Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 28th March 2009, 18:51
MrM MrM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 58
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question client directory structure in ispconfig 3

Hi,

We are currently using ispconfig 2 for our production web server and are quite pleased with it, aside from some minor annoyances. One of these is the directory, user and db naming. Having many sites hosted on the server, it can get next to impossible to find the directory, database or user of a particular site, when they are named web1, web2, db1, db2, etc.

I have been testing ispconfig 3.0.0.9 a while now (from the downloadable debian vmware image), and must say I am very impressed with it. It seems that the naming issue has been somewhat addressed in ispconfig 3, too. The databases can now be named arbitrarily, with a prefix (I changed the prefix to [CLIENTNAME] and it seems to work). There is now also an option to define a custom directory structure in Server Config > Web. For lack of documentation though, I don't know how to set it to what I would like to achieve.

Here is what I would like to have:
- linux (shell) users equal to the domain name (i.e. 'domain.tld')
- linux (shell) groups equal to the client's ispconfig username
- the client directory structure equal to something like this: /var/clients/[username]/[website_domain]

Is this possible with ispconfig 3? If so, this would be a major incentive for us to upgrade to version 3, even though we would have to reinstall the OS from scratch.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 29th March 2009, 13:13
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,788
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,612 Times in 4,423 Posts
Default

This is not implemented in ISPConfig 3, but you may write new plugins for the ispconfig server part to implement this as ISPConfig 3 is very modular and you can replace all configuration paers with your custom plugins easily.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th March 2009, 17:19
MrM MrM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 58
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the answer, till. Is there any documentation for writing plugins?

How much path customization is possible without a plugin? Which variables can be used instead of [client_id] in the "Website path"?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th March 2009, 17:25
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,788
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,612 Times in 4,423 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrM View Post
Thanks for the answer, till. Is there any documentation for writing plugins?
None except of the posts in the developer forum. As a start you just copy a plugin and change it to suit your needs.

Quote:
How much path customization is possible without a plugin? Which variables can be used instead of [client_id] in the "Website path"?
All possible variables are alraedy used in the default path.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th March 2009, 17:37
MrM MrM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 58
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
None except of the posts in the developer forum. As a start you just copy a plugin and change it to suit your needs.
OK, I'll take a look at the developers' forum then. Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
All possible variables are alraedy used in the default path.
Would it be possible to make a feature request for more variables (e.g. all fields from the client and web_domain tables)? This should be extremely easy to implement, since variable replacing is already there.

One more note: I've tried changing the Documentroot, Linux User and Linux Group in Web Domain Options, but this feature doesn't seem to work. After I click save and edit it again, the values revert to default. Although the directories in /var/clients get created, the symlinks still point to the old location.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29th March 2009, 17:50
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,788
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,612 Times in 4,423 Posts
Default

Quote:
Would it be possible to make a feature request for more variables (e.g. all fields from the client and web_domain tables)? This should be extremely easy to implement, since variable replacing is already there.
Please post feature request here:

http://bugtracker.ispconfig.org

Quote:
One more note: I've tried changing the Documentroot, Linux User and Linux Group in Web Domain Options, but this feature doesn't seem to work. After I click save and edit it again, the values revert to default. Although the directories in /var/clients get created, the symlinks still point to the old location.
This works fine for me, but you will have to move all existing directories and to the new place too and change all symlinks to the new locations.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29th March 2009, 18:08
MrM MrM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 58
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for your quick replies, till!

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Please post feature request here:

http://bugtracker.ispconfig.org
Will do that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
This works fine for me, but you will have to move all existing directories and to the new place too and change all symlinks to the new locations.
When I change these settings, they do not change in the database (table web_domain), however new directories get created. It seems that the system-wide default path takes precedence. If I change that, all my sites' paths get updated as well.

Also, shouldn't symlinks be updated automatically?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29th March 2009, 18:14
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,788
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,612 Times in 4,423 Posts
Default

Quote:
When I change these settings, they do not change in the database (table web_domain), however new directories get created. It seems that the system-wide default path takes precedence. If I change that, all my sites' paths get updated as well.

Also, shouldn't symlinks be updated automatically?
Nno. it is not intended that the path is changed on a system were you created anything.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29th March 2009, 18:23
MrM MrM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 58
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Nno. it is not intended that the path is changed on a system were you created anything.
OK, I can understand that. The problem is, that when adding a new site, the site gets created when I click Options. At that stage, as you pointed out, it is already impossible to change the path, since the site already exists and the directories have already been created. This means that these settings can't be changed ever, if they cannot be changed while creating a new site. Am I missing something?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29th March 2009, 18:28
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,788
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,612 Times in 4,423 Posts
 
Default

There is no option to set the path by site in ispconfig 3. The setting fo the global path is in server settings.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Loads of mysql connections to dbispconfig StrikerNL General 2 5th March 2009 15:31
Install failure -- Apache 1.3 missing? Allen15 Installation/Configuration 11 24th February 2009 10:53
directories in /home/admispconfig/ispconfig renamed? Spudchat General 10 12th April 2007 20:37
[ISPconfig Install] Cannot allocate memory Cordoban Installation/Configuration 3 25th August 2006 14:20
Update to 2.2.0 question brianetilley Installation/Configuration 10 4th March 2006 18:02


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.