Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14th February 2009, 22:53
planks planks is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ipsconfig 3 * subdomain

I don't know how to add the * subdomain . If i try in Sites > Subdomain > Add new subdomain > Domain = * it apears an error :
"Error:
Domain name invalid."

So how to add the * subdomain in ispconfig 3 ???
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th February 2009, 16:19
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,340
Thanks: 810
Thanked 5,171 Times in 4,054 Posts
Default

You can select * as auto subdomain in the website settings.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th February 2009, 13:34
planks planks is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I found it . thx
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th February 2009, 16:10
mnott mnott is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile Prevent automated update / reset of /etc/apache2/sites-enabled/*.vhost

Hi all,

I need to do my own modifications to the .vhosts files. How can I prevent ispconfig from overwriting these every now and then? (Or whoever does it; I'm running the ISPConfig3 vmware appliance).

Tnx,

M
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th February 2009, 13:45
grungy grungy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 149
Thanks: 12
Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mnott View Post
Hi all,

I need to do my own modifications to the .vhosts files. How can I prevent ispconfig from overwriting these every now and then? (Or whoever does it; I'm running the ISPConfig3 vmware appliance).

Tnx,

M
Right now you can't. I guess developers don't find that important
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th February 2009, 13:51
mnott mnott is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Yes, we can :-)

Well, obviously we can. Using "vi" or other tools. I just want to avoid having ISPConfig /overwrite/ my changes.

M
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th February 2009, 13:54
grungy grungy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 149
Thanks: 12
Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
Default

My post was about users not being able to prevent custom changes being overwritten.....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17th February 2009, 13:56
mnott mnott is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Well, then we can't :-(

Yet I've fiddled around a bit and still did not find the place that is actually responsible for overwriting the files. The ISPConfig guys could at least explain their appliance so that we can stop this.

M
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17th February 2009, 14:15
grungy grungy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 149
Thanks: 12
Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Have a look at bugtracker:

http://bugtracker.ispconfig.org/inde...rch_name=&type[0]=&sev[0]=&pri[0]=&due[0]=&reported[0]=&cat[0]=&status[0]=&percent[0]=&opened=&dev=&closed=&duedatefrom=&duedateto=&cha ngedfrom=&changedto=&openedfrom=&openedto=&closedf rom=&closedto=

http://bugtracker.ispconfig.org/inde...rch_name=&type[0]=&sev[0]=&pri[0]=&due[0]=&reported[0]=&cat[0]=&status[0]=&percent[0]=&opened=&dev=&closed=&duedatefrom=&duedateto=&cha ngedfrom=&changedto=&openedfrom=&openedto=&closedf rom=&closedto=


Vote, comment, this is needed!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17th February 2009, 14:32
mnott mnott is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default Done.

Also, have a look at

http://www.mnsoft.org/547.0.html?&cH...fabc&tx_ttnews[backPid]=544&tx_ttnews[tt_news]=24

I've implemented a way that allows you to have mail domain aliases w/o having to manage accounts multiple times.

Other than that, ISPConfig could allow for filtering emails better - we can only filter to/from, but not cc. At the end of the day, we end up with custom mail filters (which is not so bad, at least these are not overwritten)

M
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I create a subdomain? torqhost Installation/Configuration 8 23rd February 2008 00:32
Subdomain redirect to script as argument cooljai Server Operation 0 12th June 2007 16:41
PHP not processing on subdomain hybridstorm General 1 20th July 2006 13:29
Using a subdomain as mail server roberto8080 Installation/Configuration 7 21st June 2006 01:50
Subdomain with Webspace nsm Installation/Configuration 1 13th June 2006 10:39


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.