Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 28th February 2006, 06:56
Joffar Joffar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISPConfig security

Since I am brand new to the Linux world and ISPConfig I have a few questions...
How is the ISPCOnfig security against malicious intruders right out of the box? recommandations
Should I add rules in the IPtables as well as the ISPConfig built in firewall? If so, any recommandations?
how does the ISPConfig built in firewall stack up against other firewalls out there?
Is there a log from the firewall that I can look at to see what is going on?

Any thoughts on adding Awstats as a ISPConfig monitoring tool?



Thank you for all help!

Last edited by Joffar; 28th February 2006 at 07:05.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 28th February 2006, 09:16
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,446
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,218 Times in 4,090 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joffar
How is the ISPCOnfig security against malicious intruders right out of the box? recommandations
This depends on how secure your Server is configured. Do you use SuExec? Do you have PHP Safemode enabled for all sites. Does your SSHD is protected agains dictionary attacks? There are many more things that you can do to secure your server, but they are not specific to ISPConfig.

Quote:
Should I add rules in the IPtables as well as the ISPConfig built in firewall? If so, any recommandations?
ISPConfig uses the bastille firewall. Bastille is a script to configure IPTables or IPChains.

Quote:
how does the ISPConfig built in firewall stack up against other firewalls out there?
Bastille is an IPTables / IPChains firewall. If you dont like it you can use any other firewall with ISPConfig.

Quote:
Is there a log from the firewall that I can look at to see what is going on?
You can activate loggin in the bastille configuration under /etc/Bastille. Dont forget to change the configuration tenplate in /root/ispconfig/isp/conf/ too, if you want to add changes permanently.

Quote:
Any thoughts on adding Awstats as a ISPConfig monitoring tool?
If someone builds an awstats extension, we will add it to ISPConfig.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th February 2006, 09:39
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joffar
Any thoughts on adding Awstats as a ISPConfig monitoring tool?
AWstats is very complicated to set up - I once did it for one web site, and it's not a matter of minutes.
Because it is that complex, we haven't integrated it into ISPConfig yet. But if someone comes up with a module for AWStats, we'd be happy to integrate it.
For now, you can set up AWStats manually for each web site that needs it.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th February 2006, 12:11
Joffar Joffar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you.
As I said, I am new at this, I activated the module when I installed ISPconfig, but I guss im not using it yet... obviously since this is the second time Im hearing of it... guess I have to read up a little more..
Reason I asked about Awstats is I had it when I had the server on a windows machine.... and yes I guess it does require some more work to install...

Is there something I have to to to get the webalizer to work, it seems like it is not recording any hits or visits on my web site?

By the way this is a great forum, you guys are responding very quickly and to everyone also.

Great Job!

Thank you.
Ivar

Last edited by Joffar; 28th February 2006 at 12:21.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th February 2006, 18:54
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joffar
Is there something I have to to to get the webalizer to work, it seems like it is not recording any hits or visits on my web site?
If you've set up the web site right now, you must wait some hours because Webalizer runs at 4:00 AM.
If you don't have statistics afterwards, have a look at this thread: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=562
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st March 2006, 22:00
Joffar Joffar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I checked this morning but I must be overlooking something... I finally got the stats folder at weblevel, but it appears that the folder is empty. I ran the grep -i .... but did not see any error in the cron job. Do I have to create/copy the webalizer page manually? Where is it supposed to be anyway?

Is it because I called my server the same as the site name??

Server blumonkey.org, site http://blumonkey.org If so what is the easiest way to change this?

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1st March 2006, 22:05
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,446
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,218 Times in 4,090 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joffar
I checked this morning but I must be overlooking something... I finally got the stats folder at weblevel, but it appears that the folder is empty. I ran the grep -i .... but did not see any error in the cron job. Do I have to create/copy the webalizer page manually? Where is it supposed to be anyway?
The stats where generated in the "stats" folder of the website.

Are you sure that webalizer is installed on your server?
Does the web.log file in the log folder of the website contains log lines from yesterday?

Quote:
Is it because I called my server the same as the site name??

Server blumonkey.org, site http://blumonkey.org If so what is the easiest way to change this?
No, this should not affect the webalizer stats. The only known complications are in the postfix setup.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 1st March 2006, 22:51
Joffar Joffar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hmmm I followed the perfect setup deal for ISPConfig for Ubuntu, If it wasnt listed there then no... I havent installed webalizer..

What kind of complications in the postfix? What do I have to do to change the webserver name?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2nd March 2006, 08:16
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,446
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,218 Times in 4,090 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joffar
Hmmm I followed the perfect setup deal for ISPConfig for Ubuntu, If it wasnt listed there then no... I havent installed webalizer..
It is listed at the bottom of this page

http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_setup_ubuntu_5.10_p5

Quote:
What kind of complications in the postfix? What do I have to do to change the webserver name?
Yes, better change your server name to something like : server1.yourdomain.com". Make sure that server1.yourdomain.com exists in DNS and points to your server.

Otherwise you might get the problem that when you create an catchall email account in your domain you get the emails from all other domains on your server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2nd March 2006, 09:58
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joffar
Hmmm I followed the perfect setup deal for ISPConfig for Ubuntu, If it wasnt listed there then no... I havent installed webalizer..
Please post the output of
Code:
which webalizer
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig Roadmap till General 34 12th March 2009 11:19
cannot access ispconfig site Nu2Linux Installation/Configuration 13 3rd January 2009 15:29
Users and websites aren't created Glorfindel Installation/Configuration 9 23rd February 2006 04:20
42goISP vs. ISPConfig nveid General 1 16th January 2006 09:07
Mirroring ISPConfig with DRBD rodriglm General 5 2nd January 2006 12:48


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.