Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th July 2007, 00:54
xtype2 xtype2 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISPConfig + load balancer

Hi

I know ISPconfig is mainly limited by the server hardware but my aim is to create a server cluster using a load balancer.

Im looking at using a commercial load balancer/traffic manger (possibly ZEUS ZXTM) to manage the traffic and the servers which will have ISPConfig installed.

The load balancer will sit in front of the servers, and theoretically manage the traffic going to multiple servers each with ISPConfig installed, all of which are acting as one and sharing information.

Id like to know if anyone has any experience with this type of setup, and what people see as potential problems.

This type of setup should allow us to add new servers when required enabling us to handle an unlimited number of client accounts... does any one have any advice or comments on this.

thanks


Dan
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th July 2007, 16:30
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Instead of spending lots of money for a load-balancer, you might want to have a look at these tutorials:
http://www.howtoforge.com/load_balan...proxy_balancer
http://www.howtoforge.com/high_avail...apache_cluster
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
xtype2 (8th July 2007)
  #3  
Old 8th July 2007, 19:05
xtype2 xtype2 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for the links, definitely worth looking at.

Does anyone see any reasons why ISPConfig could not work with this type of load balanced / server cluster setup.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th July 2007, 08:31
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,751
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,329 Times in 4,181 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xtype2
Does anyone see any reasons why ISPConfig could not work with this type of load balanced / server cluster setup.
As long as you take care that the configuration on all servers is identical, e.g. that you create every website and user identically on all servers or that you synchronize the config files, users and data with e.g. rsync, it should work. At least for the webserver part. But you must be aware that e.g. the statistics will not show the correct results anymore.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd December 2008, 18:08
Drkoop81 Drkoop81 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Smile yess

This is a very similar thing that I want to accomplish. I really want to combine the high availablity how to on a server running like the perfect server with isp config, mail, dns, and all the goodies.

I want to put two servers together with raid 5 on each and make them both exactly the same. One server goes out the other takes over. One drive fails put another one in. All the while running isp config and many hosted clients.

Who has my back on this!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig 2.3.2-dev released till General 9 4th June 2007 10:46
ISPConfig takes forever to load b00gz Installation/Configuration 5 12th April 2007 22:00
Howto suggestion suse PhP ver 4 + Ver 5 wwparrish Suggest HOWTO 11 7th August 2006 13:29
Can you load balance all ISPConfig Services, including Apache? Jcorrea920 General 6 9th June 2006 23:07
SP-Server Setup - Ubuntu 5.10 "Breezy Badger" - Page 6 (changes) LuisC-SM HOWTO-Related Questions 0 21st April 2006 15:16


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.