Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th May 2009, 04:01
happz happz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 261
Thanks: 35
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default Bind9 issues within company network...

when installing ubuntu i allowed it to pick up dhcp because i was unsure of the dns settings and other information. It did install and at this point i still have the same ip so all is good but BIND will not start or restart. Could this be because the corp office has that port block? How can i check this?

thanks,
hAppz

Last edited by happz; 13th May 2009 at 04:02. Reason: make it more clear
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 13th May 2009, 09:24
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

Which is the exact error message that you get in the syslog when you start bind?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th May 2009, 20:13
happz happz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 261
Thanks: 35
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Thumbs up Till, i am sorry..didn't see this reply..

I moved on and rebuilt this...now I have no problems. thanks anyway!

thanks,
happz
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th May 2009, 18:10
happz happz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 261
Thanks: 35
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default Till issues has returned even on this new build

The error I am getting when restarting bind9 is:

rndc: "connect failed: 127.0.0.1#953: connection refused.

thanks,
happz

Last edited by happz; 19th May 2009 at 18:56. Reason: added RNDC
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th May 2009, 17:02
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
 
Default

Please disable and uninstall AppArmor:
Code:
/etc/init.d/apparmor stop
update-rc.d -f apparmor remove
apt-get remove apparmor apparmor-utils
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
bind9

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DNS master server: bind9 issues lordshadow Server Operation 6 24th September 2008 00:34
Need help configuring network card hoggwild Installation/Configuration 2 14th April 2008 03:37
Slow network performance reading data JoeySpace Installation/Configuration 2 10th April 2007 17:42
Perfect Xen 3.0 setup for Debian gurneyzap HOWTO-Related Questions 4 26th March 2006 11:30
Network issue - newbie reddogg Installation/Configuration 1 22nd January 2006 08:03


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.