#1  
Old 20th March 2006, 09:06
guidovanh guidovanh is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Leusden, The Netherlands
Posts: 104
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default SuSE 10 Linux install failed

I'll try to install SuSE 10 on a clean system.
After a while the system tells me that it can't copy kdelibs.
After CD#1 is installed, it tells me in a window all mis-installed packages (i.e. kdelibs3). The install resumes and the computer restarts.
I see many errors about a Read Only System (??)
Then the computer asks me to login. Which name? I only installed CD#1, the remaining CD's are unused.
It seems to be possible to login with the name system, but I don't know the password.
How do I continue to install?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 20th March 2006, 09:17
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,986
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,647 Times in 4,457 Posts
Default

If you got errors during the first insalltion steps, you wont be able to login.

Quote:
After a while the system tells me that it can't copy kdelibs.
Do you know the exact error message. Is your harddisk large enough? Does your installation CD looks intact or does it have scratches?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th March 2006, 09:56
guidovanh guidovanh is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Leusden, The Netherlands
Posts: 104
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
If you got errors during the first insalltion steps, you wont be able to login.


Quote:
Originally Posted by till
Do you know the exact error message. Is your harddisk large enough? Does your installation CD looks intact or does it have scratches?
I don't know what the exact error message was. I installed SuSE 10 on this computer last month, so I think the harddisk is large enough. In which way do I check the quality of the CD's?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th March 2006, 10:48
guidovanh guidovanh is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Leusden, The Netherlands
Posts: 104
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I rebooted the computer, I deleted all existing partitions and I installed Linux again.
This time I didn't see any error message, every package is installed properly.
After CD#1 was installed the computer restarted and again I see error messages such as "Read only file system".
The computer again ends with the login prompt.
What do I have to do now?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th March 2006, 12:55
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

How did you partition your hard disk? What partitions do you have and what file system do they use? Can you access /etc/fstab and post it here?

Quote:
In which way do I check the quality of the CD's?
You can compare the MD5 sums of your downloaded isos with the ones from the download server.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th March 2006, 13:12
guidovanh guidovanh is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Leusden, The Netherlands
Posts: 104
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
How did you partition your hard disk? What partitions do you have and what file system do they use? Can you access /etc/fstab and post it here?
I partitioned my hard disk as described in the perfect setup.
Because I reinstalled it again this morning (half an hour ago), I can not give you the output of /etc/fstab.
This time I didn't partition my hard disk, so I hope I can partition it after the install completes. Can you tell me: is that possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
You can compare the MD5 sums of your downloaded isos with the ones from the download server.
Oh yes, I'd seen an MD5 string. How do I do to compare these strings?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20th March 2006, 13:50
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by guidovanh
This time I didn't partition my hard disk, so I hope I can partition it after the install completes. Can you tell me: is that possible?
Believe me, the installer partitioned your hard disk, otherwise you couldn't have installed SuSE.


Quote:
Originally Posted by guidovanh
Oh yes, I'd seen an MD5 string. How do I do to compare these strings?
Run
Code:
md5sum /path/to/iso_image
and compare the MD5 sum with the one from the download server.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20th March 2006, 15:18
guidovanh guidovanh is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Leusden, The Netherlands
Posts: 104
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Believe me, the installer partitioned your hard disk, otherwise you couldn't have installed SuSE.
It is very strange: when I partition as described in the perfect setup manual on this site, after CD#1 my computer reports - when starting Linux - a lot of messages containing "Read-only" and then it asks me to login (but I didn't define any user at this moment).

Should I have to partition my hard drive (19,540 MB) according the description in the perfect setup or not?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21st March 2006, 00:41
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by guidovanh
Should I have to partition my hard drive (19,540 MB) according the description in the perfect setup or not?
Normally yes, but if it doesn't work for you (for whatever reason), you can accept the installer's proposal instead of creating custom partitions. But you have to keep it in mind when you set up quota later on.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21st March 2006, 11:31
guidovanh guidovanh is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Leusden, The Netherlands
Posts: 104
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

I solved the problem of failing setup by choosing install in the safe mode (I'm sorry I do not remember the right term SuSE uses).
When I completed the setup and restarted the system, all is completed and I can login onto my system...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to Linux 1st Ubuntu install RAID 0 =) DBroome Installation/Configuration 2 31st March 2009 16:50
How to install BFD (Brute Force Detection) domino Tips/Tricks/Mods 9 31st March 2006 23:40
SATA Software RAID 1 on Linux mphayesuk Installation/Configuration 2 21st February 2006 12:31
suse 9.3 install: E: Couldn't find package ncftp aallen Installation/Configuration 4 26th January 2006 21:02
Total Frustration-HELP palkat Installation/Configuration 17 3rd September 2005 18:28


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.