Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Tips/Tricks/Mods

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 3rd September 2009, 01:31
syadnom syadnom is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default alternative

as an alternative, just setup a different virtual site and change the html file to include an instant forward to the virtual site. That way you stay as close to stock as possible which is handy if you have to do a rebuild or something, less notes to read
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 3rd September 2009, 11:06
manarak manarak is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 262
Thanks: 32
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default

the whole point is to use something neutral like an IP address, because I want to run OpenX on it.

C'mon, there must be a way?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 3rd September 2009, 11:38
manarak manarak is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 262
Thanks: 32
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Maybe I've stumbled upon the solution.

There's a file /etc/apache2/sites-available/default

it starts with
Quote:
<VirtualHost *:80>
and then sets
Quote:
DocumentRoot /var/www/
So If I make a copy of the whole text and insert it at the beginning of the file and change the above to
Quote:
<VirtualHost MY_IP:80>
and
Quote:
DocumentRoot /var/www/clients/clientXY/webYZ/web/
it should work without disrupting the rest of the server?

(for security, I should then also include some upload dirs and jails)

Last edited by manarak; 3rd September 2009 at 11:41.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 3rd September 2009, 23:35
syadnom syadnom is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default change default listen port

change the default listen port to 8080 (or anything else) and put a virtual host in that listens on port 80 but does not use servername. That will work just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 27th September 2009, 05:35
dclardy dclardy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 347
Thanks: 10
Thanked 47 Times in 28 Posts
 
Default

Any more ideas on how to do this?

I am pretty sure that in ISPConfig 2.x when you go to the IP address of the server it tells you that you are entering a shared webspace. I would like to have this feature for ISPConfig 3.x. How can I achieve this?

Also, how do I create an FTP account to the /var/www directory?

Thanks,
Drew
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to host a forum with multiple web servers? itwillcome Technical 3 11th February 2011 01:26
DNS views with Master and Slave servers howto guytools Server Operation 0 24th May 2009 00:19
merge 2 ispconfig servers in 1 dimitar Installation/Configuration 1 22nd January 2008 08:27
Unable send receive emails vassilis3 Installation/Configuration 15 19th May 2007 14:34
No SPF record. beryl Installation/Configuration 6 17th May 2007 19:52


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.