Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29th August 2006, 02:30
bwells bwells is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Create ftp.domain.com and mail.domain.com?

I'm converting from a very old ensim server with virtual ftp and mail servers for each domain. I'd rather not have to force all the users to change their ftp and email settings. Is there a way to automatically create a virtual ftp. and mail. that resolves to the correct IP for each domain?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 29th August 2006, 08:30
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,418
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,498 Times in 4,328 Posts
Default

Why do you need virtual FTP for that? The FTP daemon always listens to the IP address(es) of your server. You can connect with any domain that points to this IP address.

Connections to ftp.domain.com and mail.domain.com are a question of your dns setup, there is no need for a virtual FTP.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th August 2006, 01:16
bwells bwells is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I worded that incorrectly. What I needed was an easy or automatic method of creating a DNS entry for ftp. and mail. for each new domain. I didn't want my clients to have to go back and change their Outlook and FTP client settings.

I figured out I could add the ftp. and mail. as a co-domain. Is there some way to automate this so that every time a new site is created a www, ftp and mail are created in DNS instead of having to go back and create them manually?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th August 2006, 09:32
torusturtle torusturtle is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 296
Thanks: 21
Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to torusturtle Send a message via AIM to torusturtle
Default

What DNS service do you use?

As I don't use ISPConfig for DNS I don't know exactly how to configure a value that inserts everytime another domain but at the end you should have 3 entrys:

Code:
MX
domain.tld 10 mail.domain.tld

A
mail.domain.tld -> yourIP

CNAME
ftp.domain.tld -> domain.tld
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30th August 2006, 11:25
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,418
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,498 Times in 4,328 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bwells
I figured out I could add the ftp. and mail. as a co-domain. Is there some way to automate this so that every time a new site is created a www, ftp and mail are created in DNS instead of having to go back and create them manually?
In ISPConfig you use the DNS-Manager for that, just add a A-Record for mail and ftp pointing to the IP address of your server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th May 2009, 11:42
NSSR NSSR is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

I just need to reanimate this thread, as it matches my desires:

Currently i modified the dns-template-file to create a *.domain.tld. for every domain I've created. Also i modified the apache vhosts template file.

This works fine for most cases and i don't need to create that much subdomains (with and without www).

For some domains i can't live with that *.domain.tld entry and i need to remove it. Thats also fine, as long nobody touches the ispconfig dns-manager to manipulate the zone as it is re-written by any custom action.

What I'm looking for is either a SQL-Query to add a www-record for all domains wich do not own one and in case ... if they own one, keep mind of the currently entered data in the exisiting www-record for creating one for the co-domains.

An other option would be, to have a default template for all new domains which creates the needed records automatically. It isn't easy to keep all domains contigous with the same scheme. Thats why i desire a template.

I hope someone can help, either with a sql-query or an other idea.

Kind regards

Stefan
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15th July 2009, 17:43
atjensen11 atjensen11 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 199
Thanks: 9
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
 
Default

I have used the "Templates" menu item under the DNS Wizard section of the DNS tab to do such a thing.

It automatically creates A, NS, MX, and TXT records for each new domain I add to the database.

Wouldn't that suit your needs for new domains?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mail.domain.com Lil'Brudder Feature Requests 1 13th October 2005 09:01


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.