Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 4th August 2009, 14:46
Skprorok Skprorok is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 56
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
And you have tested this exact .htaccess file on another server without doing any modifications in it and you do not receibve any error messages in the error log anymore?
I have tested this exact .htaccess file on another server without any modifications and I don't recieve any error...

When i copy content of .htaccess file to Apache directives it still doesn't works.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #22  
Old 6th August 2009, 21:51
rlischer rlischer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 121
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skprorok View Post
I have tested this exact .htaccess file on another server without any modifications and I don't recieve any error...

When i copy content of .htaccess file to Apache directives it still doesn't works.
I am having the same problem. I used a working .htaccess file from a working site and I am trying to duplicate the site on my new server. If I delete it I can see the site, but then I guess mod_rewrite stops working in that folder.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 6th August 2009, 21:54
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,396
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,492 Times in 4,323 Posts
Default

If you dont use the eaxct same application then you dont have the same eror! Without writing exact error descriptions, nobody is able to help you.

If something dont work in a website, look into the error log of the website.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 6th August 2009, 22:06
rlischer rlischer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 121
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
If you dont use the eaxct same application then you dont have the same eror! Without writing exact error descriptions, nobody is able to help you.

If something dont work in a website, look into the error log of the website.
I know I don't have the same app, but .php is not working correctly for me.

my error with .htaccess:
Code:
[Thu Aug 06 15:50:21 2009] [alert] [client 66.42.xxx.xxx] /var/www/clients/client4/web6/web/calls/.htaccess: Options not allowed here
without the .htaccess
Code:
[Thu Aug 06 16:04:48 2009] [error] [client 66.42.xxx.xxx] File does not exist: /var/www/clients/client4/web6/web/calls/admin-add-user, referer: http://www.mysite.net/calls/admin.php
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 6th August 2009, 22:08
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,396
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,492 Times in 4,323 Posts
Default

Ok, then move the "Options ...." lines from the .htaccess file to the apache directives field of the website. And plese dont post to other threads, make your own thraed for your own problem.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 6th August 2009, 22:11
rlischer rlischer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 121
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Ok, then move the "Options ...." lines from the .htaccess file to the apache directives field of the website. And plese dont post to other threads, make your own thraed for your own problem.
I don't know what "apache directives" are. I just wanted to subscribe to this thread to see if he ever found a solution. I do have another thread and you were helping over there. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 7th August 2009, 00:01
Skprorok Skprorok is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 56
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Ok, then move the "Options ...." lines from the .htaccess file to the apache directives field of the website. And plese dont post to other threads, make your own thraed for your own problem.

I tried to copy content of .htaccess file to Apache directives, but it still doesn't working. And i dont have any errors in error.log.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 7th August 2009, 09:46
dxr dxr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

ISPConfig has disabled .htaccess per default. You need add this directive to httpd.conf:

Code:
<Directory />
       AllowOverride All
</Directory>
And all your .htaccess will star work. BUT Till said me:

Quote:
Setting these things in .htaccess is not allowed for security reasons
as it would allow poaple e.g. to
enable disabled functions too. Instead, just add the line:
php_value memory_limit 128M
in the apache directives field in ispconfig.
http://us2.php.net/configuration.changes
http://us2.php.net/manual/en/ini.list.php

Php disable some directives for only setup in php.ini, i think allow .htaccess is not a security reason, ISPConfig has other security problems more importants.

For example 'Magento' need change some php directives in .htaccess, but its disabled, i think is very hard for the user change .htaccess from the control panel every time he need change it, or install new CMS, etc...
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 7th August 2009, 09:52
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,396
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,492 Times in 4,323 Posts
Default

With "Allow override all" you can change also the interpreter for any file ending e.g. .php files, so you can esily come around any restrictions on the system. Enebling the overriding for everything is not recommended on systms that run websites for customers.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 7th August 2009, 09:55
dxr dxr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
With "Allow override all" you can change also the interpreter for any file ending e.g. .php files, so you can esily come around any restrictions on the system. Enebling the overriding for everything is not recommended on systms that run websites for customers.
Show me examples, please.

Imagine my server with 50 websites and htaccess with "Allowoverride All"

How to can hack other websites from localhost or to do unstable the server.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
.htaccess

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Postfix delivery problem erebus Installation/Configuration 8 29th July 2014 20:17
All my mail is going to /var/mail/vmail _sluimers_ Installation/Configuration 21 10th January 2011 13:21
Chroot SSH + ISPConfig Norman Installation/Configuration 27 26th March 2007 03:40
HotSaNIC domino Tips/Tricks/Mods 23 6th November 2006 05:19
jamed up my table borders?? Boon-Dog-Danny Installation/Configuration 5 23rd September 2006 16:12


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.