#1  
Old 8th July 2009, 21:34
wxman wxman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 189
Thanks: 11
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Adding extra server IP's

When I add extra server IP's do I have to add them anywhere else? It's working as far as it's writing to the apache files. I checked, and it's adding the correct IP to the virtual server. The problem is I'm not able to get to the site if I type the local IP directly, or from the URL; I'm on the server locally. If I check ifconfig, the new IP isn't there.
I've added it manually to /etc/network/interfaces, but it keeps giving errors when I do a network restart. I've added one IP already, and I didn't do anything outside of ISPConfig with that one, and it's working. It also shows up in ifconfig.
This is what I added to /etc/network/interfaces:
Code:
auto eth0:0
iface eth0:0 inet static
  address 192.168.31.203
  netmask 255.255.255.0
auto eth0:1
iface eth0:1 inet static
  address 192.168.31.203
  netmask 255.255.255.0
I'm getting this error when I restart:
Code:
 * Reconfiguring network interfaces...                                                                                             SIOCSIFADDR: File exists
SIOCSIFFLAGS: Cannot assign requested address
SIOCSIFNETMASK: Cannot assign requested address
SIOCSIFFLAGS: Cannot assign requested address
Failed to bring up eth0:1.

Last edited by wxman; 9th July 2009 at 03:00.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 9th July 2009, 10:25
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,770
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,331 Times in 4,183 Posts
Default

You will have to assign the IP addresses in /etc/network/interfaces as you did already. Please check that these IP addresses are not in use by any other computer in your network. Here is a more complete for a working interfaces file from debian:

Code:
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
        address 192.168.0.100
        netmask 255.255.255.0
        network 192.168.0.0
        broadcast 192.168.0.255
        gateway 192.168.0.1

auto eth0:0
iface eth0:0 inet static
        address 192.168.0.101
        netmask 255.255.255.0
        network 192.168.0.0
        broadcast 192.168.0.255
        gateway 192.168.0.1
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th July 2009, 16:36
wxman wxman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 189
Thanks: 11
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I actually made a mistype there. One of those .203 is really .204. Is there a way to see if the addresses are assigned somewhere else? I've used ifconfig, and looked everywhere else I can see. I only have eth0 and eth1.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th July 2009, 10:09
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,770
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,331 Times in 4,183 Posts
 
Default

You can e.g try to ping them before you assign them to your server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtual Users And Domains With Postfix, Courier, MySQL And SquirrelMail -Ubuntu 8.04 c4rdinal HOWTO-Related Questions 112 23rd August 2011 10:49
Statistic not working mzo Installation/Configuration 49 20th April 2011 12:19
Can't start apache Musty Server Operation 12 9th March 2008 13:58
How set DNS entry for different server? SupuS Installation/Configuration 1 12th June 2006 09:48
server blocked/stopped by host Ovidiu Technical 11 14th February 2006 10:50


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.