Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 7th May 2009, 18:47
robertlouwen robertlouwen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Brielle, Netherlands
Posts: 141
Thanks: 20
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default .htaccess gives Internal Server Error

Perfect Server Fedora 10 ispconfig 3.

With an empty .htaccess file in /var/www/clients/client1/web1/www shows the ispconfig index.html.
When i replace it with an other .htaccess file it shows page 500 ( Internal Server Error )

Anyone ???

With respect, Robert
Attached Files
File Type: txt htaccess.txt (2.6 KB, 269 views)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th May 2009, 10:13
oncletom oncletom is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

It's because the default AllowOverride in Vhost does not contain the rule enabling .htaccess. It is concerned by the "FileInfo" directive.

Quote:
AllowOverride ... FileInfo
In the next update of ISPConfig it will be added by default (as far as I have seen).
Personnally I've enabled it in the master configuration file (/usr/local/ispconfig/server/conf/vhost.conf.master), then saved again the Vhost in ISPConfig. The FileInfo directive was then added to this Vhost.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to oncletom For This Useful Post:
robertlouwen (8th May 2009)
  #3  
Old 8th May 2009, 10:48
vogelor vogelor is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wernau, Germany
Posts: 219
Thanks: 42
Thanked 34 Times in 24 Posts
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by oncletom View Post
It's because the default AllowOverride in Vhost does not contain the rule enabling .htaccess. It is concerned by the "FileInfo" directive.



In the next update of ISPConfig it will be added by default (as far as I have seen).
Personnally I've enabled it in the master configuration file (/usr/local/ispconfig/server/conf/vhost.conf.master), then saved again the Vhost in ISPConfig. The FileInfo directive was then added to this Vhost.
yes! that's both the truth. the next update (currently in beta-state) will add the FileInfo to the Vhost!
__________________
Der neue Luxus heißt Zeit, nicht Geld!

Firma : http://www.muv.com, http://www.computerandservice.de
Privat : http://www.vogelor.de
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th May 2009, 13:59
robertlouwen robertlouwen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Brielle, Netherlands
Posts: 141
Thanks: 20
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oncletom View Post
It's because the default AllowOverride in Vhost does not contain the rule enabling .htaccess. It is concerned by the "FileInfo" directive.



In the next update of ISPConfig it will be added by default (as far as I have seen).
Personnally I've enabled it in the master configuration file (/usr/local/ispconfig/server/conf/vhost.conf.master), then saved again the Vhost in ISPConfig. The FileInfo directive was then added to this Vhost.
@ Uncle Tom

Thank you for you answer, I understand I have to vi-edit vhost.conf.master but when I open this file in vi I don't see "AllowOverride ... FileInfo", there are a few "AllowOverride Indexes AuthConfig Limit" and a few "AllowOverride None".
Can you please be a little more specific where what to add or remove ?

After saving vhost.conf.master I point my browser to http://myserver.nl:8080 and then I save all the client websites.
Did I understand that part correctly ?

With respect Robert
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th May 2009, 14:05
vogelor vogelor is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wernau, Germany
Posts: 219
Thanks: 42
Thanked 34 Times in 24 Posts
Default

Add FileInfo after


Code:
AllowOverride Indexes AuthConfig Limit
so that you can see

Code:
AllowOverride Indexes AuthConfig Limit FileInfo
(its 2 times in the text)

then log in to ISPC3 and go to "sites". open your Site for editing and change "something". then click save and wait 1 minute...
__________________
Der neue Luxus heißt Zeit, nicht Geld!

Firma : http://www.muv.com, http://www.computerandservice.de
Privat : http://www.vogelor.de
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to vogelor For This Useful Post:
robertlouwen (8th May 2009)
  #6  
Old 8th May 2009, 15:12
robertlouwen robertlouwen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Brielle, Netherlands
Posts: 141
Thanks: 20
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

@ vogelor

Thank you for your answer.
First I vi edit the file at two places, rebooted, changed "something" in ISPConfig panel, waited and again internal server error.

Second time I vi edit the file at four places ( also SSL VHost ), rebooted, changed "something" in ISPConfig panel, waited and again internal server error.

So Maybe it is another, bigger problem, maybe format c: and start over is a solution

With respect, Robert
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 8th May 2009, 15:17
vogelor vogelor is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wernau, Germany
Posts: 219
Thanks: 42
Thanked 34 Times in 24 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robertlouwen View Post
@ vogelor


So Maybe it is another, bigger problem, maybe format c: and start over is a solution

With respect, Robert
NO! IS NOT!


open your .htacces and comment out EVERY line.

Then open your site.

Then remove one comment after the other and open your site again. by doing this, you can see, which line (command) produces the error.
it is not allowed to write everything inside the .htaccess

then report here, which command is the problem

Olli
__________________
Der neue Luxus heißt Zeit, nicht Geld!

Firma : http://www.muv.com, http://www.computerandservice.de
Privat : http://www.vogelor.de
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 8th May 2009, 15:38
robertlouwen robertlouwen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Brielle, Netherlands
Posts: 141
Thanks: 20
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

@ Vogelor,

Thank you for your time and effort !
I found out about this error when I tryed to setup joomla It returned an error about session.save_path and I googled for an solution and that is supposed to be a line in .htaccess But it was not.

Then I tried to setup an other script with an .htaccess file but the server error still occured.

I think it is a hell of a good idea from you to try and error and so eliminate the evil line in .htaccess

I start right now and will report later today

With respect, Robert
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 8th May 2009, 16:18
robertlouwen robertlouwen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Brielle, Netherlands
Posts: 141
Thanks: 20
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
 
Default Re. .htaccess gives internal server error

@ Vogelor

With all lines commented out there is no server error and there is no content only a white page.

So I start un-commenting lines one by one.
There is only one line that I can leave un-commented all the other ones give the error

The htaccess.txt is the .htaccess file I have uploaded to my server the other text file is the original .htaccess ( duh )

The line I left un-commented is "DirectoryIndex index.php.

One other thing I don't think I need the php4 blocks as my server is Fedora 10 with ISPConfig 3 ( that comes with php 5.2.6 )

With respect, Robert
Attached Files
File Type: txt htaccess.txt (994 Bytes, 313 views)
File Type: txt original .htaccess.txt (968 Bytes, 273 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
.htaccess, fedora 10, ispconfig 3

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
User unknown in relay recipient table Taxick Installation/Configuration 12 9th April 2013 12:31
Virtual Users And Domains With Postfix, Courier, MySQL And SquirrelMail -Ubuntu 8.04 c4rdinal HOWTO-Related Questions 112 23rd August 2011 10:49
Webmail problems with only one domain? compner Installation/Configuration 14 16th February 2010 16:59
Problem with keeping Apache alive bobeq Server Operation 3 29th November 2007 16:11
Server Not Autorative for Domain Error drbista Installation/Configuration 10 20th December 2005 16:41


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.