Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25th August 2009, 15:43
Leftblank Leftblank is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 20
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Changing 'web' to 'public' for new sites?

Hi,

I'm playing with mod_rails and ISPConfig, which seems to be sort of working so far. One of the problems I'm facing is that I have to define the public dir for every vhost, as mod_rails expects the public directory to be named 'public' and not 'web' - like most control panels handle it.

I've tried looking through the ISPconfig server config file, but I haven't found a setting regarding this, so I'm wondering, is it possible at all to automagically use 'public' instead of 'web' for new sites?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 25th August 2009, 15:54
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,788
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,612 Times in 4,423 Posts
Default

The website file directory in ispconfig is named web and not public. By the way, a loz of controlpanels name it web and other name it public_html. The name of the directory can not be configured, you have to change the sources if you want to change it.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th August 2009, 16:08
Leftblank Leftblank is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 20
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
The website file directory in ispconfig is named web and not public.
That's what I said, ye
Quote:
By the way, a loz of controlpanels name it web and other name it public_html. The name of the directory can not be configured, you have to change the sources if you want to change it.
Ye correct, but it'd be helpful for mod_rails and other third party options to configure the name of the directory I suppose.

However, I'm curious if it would be possible for me to alter the .vhost template that is used to add the following line with the right foldername;
Code:
PassengerAppRoot /var/www/domain.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig3 on tap sites i can't see the my new web pinguinito General 2 6th May 2009 22:21
Web sites dns configuration simonePsc Installation/Configuration 1 29th July 2008 15:48
chgrp error new user DKA General 15 28th July 2008 18:45
Problems with the virtual email system with postfix, courier,mysql Greg Parker HOWTO-Related Questions 3 3rd January 2007 18:59
get thousands of "Mailsize" mails from own server torusturtle Installation/Configuration 20 24th December 2006 15:51


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.