#1  
Old 14th April 2009, 01:34
jfruano jfruano is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 95
Thanks: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question DNS Confused

Confused DNS

I want my own DNS, but no himself really I eat to configure them and if this is possible .

I have my server with a router and the local address is 192.168.2.3

I have an own I.P.: xx.xx.xx.xx

My server hostname is : server1.example.com

I want in my provider of domains that all I have registered point to my own I.P. : ns1.example.com - ns2.example.com

This my current config, and not work :

DNS ZONE

Server : server1.example.com
Client : mynameclient
Zone (SOA) : server1.example.com
NS : ns1.example.com
email : myemail@example.com
Refresh, Retry, Expire, Minimum and TTL (default with ISPConfig 3)
Allow zone transfers to these IPs (comma separated list) (blank)
Active : checked

RECORDS:

A mail xx.xx.xx.xx 0
A ns1 xx.xx.xx.xx 0
A server1.example.com xx.xx.xx.xx 0
A www xx.xx.xx.xx 0
MX server1.example.com mail.example.com 10
NS server1.example.com ns1.example.com 0
NS server1.example.com ns2.example.com 0

I Prove:

server1:/# nslookup example.com
;; Got SERVFAIL reply from 89.29.252.2, trying next server
;; Got SERVFAIL reply from 89.29.252.2, trying next server
Server: 89.29.253.2
Address: 89.29.253.2#53

** server can't find example.com: SERVFAIL

Would they be so kind from explaining me with these data of example like to configure correctly the Zones DNS?

Thanks in advance.
J.F. Ruano.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th April 2009, 10:45
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,405
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
Default

You missed to add the dots at the end of the records. If you need an example how the correct records look like then use the dns wizard in ispconfig 3.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th April 2009, 13:52
jfruano jfruano is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 95
Thanks: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
You missed to add the dots at the end of the records. If you need an example how the correct records look like then use the dns wizard in ispconfig 3.
Thanks Till, for your response, I add the dots at de end but not work.

A questions:

In the RECORDS DNS A IP-Address that I have to put?:

1 My own I.P. :xx.xx.xx.xx
2 The I.P. of the Router 192.168.2.3
3 Or who ?

And in DNS, ZONE (SOA) that I have put:

1 My Hostname and domain : server1.example.com.
2 My Domaian only : example.com.

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th April 2009, 16:41
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,405
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
 
Default

Please create a new dns zone with the dns wizard to get an example how the records shall look like.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Squid Proxy Caching on Linux obzerver Installation/Configuration 4 13th August 2008 19:51
Google Apps dayjahone General 19 29th March 2008 17:25
DNS Configuration Problems VMartins Installation/Configuration 10 24th July 2007 14:40
Unable send receive emails vassilis3 Installation/Configuration 15 19th May 2007 14:34
DNS, a little confused.... coe_pal Server Operation 2 4th January 2007 04:47


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.