Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25th April 2009, 23:24
wxman wxman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 189
Thanks: 11
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Second server installation not linked with master

I don't think I installed ISPConfig 3 correctly on my second server, because I don't see where it's syncing up with the master server.

I have two physical machines, each with two virtual servers running Ubuntu 8.04. A load balancer is one virtual, and the webserver is the second on each machine. I also have a second network card in each computer, and a crossover cable, as a bridge between the two physical computers.

ISPConfig was installed on the first webserver (WEB1) using the standard install. I have an IP address assigned to the crossover NIC on WEB1 as 192.168.0.202. I then installed ISPConfig on the second webserver (WEB2) using the expert install. I kept getting stopped where it asks for the master MYsql server name. When I used localhost, which is what I used in WEB1, it finished the install. I can get to both interfaces locally.

My problem is now how is ISPConfig on WEB2 going to sync with it on WEB1? Also, how do I force it to use my crossover to communicate if possible? I'm using the dedicated GB crossover just for master/master DB and rsync. I'm able to ping each server using the assigned IP's for the crossover, WEB1 is 192.168.0.202, and WEB2 is 192.168.0.212. Is there any other thing that needs to be done on the second install to tell it to connect to the master?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 26th April 2009, 11:28
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,457
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,230 Times in 4,099 Posts
Default

Quote:
ISPConfig was installed on the first webserver (WEB1) using the standard install. I have an IP address assigned to the crossover NIC on WEB1 as 192.168.0.202. I then installed ISPConfig on the second webserver (WEB2) using the expert install. I kept getting stopped where it asks for the master MYsql server name. When I used localhost, which is what I used in WEB1, it finished the install. I can get to both interfaces locally.
Localhost is always the local server, so you now have to independant servers. As you installed the second server you must use the real hostname of the master server and not localhost. You will have to uninstall ispconfig on the second server and then reinstall it again as your current server can not be joined to the master after the installation.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th April 2009, 13:39
wxman wxman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 189
Thanks: 11
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

So does that mean when it asks for the server name, I should use web1.example.com, or the IP address of the virtual server the master is on?

Also, is there a way to force it to use the crossover network? Possibly changing my hosts file?

I installed both systems using the help text file included with ISPConfig3, as well as the how-to at http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-se...10-ispconfig-3.

Do I have to modify anything in MySql on web1, or web2 first, like permissions? Every time I try to install on web2 using web1.example.com, or 192.168.0.202, for the master server hostname, I get "Unable to connect to mysql server". I can still can ping server1 on both it's connections.

Last edited by wxman; 26th April 2009 at 17:07.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th April 2009, 20:16
wxman wxman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 189
Thanks: 11
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Good news bad news.
After adding permissions in the DB's on both servers to allow root privileges on both the server names, and the crossover IP's, I finally got it to install on the slave server. It took several try's to get there though. Now I have way too many DB users, and I need to figure out which to remove.

Now when I open ISPConfig on the master server, it shows three identical slave servers! Am I correct that I can fix that by deleting the two extra entries in dbispconfig table>server?

Am I wrong in assuming that this system will automatically update each other? I ask this because now I have both running, I notice that ISPConfig on web2 has no entries, and the monitor on web1 shows no information for web2 server. I'm going to be setting up master/master replication for any other DB's and rsync for all the other files.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th April 2009, 13:59
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,457
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,230 Times in 4,099 Posts
Default

Quote:
Now when I open ISPConfig on the master server, it shows three identical slave servers! Am I correct that I can fix that by deleting the two extra entries in dbispconfig table>server?
yes.

Quote:
Am I wrong in assuming that this system will automatically update each other? I ask this because now I have both running, I notice that ISPConfig on web2 has no entries, and the monitor on web1 shows no information for web2 server. I'm going to be setting up master/master replication for any other DB's and rsync for all the other files.
Only the master has an inteface. If you have installd an interface on the slave too then it will not work properly and you can not use this.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th April 2009, 16:12
wxman wxman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 189
Thanks: 11
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Only the master has an inteface. If you have installed an interface on the slave too then it will not work properly and you can not use this.
By Interface, do you mean the control panel you see when you get into the program? I had no idea I wasn't supposed to install that on the second server.

Since I'm using this as a load balancer with failover, should I keep the interface on the second server?

Does the dbispconfig DB keep mirrored automatically, or do I need to include it in my master/master replication? I noticed that the second server still shows no sites or clients. I tried to add a client to the master, but nothing changed in the slave.

