Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 4th June 2009, 14:05
Croydon Croydon is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 927
Thanks: 16
Thanked 261 Times in 208 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slowhand View Post
Croydon,

Sorry to be dim...

I'm confused about your second version of the plugin then. Would I have to install webmail in /usr/share/? Not /var/www/?

Slowhand
There are two separate plugins. One fr webmail, one for phpmyadmin.
Both request an installed version of the corresponding software in /var/www

i.e. the webmail program has to be reachable through /var/www/webmail and the phpmyadmin through /var/www/phpmyadmin.
Whether these are symlinks to another location (e.g. /usr/share/squirrelmail or /etc/usr/roundcube) or really installed under /var/www doesn't matter.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #22  
Old 4th June 2009, 14:14
Slowhand Slowhand is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 96
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slowhand View Post
Croydon,

Sorry to be dim...

I'm confused about your second version of the plugin then. Would I have to install webmail in /usr/share/? Not /var/www/?

Slowhand
Croydon,

Ok, that's basically what I thought.

In that case, why wouldn't it work to create an https folder in /var/www/ and use a variation of the plugin?

Was my Technique to adapt the plugin correct btw?

Slowhand
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 4th June 2009, 14:20
Croydon Croydon is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 927
Thanks: 16
Thanked 261 Times in 208 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slowhand View Post
Croydon,

Ok, that's basically what I thought.

In that case, why wouldn't it work to create an https folder in /var/www/ and use a variation of the plugin?

Was my Technique to adapt the plugin correct btw?

Slowhand
Because a https folder (with https support) needs a changed vhost config.
None of the current plugins does that.
You would have to write a more complex plugin to support that. Take a look at the apache2 plugin of ispc. It is quite huge.

I cannot tell you if your adapting was correct because the answer would be "yes" for some usage case and "no" for others.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 4th June 2009, 14:41
Slowhand Slowhand is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 96
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Croydon View Post
Because a https folder (with https support) needs a changed vhost config.
None of the current plugins does that.
You would have to write a more complex plugin to support that. Take a look at the apache2 plugin of ispc. It is quite huge.

I cannot tell you if your adapting was correct because the answer would be "yes" for some usage case and "no" for others.
Croydon,

I'm going to leave you alone I promise...

In that case, what is the best method to serve *any* page behind https when an 's' is added to http://, *server-wide* without upsetting ISPc? Edit a vhost config file? which one?
I can find:
/etc/apache2/mods-available/vhost_alias.load
/etc/apache2/sites-available/ispconfig.vhost
/etc/apache2/sites-enabled/000-ispconfig.vhost

I'll figure out *how* to do it after that ;-)

Slowhand
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 4th June 2009, 14:54
Croydon Croydon is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 927
Thanks: 16
Thanked 261 Times in 208 Posts
Default

Although i really really don't know what this could be good for...

You could create a new vhost file in sites-available (e.g. global-ssl.vhost) and symlink it to sites-enabled

Then you would have to create ssl key and cert files.

The vhost file content might look like this:
Code:
<IfModule mod_ssl.c>

<VirtualHost *:443>
    DocumentRoot /var/www/globalhttps

    ServerName example.com
    ServerAlias seconddomain.com thirddomain.com
    ServerAdmin webmaster@example.com

    ErrorLog /var/log/apache2/sslerror.log

   SSLEngine on
    SSLCertificateFile /path/to/crtfile
    SSLCertificateKeyFile /path/to/keyfile

        <Directory /var/www/globalhttps>
        Options FollowSymLinks
        AllowOverride Indexes AuthConfig Limit FileInfo
        Order allow,deny
        Allow from all
    </Directory>

   # mod_php enabled
    AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .php3 .php4 .php5
    php_admin_value sendmail_path "/usr/sbin/sendmail -t -i -fwebmaster@example.com"
    php_admin_value upload_tmp_dir /tmp
    php_admin_value session.save_path /tmp

</VirtualHost>
</IfModule>
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 4th June 2009, 15:12
Slowhand Slowhand is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 96
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Croydon View Post
Although i really really don't know what this could be good for...
(Thanks for those instructions. They definitely won't upset ISPc)

Doesn't it make sense to always serve *any* login behind https?

