Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19th June 2009, 16:55
wxman wxman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 189
Thanks: 11
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Public and private IP address confusion

I was going to ask this in an earlier post (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...404#post195404) but this really is a separate question.

I'm adding SSL to a few sites that will be running in Ispconfig. The server is behind a router/firewall that now has a single public IP routed to the server's private IP of 192.168.31.202. That private IP is also the one I set as the "default" server IP in ISPConfig. I have 5 public IP's that I can use. I know I need a separate public IP for each certificate.

When you use the System>Edit server IP>Add new IP address, do you add a new private IP, then I'd use the router to point the public IP to it, or just add the public IP directly to ISPConfig?

I've tried to experiment with it, but so far it hasn't worked. I tried adding a new public IP address in ISPC, then switched one site to use that IP instead of the *. I made sure the DNS entries reflected the change, but I could never access the site after making the change. I don't know if I'm missing a step somewhere, or there are other changes that have to be done manually.

Also, when setting up a site that will use SSL, do you need to set up two seperate entries in the Sites section, one for HTTP and one for HTTPS?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 19th June 2009, 16:58
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,413
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,498 Times in 4,328 Posts
Default

You use private IP addresses for all services like web etc. except of dns records.

Quote:
Also, when setting up a site that will use SSL, do you need to set up two seperate entries in the Sites section, one for HTTP and one for HTTPS?
no. Just enable the ssl checkbox in the site settings and create a ssl certificate.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th June 2009, 17:17
wxman wxman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 189
Thanks: 11
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

So all I need to do is add 192.168.31.203 to the System>Edit server IP>Add new IP address, then set my router to point the second public IP to that private address?

Do I check the HTTP NameVirtualHost box?

That could be a DNS problem. Do I need to change/add anything to the DNS records? I already changed the A record to reflect the new IP. I'm using my own server as NS1, but it's using the first public IP address still. It's also been 12 hours and I'm still showing the old IP when I DIG the URL. It just might not have been long enough yet I guess.

Do I have to edit the /etc/hosts or /etc/network/interfaces manually for it to see the new public or private IP's?

Last edited by wxman; 20th June 2009 at 02:09.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th June 2009, 10:47
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,413
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,498 Times in 4,328 Posts
Default

Quote:
Do I check the HTTP NameVirtualHost box?
Yes, thats the default.

Quote:
That could be a DNS problem. Do I need to change/add anything to the DNS records? I already changed the A record to reflect the new IP. I'm using my own server as NS1, but it's using the first public IP address still. It's also been 12 hours and I'm still showing the old IP when I DIG the URL. It just might not have been long enough yet I guess.
Are you sure that your server is the authoritive nameserver for this domain? To query the local dns server use:

dig @localhost domain.tld

Quote:
Do I have to edit the /etc/hosts or /etc/network/interfaces manually for it to see the new public or private IP's?
Public IP addresses have only be configured on your router and not your server. Private IP addresses have to be configured on your server of course in the config files.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th June 2009, 14:20
wxman wxman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 189
Thanks: 11
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Yes, thats the default.
I did notice that if I don't check it, the original virtualhost gets edited to add the new IP. If I do check it, the virtualhost gets edited, but it also added a new virtualhost for an SSL version, even thought I didn't ask for it yet. That's not a problem.


Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Are you sure that your server is the authoritive nameserver for this domain? To query the local dns server use:
dig @localhost domain.tld
I did check that. I checked it again this morning, and it had changed. I know they say it takes up to 48 hours to change, but usually my DNS changes take only a few hours for some reason. I guess this one was more "normal".


Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Public IP addresses have only be configured on your router and not your server. Private IP addresses have to be configured on your server of course in the config files.
ISPConfig must be doing something because after adding the new IP to the server on ISPC, ifconfig -a now shows the new private IP address added, and I didn't edit /etc/network/interfaces.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BIND configuration for Public and Private IP Address joel_griego Installation/Configuration 1 18th March 2009 11:39
Public and private network + High Availability Apache Cluster teleted HOWTO-Related Questions 11 28th January 2008 14:29
Postfix + VDA patch (doesn't build RPM on server) VelhaChica Server Operation 5 18th October 2007 16:50
Private or Public IP settings kyriakos Installation/Configuration 1 20th February 2006 13:24


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.