Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > MyDNSConfig > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 7th February 2009, 14:41
Danger Danger is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default MyDNSConfig library

ok, i am using version MyDNS 1.1.0, i think i will stick to it rather then move on the MyDNS-ng, i will update it later, but now i need some things done in a few days, so i need to get some things done.
firstly: i have the domain name www.some-domain.com registered with register.com and i want to give them my 2 nameserver "links", which are to IP's, IP A and IP B, so now i input the two IP's at register.com,
so how do i exactly configure it at MyDNS? i know its something to do with the SOA table, but what exactly do i do? (say my website server's IP address is C)

also after this i want my clients (i don't want to bother to explain why) to be able to point subdomains to different nameservers, so say client A wants to point his subdomain to ns1.nameserverhost.com and ns2.nameserverhost.com, i know that i have to create a CNAME for this but what should i put in the 'rr' table for creating the CNAME record? I looked in the table structure of the rr table, but i don't see anywhere where i can put in the details of the primary nameserver and the secondary nameserver.

is there any library in MyDNSConfig that can be used to do all this?

PS: some of my jargons are kind of wrong, since i am new to this DNS things but i really need this done, yes i know the consequences of messing around with DNS
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th February 2009, 19:35
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,721 Times in 2,562 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danger View Post
so how do i exactly configure it at MyDNS? i know its something to do with the SOA table, but what exactly do i do? (say my website server's IP address is C)
For each zone that you create, you must also create NS records (for the nameservers). If you have two authoritative nameservers, then you create two NS records in that zone.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danger View Post
also after this i want my clients (i don't want to bother to explain why) to be able to point subdomains to different nameservers, so say client A wants to point his subdomain to ns1.nameserverhost.com and ns2.nameserverhost.com, i know that i have to create a CNAME for this but what should i put in the 'rr' table for creating the CNAME record? I looked in the table structure of the rr table, but i don't see anywhere where i can put in the details of the primary nameserver and the secondary nameserver.
Subdomains cannot be hosted on different nameservers.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ffmpeg Video support for ubuntu 7.10 [suphp-ispconfig] amaurib Installation/Configuration 13 16th February 2010 17:26
perfect install but no ISPconfig provell Installation/Configuration 52 29th June 2009 22:33
SSL of Thawte will be safed as a own certificate AndréS Installation/Configuration 11 17th September 2007 09:56
2.4.17 system needed modul8r Installation/Configuration 16 31st May 2007 14:15
Unbearably slow access speeds CombatGod Installation/Configuration 5 30th May 2006 16:31


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.