#1  
Old 3rd April 2009, 11:20
joemateer joemateer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISPconfig 3.0.0.9

Hi, first post....(take it easy on me)

Ive just setup the 'perfect server on Debian (Lenny). It all seems to be working ok as I can access the ISPconfig control panel.

Ive redirected my domain hosted by 1&1 to point to the ip address supplied by ISP. Is this the correct thing to do?

When I type in my domain address in the browser i do get my web page (hosted on my debian server). Now for the question, how do I access the control panel of ISPconfig from outside of the network, ie on the web?

Cheers
Joe.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 3rd April 2009, 11:49
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,036
Thanks: 268
Thanked 153 Times in 133 Posts
Default

Make sure that your router is forwarding port 8080 to the servers LAN IP.
Now when you are outside your lan, you should be able to access the server by your domain.tld:8080 and the ROUTERS WAN IP:8080

Please make sure that you change the admin password of ISPconfig when doing so!
__________________
Never execute code written on a Friday or a Monday.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd April 2009, 19:07
joemateer joemateer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok, I had already done as you have suggested with router and also DMZ setup my servers LAN IP address on the router configuration.

I can now login to my ISpconfig V3.0.1 on http://mylan:8080 but not http://server1.pcinclusive.co.uk:8080 (i replaced example1.com in the guide to reflect my registered domain) This might sound stupid, should I have done this?

My domain is registered to 1&1 and now points to my ISPs IP address, which is my servers 'outside' IP address.

I can login to ISPconfig using http://myISPsIPaddress:8080 but i dont get the ISPconfig interface when i try http://www.pcinclusive.co.uk:8080 it times out.

Ive change my server details in ISPConfig, from the original 192.168.1.100 etc to:

[server]
auto_network_configuration=
ip_address=90.240.213.70 (to reflect my ISPs IP address)
netmask=255.255.255.0
gateway=62.25.195.29 (ISPs gateway)
hostname=server1.pcinclusive.co.uk
nameservers=195.92.195.91,195.92.195.90 (my ISPs nameservers)

Cheers in advance for any help (i could have went on alittle longer there but il stop haha)

Joe.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd April 2009, 19:53
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,036
Thanks: 268
Thanked 153 Times in 133 Posts
Default

It must be your router, as I can access your ISPconfig3 admin page by using the IP and/or domain:8080

If you really need to access your ISPconfig3 adminpage by domain (within your LAN), than add the LAN IP and domain to the hosts file of the PC that you are using to access it.

For the server1.pcinclusive.co.uk problem you will need to create an A record in the DNS with server1 pointing to the server's IP
__________________
Never execute code written on a Friday or a Monday.

Last edited by edge; 3rd April 2009 at 19:57.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd April 2009, 21:29
joemateer joemateer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for the quick response!

just a quicky.. ive a dynamic IP address from my ISP, which im using for the server. Ive registered this with dynDNS.com. The site that i choose from them was www.pcinclusive.game-host.org

www.pcinclusive.game-host.org points to my server. Is this necessary or can I configure DNS in ISPConfig3 to do something similar with www.pcinclusive.co.uk?

(ps im still working on the last post haha just got abit confused!!)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 3rd April 2009, 21:44
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,036
Thanks: 268
Thanked 153 Times in 133 Posts
Default

If you have a dynamic IP, you will need to use a service like dynDNS.com.

Not sure how you have setup www.pcinclusive.co.uk, but if you are pointing the DNS to your dynamic IP, it will stop working as soon as you get a new IP!

ISPconfig's DNS will only work with static IP's.
__________________
Never execute code written on a Friday or a Monday.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd April 2009, 22:07
joemateer joemateer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Right ok.

So, in this case i would need to point my server at pcinclusive.game-host.org, because this is the domain that is being used by dynDNS.com to keep updating my dynamic IP address from my ISP.

Does this mean i would have to run the server setup again as described in "The perfect server guide for debian 5.0" but use the domain pcinclusive.game-host.org instead of server1.example.com? (i dont mind running the setup again)

I can just re-direct www.pcinclusive.co.uk from 1&1 to point to the domain pcinclusive.game-host.org, this should the pcinclusive.co.uk problem.

Or do I just change the server name in ISPConfig from server1.pcinclusive.co.uk to pcinclusive.game-host.org?

What do you think... if im going overboard just say? haha
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 4th April 2009, 13:06
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
 
Default

You could create a CNAME record for www.pcinclusive.co.uk that points to pcinclusive.game-host.org.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPconfig setup - DNS, router and general access problems ingvar Installation/Configuration 6 31st July 2010 13:13
ISPConfig kill apache and ports, not work ISPconfig JaBa Installation/Configuration 8 19th March 2009 17:51
ISPConfig 3.0.0.9 pgsql howto? v1s Installation/Configuration 1 15th March 2009 09:15
ISPConfig 2.3.1-dev released till General 0 8th May 2006 22:18
SP-Server Setup - Ubuntu 5.10 "Breezy Badger" - Page 6 (changes) LuisC-SM HOWTO-Related Questions 0 21st April 2006 15:16


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.