Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 3rd June 2009, 20:47
BorderAmigos BorderAmigos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego & Tijuana
Posts: 302
Thanks: 26
Thanked 33 Times in 31 Posts
Send a message via MSN to BorderAmigos Send a message via Yahoo to BorderAmigos
Default

Ok, I did that now and I guess I have to wait for it to propagate.

This is where some of the confusion is maybe for us coming from cpanel as it handles all the DNS entries automatically.

EDIT: Uff... Now it's in a Redirect Loop just adding /subdomain/ over and over to the original subdomain.servidora.net. I give up for now.

Code:
http://subdomain.servidora.net/subdomain/subdomain/subdomain/subdomain/subdomain/subdomain/subdomain/subdomain/subdomain/subdomain/subdomain/subdomain/subdomain/subdomain/subdomain/subdomain/subdomain/subdomain/subdomain/subdomain/
__________________
System6Hosting.com, ISPConfig 3, Debian.

Last edited by BorderAmigos; 3rd June 2009 at 21:03.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 4th June 2009, 08:07
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,446
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,214 Times in 4,089 Posts
Default

Quote:
EDIT: Uff... Now it's in a Redirect Loop just adding /subdomain/ over and over to the original subdomain.servidora.net. I give up for now.
Then you entered a wrong redirect path or the wrong redirect type. Its really easy, dont know what you are doing *confused*
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 18th June 2009, 17:47
blocker blocker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 177
Thanks: 9
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Hello,

i have exactly the same problem - Redirect Loop

tripple reread the post and tripple checked my settings, everything setting seem to be the right one

Any Idea
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 18th June 2009, 17:53
BorderAmigos BorderAmigos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego & Tijuana
Posts: 302
Thanks: 26
Thanked 33 Times in 31 Posts
Send a message via MSN to BorderAmigos Send a message via Yahoo to BorderAmigos
Default

I am thinking it has something to do with the interaction of name servers maybe. From my registrar to dyndns to local. But it's still unresolved. I posted previously exactly what I am doing and it is exactly per instructions, but not working.
__________________
System6Hosting.com, ISPConfig 3, Debian.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 18th June 2009, 18:01
blocker blocker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 177
Thanks: 9
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BorderAmigos View Post
I am thinking it has something to do with the interaction of name servers maybe. From my registrar to dyndns to local. But it's still unresolved. I posted previously exactly what I am doing and it is exactly per instructions, but not working.
i need now rest and my dog needs a walk, later i can test with our DNS system, which i can control, and some test domain. I will post the results. Btw i already tested with editing my hosts file - the result was again redirect loop...
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 19th June 2009, 09:05
blocker blocker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 177
Thanks: 9
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Hello,

just tested it with domain hosted on our dns system, freshly added to the ispconfig3 - the result is the same: Redirect Loop

if that helps: my current system is debian lenny 64 bit, installed according the ispconfig3 documentation

UPDATE:
Just tested it on another server running ISPC3 and debian lenny 64bit, the result is the same: Redirect Loop

Last edited by blocker; 19th June 2009 at 09:17. Reason: second test
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 19th June 2009, 09:39
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,446
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,214 Times in 4,089 Posts
Default

Set the redirect type to L. Just tested oit on debian lenny and it works fine.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 19th June 2009, 10:12
blocker blocker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 177
Thanks: 9
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Set the redirect type to L. Just tested oit on debian lenny and it works fine.
with option "L" i get: Internal Server Error

and the in the apache stays:

Code:
Request exceeded the limit of 10 internal redirects due to probable configuration error. Use 'LimitInternalRecursion' to increase the limit if necessary. Use 'LogLevel debug' to get a backtrace.
UPDATE: i found that it was my fault with the option L it works on the 2nd server very well!!!

Last edited by blocker; 19th June 2009 at 10:25.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 19th June 2009, 10:25
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,446
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,214 Times in 4,089 Posts
Default

Maybe yoou have some additional rewrite rules in a .htaccess file or so. It definately works and has been tested on many servers. Here are some infos on how you can debug rewriting rules on your server:

http://www.latenightpc.com/blog/arch...ug-mod_rewrite
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 19th June 2009, 11:58
blocker blocker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 177
Thanks: 9
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
 
Default strange problem

Hello,

now the redirect works perfect on both servers using the "L" option. Thank you for all the help!!!

I have experienced something very strange
I made a subdomain dev.example.com to redirect to /dev/ subfolder in the WWWROOT of the domain example.com, using the "L". Instead of this the redirect goes to /dev folder on the rootfs

of course that happens only when i want to redirect to /dev/, changing it to something else e.g. /test/ makes it work perfect.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chrooted environments with Ubuntu and IspConfig hrvbid Installation/Configuration 5 23rd December 2009 18:44
Loads of mysql connections to dbispconfig StrikerNL General 2 5th March 2009 14:31
ISPConfig 3.0.0.4 Beta Released till General 54 4th March 2009 09:55
ISPConfig installation into multiple OpenVZ containers letezo Installation/Configuration 11 3rd March 2009 22:47
ISPConfig 2.3.1-dev released till General 0 8th May 2006 22:18


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.