Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Desktop Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 6th August 2009, 19:08
grandpagenocide grandpagenocide is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 308
Thanks: 13
Thanked 43 Times in 29 Posts
Send a message via AIM to grandpagenocide Send a message via MSN to grandpagenocide
Default HELP-- I need to setup a office network wtih dumb terminals

Hey guys, im looking for a tutorial for setting up an office network, 1 server 10 dumb terminals, and 10 dumb employees is there a tutorial around to get me started ???


I been away for a while, got a real job, but im back and will be playing with ISPConfig again soon :-D
__________________
Hosting for the Masses
http://rhwebhosting.com
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 6th August 2009, 20:22
giganet giganet is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: California
Posts: 243
Thanks: 116
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via AIM to giganet
Question

Hey GrandpaGenocide...

Tell me a little bit about the server and the 10 connected terminals.

Do you want this server to be connected to the outside world?
Email service for your employees?
Host a web-site?

Have a great day

Best Regards
GigaNet
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th August 2009, 23:50
id10t id10t is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 240
Thanks: 2
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Default

Assume you have a router or something already giving out dhcp addresses and providing a connection to the world. You'll need a second box set up as a NFS server and a TFTP server. In your TFPT configuration, you can specify a profile that will tell it to serve up a certain kernel image and a certain root file system. Then plug in a dumb terminal that can do PXE booting and test. Once it works, plug in the other 9 terminals.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th August 2009, 18:14
av1611 av1611 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Get the latest LTSP live-cd and install it.

Then go into YUM repos and add the standard repos that the Fedora build it's based on uses (last time I did it, it was F10)

Once you do that you can play with your firewall rules, and you're done.

I know it works because I did it already.

LTSP is pretty easy to set up because they did most of the work for you.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th August 2009, 18:08
matey matey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 93
Thanks: 13
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
 
Default

I need more info on those 10 dumb employees please!
LOL just kidding..
you're comment was funny but be nice to ppl lol

Anyway is the server like a mainframe or something?
As id1 said you need to give them (same class of) IP addresses and if the server is hitting the Internet then you have to configure the IP on your 10 machines/terminals (i.e config the gateway,DNS etc, so they can also hit the I'net).
If you are using a DHCP for your TCP then less config. required.

There are windows interfaces out there but been so long I forgot the name..win??something? (wintegrate?) not sure!

If the server is Linux (Ubuntu, RedHat etc) or Unix (Sun/Solaris etc.) and your workstations use MS Windowz then you can use the PuTTY, it's free to download/use.

In any case more info is needed.
Regards;
PS Congrats for the new job!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista not able to ping office network through vpn pawan_lal Server Operation 1 29th June 2009 12:34
XEN Network Setup dnielsen78 HOWTO-Related Questions 0 12th May 2009 00:21
DNS setup for extension office sudarshan Server Operation 7 10th April 2006 18:12
Perfect Xen 3.0 setup for Debian gurneyzap HOWTO-Related Questions 4 26th March 2006 11:30
Debian perfect setup network problem reddogg Installation/Configuration 2 18th January 2006 22:04


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.