Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14th September 2009, 06:43
soch soch is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 23
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Access via external IP works but website name doesn't

When I give the external IP of my router http://w.x.y.z it takes me to my website.

But when I enter http://www.domain1.com (domain1 is an example), I get address not found error. http://domain1.com doesn't work either.

1. I have my domain registered via GoDaddy.com. I have changed the nameservers to point to the external IP address of my router. Note: both ns1 & ns2 point to the same external IP of my router w.x.y.z.

2. I have forwarded all the requests on port 80 to my ubuntu server internal IP address in the router firewall settings.

3. I have created several records in ISPconfig3 as follows:

Record type Name Data Priority
================================================== =======
A domain1.com internal IP of the ubuntu server 0
A www internal IP of the ubuntu server 0
MX domain1.com mail.domain1.com 10
NS domain1.com ns1.domain1.com 0
NS domain1.com ns2.domain1.com 0

4. The DNS zone has following settings:
Server: server1.domain1.com
Client: empty
Zone (SOA): domain1.com. (dot in the end)
NS: ns1.domain1.com. (dot in the end)
email: mail.domain1.com. (dot in the end)



5. I don't have static IP from fios service. But the external IP (w.x.y.z) hardly changes.


Any help or suggestions will be appreciated.

Last edited by soch; 14th September 2009 at 06:54.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th September 2009, 13:13
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,001
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,650 Times in 4,460 Posts
Default

You have to use the external IP address in DNS records and not the internal IP address and there must be a dt at the end of the A record for domain1.com so that it reads "domain1.com."
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th September 2009, 19:38
soch soch is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 23
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
You have to use the external IP address in DNS records and not the internal IP address and there must be a dt at the end of the A record for domain1.com so that it reads "domain1.com."
Made those changes:
Record type Name Data Priority
================================================== =======
A domain1.com. External IP of router 0
A www. External IP of router 0
MX domain1.com. mail.domain1.com 10
NS domain1.com. ns1.domain1.com 0
NS domain1.com. ns2.domain1.com 0


All above records have dot in the end for host.

Still same problem.

Note: I am able to see the web page properly when using the IP address but not using the website page. Does it mean there is some problem with name translation?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th September 2009, 23:59
soch soch is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 23
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default intodns.com info, errors:

Parent Domain NS records Nameserver records returned by the parent servers are:

ns1.domain1.com. ['w.x.y.z'] [TTL=172800]
ns2.domain1.com. ['w.x.y.z'] [TTL=172800]

a.gtld-servers.net was kind enough to give us that information.

NS NS records from your nameservers NS records got from your nameservers listed at the parent NS are:
Oups! I could not get any nameservers from your nameservers (the ones listed at the parent server). Please verify that they are not lame nameservers and are configured properly.

----------->>>>>>>>> WHY?

Mismatched NS records WARNING: One or more of your nameservers did not return any of your NS records.
DNS servers responded ERROR: One or more of your nameservers did not respond:
The ones that did not responded are:
w.x.y.z

Multiple Nameservers ERROR: Looks like you have less than 2 nameservers. According to RFC2182 section 5 you must have at least 3 nameservers, and no more than 7. Having 2 nameservers is also ok by me. ---> DO I NEED TO HAVE 2 DIFFERENT IPs FOR NS1 & NS2????

Missing nameservers reported by your nameservers You should already know that your NS records at your nameservers are missing, so here it is again:

ns1.domain1.com.
ns2.domain1.com.



SOA SOA record No valid SOA record came back!

MX MX Records Oh well, I did not detect any MX records so you probably don't have any and if you know you should have then they may be missing at your nameservers!

WWW WWW A Record ERROR: I could not get any A records for www.domain1.com!

(I only do a cache request, if you recently added a WWW A record, it might not show up here.)