If a user can simply add an 's' in the url and be secure, isn't that desirable?

S
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 4th June 2009, 15:15
Croydon Croydon is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 927
Thanks: 16
Thanked 261 Times in 208 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slowhand View Post
(Thanks for those instructions. They definitely won't upset ISPc)

Doesn't it make sense to always serve *any* login behind https?

If a user can simply add an 's' in the url and be secure, isn't that desirable?

S
Hum... So... I begin to think that you made it all a lot more complicated than necessary...

Do not change any files, just go to the "sites" tab, edit a website, check the "SSL" checkbox, go to the "SSL" tab and enter your SSL certificate details (or choose to create one at the bottom select box).
Then wait a minute (for the server to complete) and you can use the website with http and https after that. No separate folders.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Croydon For This Useful Post:
Slowhand (4th June 2009)
  #28  
Old 4th June 2009, 15:22
Slowhand Slowhand is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 96
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Croydon View Post
Hum... So... I begin to think that you made it all a lot more complicated than necessary...

Do not change any files, just go to the "sites" tab, edit a website, check the "SSL" checkbox, go to the "SSL" tab and enter your SSL certificate details (or choose to create one at the bottom select box).
Then wait a minute (for the server to complete) and you can use the website with http and https after that. No separate folders.
Ha! :-) Perfect.

after that http and https are interchangeable?

Too easy really... ;-)

S
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 8th June 2009, 10:53
Slowhand Slowhand is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 96
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Croydon View Post
Sorry, but you're quote has nothing to do with this

I did a second plugin that does the same for phpmyadmin as the other does for webmail.
Croydon,

Trying to create a plugin for a forum...

If I called this plugin
Code:
 forum_symlink_plugin
and did
Code:
 /usr/local/ispconfig/server/plugins-available/forum_symlink_plugin.inc.php
and
Code:
ln -s /usr/local/ispconfig/server/plugins-available/forum_symlink_plugin.inc.php /usr/local/ispconfig/server/plugins-enabled/forum_symlink_plugin.inc.php
using
Code:
<?php

/*
Copyright (c) 2007 - 2009, Till Brehm, projektfarm Gmbh
All rights reserved.
Modification (c) 2009, Marius Cramer, pixcept KG 

Redistribution and use in source and binary forms, with or without modification,
are permitted provided that the following conditions are met:

    * Redistributions of source code must retain the above copyright notice,
      this list of conditions and the following disclaimer.
    * Redistributions in binary form must reproduce the above copyright notice,
      this list of conditions and the following disclaimer in the documentation
      and/or other materials provided with the distribution.
    * Neither the name of ISPConfig nor the names of its contributors
      may be used to endorse or promote products derived from this software without
      specific prior written permission.

THIS SOFTWARE IS PROVIDED BY THE COPYRIGHT HOLDERS AND CONTRIBUTORS "AS IS" AND
ANY EXPRESS OR IMPLIED WARRANTIES, INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, THE IMPLIED
WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE ARE DISCLAIMED.
IN NO EVENT SHALL THE COPYRIGHT OWNER OR CONTRIBUTORS BE LIABLE FOR ANY DIRECT,
INDIRECT, INCIDENTAL, SPECIAL, EXEMPLARY, OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES (INCLUDING,
BUT NOT LIMITED TO, PROCUREMENT OF SUBSTITUTE GOODS OR SERVICES; LOSS OF USE,
DATA, OR PROFITS; OR BUSINESS INTERRUPTION) HOWEVER CAUSED AND ON ANY THEORY
OF LIABILITY, WHETHER IN CONTRACT, STRICT LIABILITY, OR TORT (INCLUDING
NEGLIGENCE OR OTHERWISE) ARISING IN ANY WAY OUT OF THE USE OF THIS SOFTWARE,
EVEN IF ADVISED OF THE POSSIBILITY OF SUCH DAMAGE.
*/

class forum_symlink_plugin {
    
    var $plugin_name = 'forum_symlink_plugin';
    var $class_name = 'forum_symlink_plugin';
    
    var $action;
    
