#1  
Old 27th August 2008, 03:47
bswinnerton bswinnerton is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 502
Thanks: 51
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
Default Roundcube display name & email

Hey guys,

Just wondering if there is a way in roundcube to have it pull the "Real name" from ISPConfig and the email address from ISPConfig, so that when I set up a new email user it doesn't say domain.com_user for Display Name and user@www.domain.com for the email address.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th August 2008, 09:07
topdog topdog is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South Africa
Posts: 1,352
Thanks: 0
Thanked 153 Times in 150 Posts
Default

Can you not do that in the mail identities ?
__________________
----
http://www.topdog.za.net - Got Linux problems ? - I can help.
http://www.baruwa.org - Try it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th August 2008, 16:46
bswinnerton bswinnerton is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 502
Thanks: 51
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
Default

In roundcube? Yes, you can but i would like it to do it by default because not all of my users are all that tech savvy and wouldnt know to go to identities =)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th August 2008, 15:56
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

I don't know where RoundCube pulls its details from, but you can fetch the email address and name from the ISPConfig database. This means you'd have to modify the RoundCube sources (I've never used RoundCube, so I can't say more about this).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th August 2008, 16:01
topdog topdog is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South Africa
Posts: 1,352
Thanks: 0
Thanked 153 Times in 150 Posts
Default

Roundcube stores its details in a DB (mysql/pgsql/sqlite) may be you could have a hook in ISPconfig to populate that field in the roundcube db.

Oh the user can write a script to pull info from one db and populate the other in cron for example.
__________________
----
http://www.topdog.za.net - Got Linux problems ? - I can help.
http://www.baruwa.org - Try it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16th October 2008, 07:22
pattyjay pattyjay is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 25
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i am having the exact same problem.. i dont understand where it is getting the values from, why cannot it get it from isp config... it is a pain as a reseller i now have to go through and manually change every user, surely there has to be a better way
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th October 2008, 11:38
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Hans
Default

With RoundCube 0.2 Beta only this works:

1) Create a user for the website in ISPConfig
2) Login into RoundCube with the Login name and password as defined in ISPConfig for the mailuser.
3) Go to the identities tab within RoundCube, there you see:

Loginname: as defined in ISPConfig
E-mail address: username@yourdomain.tld

Displaying the realname is not possible indeed.
Personally, i think it is not a real problem, because everything works.
If the user doesn't like the the name which is displayed, it can be modified easily.
__________________
Hans

BB-Hosting | Quality Web Hosting since 2005

Last edited by Hans; 16th October 2008 at 12:00.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16th October 2008, 12:04
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,033
Thanks: 261
Thanked 150 Times in 130 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bswinnerton View Post
Hey guys,

Just wondering if there is a way in roundcube to have it pull the "Real name" from ISPConfig and the email address from ISPConfig, so that when I set up a new email user it doesn't say domain.com_user for Display Name and user@www.domain.com for the email address.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks!
I did a small code hack for this some time ago.
Not sure if it will still work.
Have a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...2&postcount=29
and here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...4&postcount=51

Again. I'm not sure if this will still work. I'm not using Roundcube anymore!
__________________
Never execute code written on a Friday or a Monday.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16th October 2008, 12:19
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Hans
 
Default

@Edge,
Thanks for the tip. It is worth a try for those who are interested
By the way is there any reason that you don't use RC anymore?
__________________
Hans

BB-Hosting | Quality Web Hosting since 2005
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hotmail rejects outgoing email nzimas Server Operation 3 1st May 2009 03:39
Uebimiau And Roundcube Email: User Prefix problem Jaac General 4 11th April 2008 22:47
roundcube mail and pop3 display name prob. - bw and web space probs. didan Installation/Configuration 2 24th May 2006 07:39
email forwarding locally consumes all resources rdells General 20 1st May 2006 19:43
Display of email addresses todvard Installation/Configuration 5 8th March 2006 14:02


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.