Last edited by soch; 15th September 2009 at 00:03.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th September 2009, 11:40
giftsnake giftsnake is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 108
Thanks: 15
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

  • No Dots at the in A records for hostnames (e.g. www)
  • I think you need 2 Nameservers with different IPs

your zonefile should look like this:

Code:
A domain1.com. External IP of router 0 (dot at the end)
A www External IP of router 0 (NO dot at the end)
A mail External IP of router 0
MX domain1.com. mail.domain1.com 10
NS domain1.com. ns1.domain1.com 0
NS domain1.com. ns2.domain1.com 0
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th September 2009, 23:21
soch soch is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 23
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by giftsnake View Post
  • No Dots at the in A records for hostnames (e.g. www)
  • I think you need 2 Nameservers with different IPs

your zonefile should look like this:

Code:
A domain1.com. External IP of router 0 (dot at the end)
A www External IP of router 0 (NO dot at the end)
A mail External IP of router 0
MX domain1.com. mail.domain1.com 10
NS domain1.com. ns1.domain1.com 0
NS domain1.com. ns2.domain1.com 0

The zone records look like above. Infact, I deleted the old DNS zone entry and created a new one using the DNS Wizard.

I don't have 2 external IPs for nameserves.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th September 2009, 00:54
giftsnake giftsnake is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 108
Thanks: 15
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

lets say, your external ip is 12.34.56.78

what you need is EXACTLY this (not as your above: look for the dots at the end of the entrys!!!)
Code:
A domain1.com. 12.34.56.78
A www 12.34.56.78
A mail 12.34.56.78
A ns1 12.34.56.78
A ns2 12.34.56.78
MX domain1.com. mail.domain1.com
NS domain1.com. ns1.domain1.com
NS domain1.com. ns2.domain1.com

btw: a dot at the end of the entry means, that the domainname is NOT added there. No dot at the end means, that domain.com is added.
example:
A www. 12.34.56.78 is for a DOMAIN called www (which is not allowed)
A www 12.34.56.78 is for www.domain.com, according to SOA

maybe you can ignore that with the 2 different ips for nameserver, just give it a try!
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to giftsnake For This Useful Post:
soch (16th September 2009)
  #8  
Old 16th September 2009, 01:49
soch soch is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 23
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by giftsnake View Post
lets say, your external ip is 12.34.56.78

what you need is EXACTLY this (not as your above: look for the dots at the end of the entrys!!!)
Code:
A domain1.com. 12.34.56.78
A www 12.34.56.78
A mail 12.34.56.78
A ns1 12.34.56.78
A ns2 12.34.56.78
MX domain1.com. mail.domain1.com
NS domain1.com. ns1.domain1.com
NS domain1.com. ns2.domain1.com

btw: a dot at the end of the entry means, that the domainname is NOT added there. No dot at the end means, that domain.com is added.
example:
A www. 12.34.56.78 is for a DOMAIN called www (which is not allowed)
A www 12.34.56.78 is for www.domain.com, according to SOA

maybe you can ignore that with the 2 different ips for nameserver, just give it a try!


Thanks for the help.

I added 2 more A records for ns1 & ns2. Added the dots where needed. I still have the same problem: "One or more of your nameservers did not return any of your NS records."

Here's what the entries look like:
Attached Images
  
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16th September 2009, 12:18
soch soch is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 23
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by giftsnake View Post
lets say, your external ip is 12.34.56.78

what you need is EXACTLY this (not as your above: look for the dots at the end of the entrys!!!)
Code:
A domain1.com. 12.34.56.78
A www 12.34.56.78
A mail 12.34.56.78
A ns1 12.34.56.78
A ns2 12.34.56.78
MX domain1.com. mail.domain1.com
NS domain1.com. ns1.domain1.com
NS domain1.com. ns2.domain1.com
Tried as above (added 2 A records for ns1 & ns2) & put dots at the end of hostnames as above, but I am getting the same problem. IntoDNS.com still says that nameservers are not responding.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16th September 2009, 12:20
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,001
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,650 Times in 4,460 Posts
 
Default

Run this command directly on the server and post the output:

dig @localhost domain1.com
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
soch (16th September 2009)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Relay access denied when using SMTP to external recipients Kamran Shah Installation/Configuration 111 14th May 2014 19:10
Can't access my website "the normal way" LinuxDuud General 3 13th December 2006 11:59
access website via intranet resnostyle General 1 29th October 2006 20:03
Website access by IP gundamf90 Installation/Configuration 3 28th October 2006 18:12
ISPConfig slow on external access mphayesuk General 7 17th August 2006 11:28


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.