There's also still no information about the second server showing up on either interface. It says it's there, but there is no information on any of the monitor points.

Last edited by wxman; 27th April 2009 at 19:18.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28th April 2009, 09:28
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,457
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,230 Times in 4,099 Posts
Default

Quote:
Since I'm using this as a load balancer with failover, should I keep the interface on the second server?
As long as you never login to the second interface, it does not matter. If you login there and change something then you will break the setup.

Quote:
There's also still no information about the second server showing up on either interface. It says it's there, but there is no information on any of the monitor points.
Then there is a configuration problem with the permissions of your mysql server. You have to enter the hostname of the amster when you install ispconfig on the second server and this hostname must be resolvable in dns by the master and slave server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28th April 2009, 20:20
wxman wxman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 189
Thanks: 11
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I uninstalled the slave ISPC, and the DB entries for it on both servers. I reinstalled without the interface, and used web1.tlthost.net as the master host. It installed fine, and shows up in the master interface, but still no monitor information is making it. It even has it listed in the server listing. Does web2 have to be listed in the DNS tab?

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Then there is a configuration problem with the permissions of your mysql server. You have to enter the hostname of the amster when you install ispconfig on the second server and this hostname must be resolvable in dns by the master and slave server.
That's going to be a problem when you have a dedicated network card and crossover cable to handle only the file transfers.

Right now eth0 is the Xen virtual network card, and eth1 is the crossover. My hosts file for web1, the master web server, looks like this:
Code:
127.0.0.1       localhost.localdomain  localhost
127.0.1.1       web1.tlthost.net       web1
192.168.31.202  web1.tlthost.net       web1
192.168.31.200  server1.tlthost.net    server1
192.168.31.210  server2.tlthost.net    server2
192.168.31.201  lb1.tlthost.net        lb1
192.168.31.211  lb2.tlthost.net        lb2
192.168.31.212  web2.tlthost.net       web2
Web2, the slave web server, is nearly the same:
Code:
127.0.0.1       localhost.localdomain  localhost
127.0.1.1       web2.tlthost.net       web2
192.168.31.212  web2.tlthost.net       web2
192.168.31.210  server2.tlthost.net    server1
192.168.31.210  server2.tlthost.net    server2
192.168.31.201  lb1.tlthost.net        lb1
192.168.31.211  lb2.tlthost.net        lb2
192.168.31.202  web1.tlthost.net       web1
The xxx.xxx.31.xxx addresses are the Xen interfaces. I want the replicating traffic to use the crossover ones that have addresses of xxx.xxx.0.xxx. SO if I tell ISPConfig slave on web2 during the install to use the MySql master at web1.tlthost.net, it's not going to use the crossover. If I change the host file so web1.tlthost.net points to 192.168.0.202, the the Xen connections will be messed up. I guess if I have to, the ISPC traffic won't go on the crossover, but all the other backups can. I'd rather have it all go there if possible.

Last edited by wxman; 28th April 2009 at 20:43.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29th April 2009, 17:47
wxman wxman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 189
Thanks: 11
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Now I'm really going to sound dense.

Have I been looking at this all wrong, and I should install ISPC as a standard installation on both servers, and sync them with master/master replication? Remember, I'm using the two servers in a load balancer/fail over capacity, not as two different servers.

If this is true, what directories/files would you recommend with an ISPC 3 setup, to mirror?

Last edited by wxman; 29th April 2009 at 20:47.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 30th April 2009, 14:57
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,457
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,230 Times in 4,099 Posts
 
Default

Sorry, I did not recognize that you use this as a load balancer. The best is to install ispconfig just on one server and then sync the databases and config files with rsync to all slave nodes. The ispconfig interface can be accessed only on one node as having two interfaces might corrupt everything and ispconfig will not be able to deterine which configuration is written to which server already in a mysql master master setup.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig installation into multiple OpenVZ containers letezo Installation/Configuration 11 3rd March 2009 22:47
FTP cannot open remote folder!?! andysm849 Server Operation 23 16th October 2008 23:34
DNS master server: bind9 issues lordshadow Server Operation 6 24th September 2008 00:34
Public and private network + High Availability Apache Cluster teleted HOWTO-Related Questions 11 28th January 2008 14:29
Email - Ueb-Miau mazhar Installation/Configuration 5 21st December 2005 10:01


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.