Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 4th February 2009, 17:26
jonwatson jonwatson is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 176
Thanks: 15
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Two FTP Issues: Change Port and Alerts

Hi All,

As the subject says, I am having two FTP issues.

I have a server using ProFTPD. I can FTP into it, but ISPConfig's monitoring always reports it as not running. ISPConfig also sends out alerts about it not running every 15 mins or so even though there is no monitoring entry for it in the GUI.

So, question #1 is: how do I get ISPConfig to see the server is running or at least how do I get it to stop sending alerts that it is not running?

I am also attempting to change the default port from 21 to something else. The only entry I can see for this is in /etc/proftpd.conf. Changing the port entry in that file to something else does indeed stop proftpd from picking up on port 21, but it does not make it pick up on the other port.( I have made the requisite firewall changes as well).

So, question #2: how do I change the port proftpd listens on?

Thanks!

Jon
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 5th February 2009, 21:37
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonwatson View Post
Hi All,

As the subject says, I am having two FTP issues.

I have a server using ProFTPD. I can FTP into it, but ISPConfig's monitoring always reports it as not running. ISPConfig also sends out alerts about it not running every 15 mins or so even though there is no monitoring entry for it in the GUI.

So, question #1 is: how do I get ISPConfig to see the server is running or at least how do I get it to stop sending alerts that it is not running?
What's the output of
Code:
netstat -tap
?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonwatson View Post
I am also attempting to change the default port from 21 to something else. The only entry I can see for this is in /etc/proftpd.conf. Changing the port entry in that file to something else does indeed stop proftpd from picking up on port 21, but it does not make it pick up on the other port.( I have made the requisite firewall changes as well).

So, question #2: how do I change the port proftpd listens on?

Thanks!

Jon
What's the output of
Code:
netstat -tap
after you've changed the port? What port number are you trying?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th February 2009, 15:52
jonwatson jonwatson is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 176
Thanks: 15
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Hi,

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
What's the output of
Code:
netstat -tap
?

-tap doesn't appear to give me ports, just pids. I added --numeric-ports to the command and go this:
Code:
[root@munge ~]# netstat -tap --numeric-ports
Active Internet connections (servers and established)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address               Foreign Address             State       PID/Program name   
tcp        0      0 *:993                       *:*                         LISTEN      1287/dovecot        
tcp        0      0 *:995                       *:*                         LISTEN      1287/dovecot        
tcp        0      0 *:3306                      *:*                         LISTEN      1252/mysqld         
tcp        0      0 *:110                       *:*                         LISTEN      1287/dovecot        
tcp        0      0 localhost.localdomain:3310  *:*                         LISTEN      1165/clamd          
tcp        0      0 *:2222                      *:*                         LISTEN      1132/sshd           
tcp        0      0 localhost.localdomain:783   *:*                         LISTEN      1309/spamd.pid      
tcp        0      0 *:143                       *:*                         LISTEN      1287/dovecot        
tcp        0      0 *:80                        *:*                         LISTEN      1901/httpd          
tcp        0      0 *:465                       *:*                         LISTEN      5990/master         
tcp        0      0 *:81                        *:*                         LISTEN      1665/ispconfig_http 
tcp        0      0 munge.server.net:53      *:*                         LISTEN      2070/named          
tcp        0      0 localhost.localdomain:53    *:*                         LISTEN      2070/named          
tcp        0      0 *:21                        *:*                         LISTEN      1383/proftpd: (acce 
tcp        0      0 *:25                        *:*                         LISTEN      5990/master         
tcp        0      0 munge.server.net:25      138.subnet125-164-201:50256 SYN_RECV    -                   
tcp        0      0 munge.server.net:25      220.224.23.89:2245          SYN_RECV    -                   
tcp        0      0 localhost.localdomain:953   *:*                         LISTEN      2070/named          
tcp        0      0 *:443                       *:*                         LISTEN      1901/httpd          
tcp        0      0 *:990                       *:*                         LISTEN      1383/proftpd: (acce
So, I can see that proftpd is running on port 21, yet the alerts keep getting sent.

I also see an instance on port 990 but I don't know why and it doesn't pick up anyhow.

What's the output of
Code:
netstat -tap
after you've changed the port? What port
number are you trying?
After changing the port to 446, netstat reports two instances of proftpd listening on ports 21 and 446. However, the one on port 446 does not pick up (it just times out) and the one on 21 terminates immediately upon connection with a "500 Sorry, no server available to handle request on server"

Thanks,

Jon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th February 2009, 14:49
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
 
Default

Do you see any ProFTPd related errors in your logs?
Is this a physical server or a virtual machine?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.