Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 16th February 2009, 02:32
leitner leitner is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 13
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default RAID:After Kernel Update, grub menu.lst doesn't add new kernel to both HDDs

After successfully getting RAID 1 to be bootable on my Fedora 10 setup, I ran the update and one of the things updated was my kernel. It appears that the new kernel was added to the grub/menu.lst for the first HDD, but not for the second. Does this new kernel have to be added to the second HDD manually? Or was my bootable RAID not as successful as I hoped?

Here's my new menu.lst:

# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE: You have a /boot partition. This means that
# all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
# root (hd0,0)
# kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/sda3
# initrd /initrd-version.img
#boot=/dev/sda
default=0
timeout=10
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
title Fedora (2.6.27.12-170.2.5.fc10.x86_64)
root (hd1,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.27.12-170.2.5.fc10.x86_64 ro root=/dev/md2 rhgb quiet
initrd /initrd-2.6.27.12-170.2.5.fc10.x86_64.img
title Fedora (2.6.27.5-117.fc10.x86_64)
root (hd1,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.27.5-117.fc10.x86_64 ro root=/dev/md2 rhgb quiet
initrd /initrd-2.6.27.5-117.fc10.x86_64.img
title Fedora (2.6.27.5-117.fc10.x86_64)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.27.5-117.fc10.x86_64 ro root=/dev/md2 rhgb quiet
initrd /initrd-2.6.27.5-117.fc10.x86_64.img


It appears that the first stanza following "hiddenmenu" was added after the kernel update.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 16th February 2009, 18:17
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,723 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

Add this stanza after the first kernel:
Code:
title Fedora (2.6.27.12-170.2.5.fc10.x86_64)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.27.12-170.2.5.fc10.x86_64 ro root=/dev/md2 rhgb quiet
initrd /initrd-2.6.27.12-170.2.5.fc10.x86_64.img
Then run the Grub setup again.

If cat /proc/mdstat doesn't show any problems, then your RAID's working fine.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
leitner (16th February 2009)
  #3  
Old 16th February 2009, 19:21
leitner leitner is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 13
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks again Falko ... this does actually make sense to me.

But a question still remains: Must I do this each time I have a kernel update? Such updates are fairly frequent for Fedora (and, I suppose. other distros too, since they share the same kernel). I must assume the answer is yes, though it would be nice to somehow automate this. But I'm looking for some reassurance ...

Also, if the new kernel works fine, I don't see any need to keep any more than one previous version of the kernel in the grub menu.lst, correct?

By the way, "cat /proc/mdstat" shows exactly as in your HowTo, which is exactly what I expected.

Rich

Last edited by leitner; 16th February 2009 at 19:54.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th February 2009, 15:44
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,723 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leitner View Post
But a question still remains: Must I do this each time I have a kernel update?
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by leitner View Post
Also, if the new kernel works fine, I don't see any need to keep any more than one previous version of the kernel in the grub menu.lst, correct?
Yes. But you can keep the old kernels as a fallback.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th February 2009, 18:12
leitner leitner is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 13
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Great, that's what I'll do. I usually kept the previous kernel around until I was satisfied that everything worked as expected under the new kernel, and that seems like a good strategy to keep here.

I think I will "test" the RAID setup today by removing one of the disks and rebooting ... I've been reluctant to do this yet, but it really should be done.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ispconfig IE7 Xen aurelius Installation/Configuration 8 19th October 2008 10:46
Google Apps dayjahone General 19 29th March 2008 17:25
High Availability Samba cluster - DRBD + Heartbeat djalex Server Operation 58 25th May 2007 19:38
WG311v2 almost working with Edgy (w/o ndiswrapper) need help with the rest caudata Server Operation 11 13th November 2006 20:02
KErnel not showing all my memory Jorem Kernel Questions 8 13th April 2006 12:59


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.