Some Light aidwiz General 9 19th April 2007 13:44


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.