Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 24th February 2009, 23:15
Stuggi Stuggi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Jakobstad, Finland
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISPConfig behind a Firewall?

I would like to run a ISPconfig server behind a firewall (Smoothwall), any special things I need to do to make this work or is port-forwarding gonna be enough? Any settings that need to be altered anywhere in the servers config or ISPConfig's settings? The server would be running on a stripped part of my network (DMZ) with a private IP number.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th February 2009, 23:24
BorderAmigos BorderAmigos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego & Tijuana
Posts: 302
Thanks: 26
Thanked 33 Times in 31 Posts
Send a message via MSN to BorderAmigos Send a message via Yahoo to BorderAmigos
Default

I run behind a hardware firewall in my router. Port Forwarding from the outside IP to the servers local IP is all that is needed in my case. Remember to forward the administration port as well (generally 81).
__________________
System6Hosting.com, ISPConfig 3, Debian.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th February 2009, 07:12
Stuggi Stuggi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Jakobstad, Finland
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

And the nameserver etc works just fine?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th February 2009, 11:10
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

All services will work as long as you forwarded the ports for this service from the router to the server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25th February 2009, 22:40
Stuggi Stuggi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Jakobstad, Finland
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Okay, nice, was a bit worried about the nameserver thing... Do I just point the nameserver setting for my domain to the router public ip and forward the port 58 (if I remember correctly this is the DNS port) to the server? And then ISPconfig can handle all the different subdomain records for my domain? Cool!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25th February 2009, 23:10
Leszek Leszek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Poland,Włocławek
Posts: 369
Thanks: 22
Thanked 42 Times in 35 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Leszek
 
Default

DNS runs on port 53 both TCP and UDP.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ispconfig behind firewall using NAT bigger_travis Installation/Configuration 3 5th November 2008 19:54
can not login to ispconfig from outsite firewall cruz General 8 13th November 2007 00:35
ISPConfig firewall problem closing Port 21 coen Installation/Configuration 8 4th September 2007 19:25
ISPConfig behind an OpenBSD binat firewall hitechwizard Installation/Configuration 4 23rd August 2007 03:20
ISPconfig behind a nat router and firewall laser General 10 14th February 2007 21:06


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.