    //* This function is called during ispconfig installation to determine
    //  if a symlink shall be created for this plugin.
    function onInstall() {
        global $conf;
        
        if($conf['services']['web'] == true) {
            return true;
        } else {
            return false;
        }
        
    }
    
        
    /*
         This function is called when the plugin is loaded
    */
    
    function onLoad() {
        global $app;
        
        /*
        Register for the events
        */
        
        $app->plugins->registerEvent('web_domain_insert',$this->plugin_name,'insert');
        $app->plugins->registerEvent('web_domain_update',$this->plugin_name,'update');
    }
    
    function insert($event_name,$data) {
        global $app, $conf;
        
        $this->action = 'insert';
        // just run the update function
        $this->update($event_name,$data);
    }
    
    function update($event_name,$data) {
        global $app, $conf;
        
        if($this->action != 'insert') $this->action = 'update';
        
        if($data["new"]["type"] != "vhost" && $data["new"]["parent_domain_id"] > 0) {
            
            $old_parent_domain_id = intval($data["old"]["parent_domain_id"]);
            $new_parent_domain_id = intval($data["new"]["parent_domain_id"]);
            
            // If the parent_domain_id has been chenged, we will have to update the old site as well.
            if($this->action == 'update' && $data["new"]["parent_domain_id"] != $data["old"]["parent_domain_id"]) {
                $tmp = $app->db->queryOneRecord("SELECT * FROM web_domain WHERE domain_id = ".$old_parent_domain_id." AND active = 'y'");
                $data["new"] = $tmp;
                $data["old"] = $tmp;
                $this->action = 'update';
                $this->update($event_name,$data);
            }
            
            // This is not a vhost, so we need to update the parent record instead.
            $tmp = $app->db->queryOneRecord("SELECT * FROM web_domain WHERE domain_id = ".$new_parent_domain_id." AND active = 'y'");
            $data["new"] = $tmp;
            $data["old"] = $tmp;
            $this->action = 'update';
        }
        
        if($data["new"]["document_root"] == '') {
            $app->log("document_root not set",LOGLEVEL_WARN);
            return 0;
        }
        
        $symlink = true;
        if($data["new"]["php"] == "suphp") $symlink = false;
        elseif($data["new"]["php"] == "cgi" && $data["new"]["suexec"] == "y") $symlink = false;
        elseif($data["new"]["php"] == "fast-cgi" && $data["new"]["suexec"] == "y") $symlink = false;
        
        
        if(!is_dir($data["new"]["document_root"]."/web")) exec("mkdir -p ".$data["new"]["document_root"]."/web");
        if($symlink == false) {
            if(is_link($data["new"]["document_root"]."/web/forum")) exec("rm -f ".$data["new"]["document_root"]."/web/forum");
        } else {
            if(!is_link($data["new"]["document_root"]."/web/forum")) exec("ln -s /var/www/phpmyadmin ".$data["new"]["document_root"]."/web/forum");
            else exec("ln -sf /var/www/phpmyadmin ".$data["new"]["document_root"]."/web/forum");
        }
    }
    

} // end class

?>
Would it work?

Slowhand
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 8th June 2009, 12:18
Croydon Croydon is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 927
Thanks: 16
Thanked 261 Times in 208 Posts
 
Default

It would work I think but it would create a symlink to /var/www/phpmyadmin (you didn't change that).

And I don't think that doing this with a forum is a good idea since forums often need a fix url (http://www.example.com/forum/) and don't work on multiple hosts. But you could give it a try.
Of course you would have to install the forum in /var/www/forum and change the symlink in the plugin.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newb: ISPConfig not showing @ :8080 Slowhand Installation/Configuration 11 2nd June 2009 13:52
Newb needs help savagemania Installation/Configuration 1 9th August 2007 09:58
Newb Guide to the World of Servers latcarf Suggest HOWTO 2 6th February 2007 15:12
extreamly newb question.... gatsu Installation/Configuration 20 13th December 2006 10:42
Best distro choise for newb & some advice pls Planet_Jeroen Technical 4 10th March 2006 09:41


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.