#1  
Old 7th May 2007, 03:01
rabrol rabrol is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Accessing sites via LAN

Hi all.

I know I read this somewhere, but I can't find where! Hence asking in here....

How do I access my ISPConfig sites when I am on the same LAN?
I can access them fine from outside the network via their domain names, and I don't really want to go change the host files on a bunch of PCs.

The server IP address is 192.168.2.203. If I use the following domain names, how do I see the sites from within the LAN

1 - mydomain1.dyndns.org
2 - mydomain2.dyndns.org

Thanks!
Rob
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 7th May 2007, 08:20
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,777
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,332 Times in 4,184 Posts
Default

Either you change the hosts file or you configre your router to allow connections to your dyndns domains. This should works with most routers, but some routers have IP spoofing filters activated, that prevent the access of your external IP / domain from internal workstations.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th May 2007, 16:16
rabrol rabrol is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Interesting

So there is no way to get to a site purely via IP? e.g.
192.168.203/web3/index.php

I run smoothwall express as my router & firewall. Any hints as to how I ould configure it to allow the domain requests to go through (although it seems a bit of a waste going to the server via the web when it is in the same building!).

Thanks again,
Rob
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th May 2007, 08:51
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,777
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,332 Times in 4,184 Posts
Default

Quote:
So there is no way to get to a site purely via IP? e.g.
192.168.203/web3/index.php
No.

Quote:
I run smoothwall express as my router & firewall. Any hints as to how I ould configure it to allow the domain requests to go through (although it seems a bit of a waste going to the server via the web when it is in the same building!).
THere is one other possibility that I forgot. Configure all your workstations so that they use one of your own dns servers, e.g. the bind server on the ispconfig server as dns server. Then define domains like mydomain1.int, mydomain2.int etc. on the ispconfig bind server and let them point to the internal IP addresses of the websites. Now assign mydomain1.int as co-domain to the first website and you should be able to access the first website from your internal workstations when you enter mydomain1.int in the browser.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st May 2009, 17:28
Zandooy Zandooy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default How I did it

When I would try to access my domain from within my local network, I would be redirected to my router's settings like I was entering 192.168.1.1 to configure my router. What I did was utilize a feature of my router called "DNS Server" which allowed me to make a list of domains and redirect them to my server's local IP address. For example, I wanted to access zandooy.com from within my network so I added zandooy.com with 192.168.1.21 to the DNS Server list in my router. Now when I browse to http://zandooy.com it redirects to my server inside my LAN located at 192.168.1.21.

Hope this helps,
Zandooy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
all sites are getting "Index of /" page instead of the domain directory jagnag1 Installation/Configuration 3 17th December 2006 12:18
error sites disabled but still indevidual error sites tom Installation/Configuration 3 13th May 2006 12:37
Sites inaccessable from outside LAN sapper6fd Installation/Configuration 5 26th April 2006 23:07
Sites Viewed From Server Go To Shared IP mojosound General 4 3rd April 2006 20:13
problem for accessing created sites ericli Server Operation 1 26th November 2005 09:47


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.