#1  
Old 26th February 2009, 14:57
Mentor Mentor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 41
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ispconfig 3: website pointing

Hi:

I have met a strange bug that I am trying to understand.

If I add one client and a site - DNS elsewhere - I point to a the client?/web?/web/index.html file and I can change it and do stuff with it.

When I add another client and website it points to the same index file and I don't seem able to change it.

DNS is managed on an independent box, and is pointing to the base IP of the server - the websites are all affiliated with the base IP of the server when they are created. The FTP side of things is fine - separate websites are in separate folders.

So question is: What's going on? If you can assist I would be grateful, thank you.


Regards,

Mentor.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 26th February 2009, 15:32
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,421
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,500 Times in 4,329 Posts
Default

The places of sites in filesystem have nothing to do with dns. You can not point something to a folder in a dns record, so I guess you mix there something up. DNS records point to an IP address. I'am pretty sure that the website setup is working properly as I tested it yesterday in RC2.

Quote:
When I add another client and website it points to the same index file and I don't seem able to change it.
I'am sure that it does not point to the same file. The file might look similar as every new site gets a default file but it is not the same.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th February 2009, 19:23
Mentor Mentor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 41
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
The places of sites in filesystem have nothing to do with dns. You can not point something to a folder in a dns record, so I guess you mix there something up. DNS records point to an IP address. I'am pretty sure that the website setup is working properly as I tested it yesterday in RC2.



I'am sure that it does not point to the same file. The file might look similar as every new site gets a default file but it is not the same.

Hi Till:

I made some changes to the index.html on the first site in the client?/we?/web folder deliberately to exclude the possibility that there was problem entering in there. Anyway, as I added a second site, I noticed that the file being displayed was the same - I will re-install ISPconfig because it is quick easy and simple at the this point - there is nothing on the server and see again.

Incidentally, to rule out any other possible bugs at a layer-1 level, I am using a Dell PE R200 with dual 160GB SATA drives configured for RAID 1, 2GB's RAM and quad-core XEON. I am running Fedora 9 fully updated. Let me know if you think that there may be any problems with this, thank you.


Kind regards,

Mentor
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th February 2009, 20:24
Mentor Mentor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 41
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi:

I have reinstalled ISPConfig 3 completely - ran uninstall -q uninstall.php and then reinstalled.

The result is the same as before - add one site and the system is happy - I modify the index.html file in the /var/clients/client?/web?/web folder as a check. Add second site and it reflects exactly the same file?

I am sure that this is not the way it is meant to be? Please could someone confirm, thank you.


Kind regards,

Mentor
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th February 2009, 20:34
Mentor Mentor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 41
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ispconfig 3: website pointing

Hi:

We picked up an error at the end of the installation after re-installation that we think is relevant to our issue. Please could you take a look and assist, thank you:

Warning: DocumentRoot [/var/www/domainname.tld/web] does not exist
httpd: apr_sockaddr_info_get() failed for hostname.com
httpd: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.0.1 for ServerName
[Thu Feb 26 21:08:27 2009] [warn] _default_ VirtualHost overlap on port 80, the first has precedence


I would be really grateful if you could help -


Kind regards,

Mentor
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th February 2009, 22:54
Mentor Mentor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 41
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi:

We have fixed this - it seems that there may be a bug. Please refer to the following thread in the Developer Forum:

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=31857

Thank you.


Regards,

Mentor :|

Last edited by Mentor; 26th February 2009 at 22:55. Reason: add smiley.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27th February 2009, 12:47
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,421
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,500 Times in 4,329 Posts
Default

I'am not able to conform this, works fine for me. Which linux distribution do you use.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 4th May 2009, 05:59
reason8 reason8 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 141
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mentor View Post
Hi:

We picked up an error at the end of the installation after re-installation that we think is relevant to our issue. Please could you take a look and assist, thank you:

Warning: DocumentRoot [/var/www/domainname.tld/web] does not exist
httpd: apr_sockaddr_info_get() failed for hostname.com
httpd: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.0.1 for ServerName
[Thu Feb 26 21:08:27 2009] [warn] _default_ VirtualHost overlap on port 80, the first has precedence


I would be really grateful if you could help -


Kind regards,

Mentor
This is the same error I am getting and the same problem I am having with multiple websites referencing to a previous website creation. The only difference is, I am not getting the error after install. I am getting the error after restarting apache2. I am running OpenSuSe 11.1 with ISPConfig 3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What happened to donate button on ISPCONFIG website sumwoman General 2 26th October 2007 16:45
PHP not working in ISPConfig website FadeOUT Installation/Configuration 37 11th September 2007 15:07
Confused about purpose of ISPConfig swpr General 3 8th July 2006 08:49
fastcgi and php with ispconfig tosser Tips/Tricks/Mods 3 25th June 2006 21:01
ISPConfig 2.3.1-dev released till General 0 8th May 2006 22:18


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.