Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 17th August 2009, 21:17
guimnk guimnk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 90
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default PTR Records in ISPConfig 3

Hi all..

I've authority over of my ip block (example: 192.168.1.0/28)

I'm trying to create my own PTR records in ISPConfig.

This is a example of PTR Zone using bind9:

Code:
zone "1-30.1.168.192.in-addr.arpa" {
        type master;
        file "/etc/bind/db.192";
};
Code:
$TTL    604800
@       IN      SOA     test.domain.com. root.test.domain.com. (
                     2009040101         ; Serial
                           3600         ; Refresh
                          86400         ; Retry
                        2419200         ; Expire
                         604800 )       ; Negative Cache TTL
; NS
@	IN      NS      ns1.domain.com.
@	IN      NS      ns2.domain.com.

; domain.com
10        IN      PTR     test.domain.com.
And it is a Zone of domain.com:

Code:
$TTL    604800
@       IN      SOA     test.domain.com. root.test.domain.com. (
                     2009040101         ; Serial
                           3600         ; Refresh
                          86400         ; Retry
                        2419200         ; Expire
                         604800 )       ; Negative Cache TTL
; NS
@	IN      NS      ns1.domain.com.
@	IN      NS      ns2.domain.com.

; domain.com
ns1		IN	A	192.168.1.1
ns1	        IN	A	192.168.1.2

test           IN    A        192.168.1.10
So, the IP test.domain.com is 192.168.1.10 and 192.168.1.10 resolve test.domain.com

In ISPConfig I'm trying to create a new zone with name 1-30.1.168.192.in-addr.arpa. and next, will create a NS record and PTR record. Example:

Code:
Zone: 1-30.1.168.192.in-addr.arpa.
Nameserver Hostname: ns1.domain.com.

Zone: 1-30.1.168.192.in-addr.arpa.
Nameserver Hostname: ns2.domain.com.

Name: 1
Canonical Name: ns1.domain.com.

Name: 2
Canonical Name: ns2.domain.com.

Name: 10
Canonical Name: test.domain.com.
And in zone of "domain.com" is:

Code:
 
Hostname: ns1.domain.com.
IP-Address: 192.168.1.1

Hostname: ns2.domain.com.
IP-Address: 192.168.1.2

Hostname: test.domain.com.
IP-Address: 192.168.1.10
I'm trying to view the result but not works.. Please, how can I do to fix it?

Last edited by guimnk; 18th August 2009 at 15:05.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 18th August 2009, 11:46
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,752
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,330 Times in 4,182 Posts
Default

You missed to add the dot at the end of ns1.domain.com, ns2.domain.com
and test.domain.com. It must be:

ns1.domain.com.
ns2.domain.com.
test.domain.com.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th August 2009, 14:21
guimnk guimnk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 90
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Thumbs down

till,

It's added.. And when I try to resolve my IP, I get

Code:
Host 1.1.168.192.in-addr.arpa. not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th August 2009, 15:02
guimnk guimnk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 90
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

This is the configuration screen



Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th August 2009, 05:16
bluejay3 bluejay3 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Another zone may be required

I believe you need another reverse DNS zone for the whole subnet, 1.168.192.in-addr.arpa.
In this zone, add NS records:
NS 1-30 ns1.yourserver.com.
NS 1-30 ns2.yourserver.com.
and a CNAM for each record you have control over, pointing to your 1-30.1.168.192 zone:
CNAME 1 1.1-30 (no trailingperiods, the full zone name is appended)
CNAME 2 2.1-30
....
CNAME 30 30.1-30

Therefore, given a lookup for 192.168.1.5, it will look for 5.1.168.192... which returns 5.1-30 (no period, so really equal to 5.1-30.1.168.192.in-addr.arpa) which will then look in your 1-30.1.168.192... zone and find the PTR record for 5.

Note the 1-30 zone prefix is arbitrary and can be anything really, but it helps with identication.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th August 2009, 21:26
guimnk guimnk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 90
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

CNAME Record??

I create a new zone with name: 1.168.192.in-addr.arpa.

And I create a records:

NS 1-30 ns1.domain.com.
NS 1-30 ns2.domain.com.
CNAME 1 1-30

But it not works..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21st August 2009, 00:45
bluejay3 bluejay3 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

The CNAME records should be like:
type: CNAME
name: 1
data: 1.1-30
.....
type: CNAME
name: 29
data: 29.1-30


Here is a full briefing I have for users of ISPConfig:
1. Create a new zone for the block of IPs and assign the new zone to the client
Example: Customer has 192.168.10.8/29, create zone 8-29.10.168.192.in-addr.arpa
(Note: the "8-29" zone prefix is arbitrary but helps us with identification of subnet)
2. Move the records (Example: hosts 8 through 15) manually or via database to new zone
3. In old zone (10.168.192.in-addr.arpa), add NS records for the new zone prefix
Example: NS 8-29 dns1.example.com.
NS 8-29 dns2.example.com.
4. In old zone, add CNAME records for each host in customer's range pointing to the new zone
in the form of CNAME [host] [host].[new zone prefix]
Example: CNAME 9 9.8-29
CNAME 10 10.8-29
5. Refresh the zones.
Now a PTR lookup will for 192.168.10.11 will query 11.10.168.192.in-addr.arpa and get a CNAME
of 11.8-29.10.168.192.in-addr.arpa which will return the proper value for host 11 in the newly
created zone.

(Note: This procedure can be applied to a single record and non-continous ranges)

Last edited by bluejay3; 21st August 2009 at 01:06. Reason: remove personal info
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig 3.0.1 released till General 36 29th March 2009 14:30
ISPConfig installation into multiple OpenVZ containers letezo Installation/Configuration 11 3rd March 2009 22:47
ISPConfig 3.0.0.5 Beta Released till General 77 23rd July 2008 12:14
ISPConfig 2.2.13 released till General 35 23rd July 2007 16:28
ISPConfig 2.3.2-dev released till General 9 4th June 2007 10:46


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.