Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14th November 2008, 23:02
meomike2000 meomike2000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 39
Thanks: 14
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question ispconfig/dns question

Say I have 2 servers with ispconfig installed on them called s1 and s2 and my domain is called domain.net. I have one static ip address from my isp. that points to a server called dns.domain.net. Request come in like this: first to dns.domain.net then to s1.domain.net, and s2.domain.net. is there a way to get ispconfig to input the info in the named.conf and zone files on dns.domain.net or will i have to always modify the named.conf file and the zone files on dns.domain.net myself to add new sites and zones. Also I used bind9 on the server dns. Also all systems are running ubuntu server edition 8.04.1. and the 2 ispconf servers s1 and s2 were setup via the perfect server setup from howtoforge.
As I am still new to dns and ispconf, it helps to see examples with the explanation.

tia..... mike
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th November 2008, 00:33
meomike2000 meomike2000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 39
Thanks: 14
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lightbulb An Idea that I have.......

I have thought that maybe I could make my dns master (dns.domain.net) the slave for s1 and s2, and that would give the updates to zone files as changed, but I would still have to set up the original zones and zone files on dns.domain.net first right. Could still use a little help trying to figure this out.

tia..... mike
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th November 2008, 13:46
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by meomike2000 View Post
I have thought that maybe I could make my dns master (dns.domain.net) the slave for s1 and s2, and that would give the updates to zone files as changed
That's right.

Quote:
Originally Posted by meomike2000 View Post
but I would still have to set up the original zones and zone files on dns.domain.net first right. Could still use a little help trying to figure this out.
http://www.howtoforge.com/traditional_dns_howto_p8
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th November 2008, 16:24
meomike2000 meomike2000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 39
Thanks: 14
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default one more question

That is what I had thought, but what would have to happen if I were to add a new domain like testdomain.net. would that get updated as well with this setup or would I have to add the slave zone entry on the slave server? How would that work?

tia...... Mike

is there a good dns management software similar to what is inside ispconf that i can install on my dns server.

Also my setups with ispconfig always erase my reverse zones, where the PTR records are.

Last edited by meomike2000; 15th November 2008 at 20:07. Reason: another question
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16th November 2008, 13:18
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
 
Default

You'd have to create the slave zone in named.conf manually (like in the link I posted).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
dns, dns records, ispconf

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HowToForge Question amras86 Technical 1 30th May 2008 14:14
Hard drive partitions question bil992 Installation/Configuration 2 11th October 2007 15:34
emails domains and co-domains question bug or a feature omadon Installation/Configuration 3 27th November 2006 10:17
Odd question for Falko Randy Installation/Configuration 1 16th October 2006 14:58
sendmail config question westb Server Operation 1 1st September 2006 17:00


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.