#1  
Old 7th November 2008, 01:24
mbascombe mbascombe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY 11226
Posts: 44
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mbascombe Send a message via Yahoo to mbascombe
Default Creating Partitions and Raid1

I'm in the process of backing up my websites and data and will be starting the server set up from scratch and will like to know how do I go about setting my hard drive in partitions. i got two identical hard drive and will like to one partition for the OS another for the web site data and another for my FTP data and then raid it to the 2nd drive. I intend to follow the prefect setup for Ubuntu 8.10
__________________
Dell Poweredge SC440
Ubuntu 8.10
ISPConfig 2.2.27
Joomla! 1.5
Drupal
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 7th November 2008, 09:14
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,029
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
 
Default

what do you mean by "raid it to the second drive"?
Softwareraid (md), Fakeraid (like most all onboard SATA Raidcontrollers, that are no "real" raidcontrollers) in combination with softwareraid, or real hardwareraid?

in the last case it is quite easy as you just tell your raidcontroller what to do, that's it. In case of md you just create raid partitions, combine them to a raid and "inside" you create your whatever filesystem. That also means you can deside what you want to "raid". So you could say you will hava a parition "storage" where you do store everything important, except OS stuff (as far as possible) and only this partition shall be raided, the other OS and SWAP partition, e.g. not.
I did it more easy to just create two raid 1 partitons with md, one for the whole OS and one for SWAP, as my personal experience showed that there is no real need (for my usecases) to have the stuff splitted in x partitions.

With the real hardware raid you may think about paritioning more freely, as the raidcontroller links all the selected disks no matter on the content. But be aware, that breaking the raid controller, you won't really be able to recover you data, except using the same raid controller. That's another positive thing about the software raid, just boot it up on another hw and that's it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Software RAID1 on a Running Debian System amras86 HOWTO-Related Questions 13 31st August 2009 16:26
How To Set Up Software RAID1 On A Running System Debian Etch - Problem jzupancic HOWTO-Related Questions 4 22nd August 2008 13:13
How to Install Ubuntu 8.04 w/Software Raid1 Gren_hedp HOWTO-Related Questions 0 21st August 2008 16:36
Grub and Software RAID1 WaveQam Installation/Configuration 1 6th December 2007 15:40
On: Recover Data From RAID1 LVM Partitions With Knoppix Linux LiveCD saracen HOWTO-Related Questions 1 11th May 2007 09:57


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.