Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Developers' Forum

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd August 2008, 19:39
cbfeagle cbfeagle is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Unable to change Domain Name under Management ->> Setting

Hello

This is my first post so please bear with me.
I am trying to change the domain name of my ISPConfig server from cbfeagle.homeip.net (dyndns.com name) to cbfeagle.info (godaddy registered name so that I can be able to get to my ISPConfig server1 which is behind a Linksys Router.

I tried to follow the HOWTO relating to ISPConfig and Godaddy but it would not work for me.

I have everything changed in the system and it shows up as cbfeagle.info but when I try to change it in ISPConfig --> Management ->> Server ->> Settings, it appears to take the change but nothing actually gets changed.

I thought I could delete it and start over but I get an error message (in German with an English Interface) that says:
Fehler beim Löschen des Dokumentes, tree_id konnte nicht ermittelt werden

First of all I don't know what it is telling me so I don't know what to do to fix it.

Can anyone help me determine why I cannot change the Domain Name?

I would prefer not to reinstall but....
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th August 2008, 16:27
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

The server name in the ISPConfig settings does not have any direct influence on any configuration files. Where exactly (in which files) does the old hostname appear?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th August 2008, 17:13
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,457
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,224 Times in 4,094 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
I have everything changed in the system and it shows up as cbfeagle.info but when I try to change it in ISPConfig --> Management ->> Server ->> Settings, it appears to take the change but nothing actually gets changed.
If the old hostname appears again in the settings panel after you cliecked on save, the ISPConfig is not properly installed on your server. You most likely installed the sql dump manually and this caused the setup script to fail.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Change of URL in Webmail in second domain jofranco General 1 8th May 2006 00:37
unable to change index.html mwebb Installation/Configuration 7 12th January 2006 16:16
Setting on domain DNS dstme General 3 15th November 2005 19:02
postfix config jmroth Installation/Configuration 6 18th September 2005 15:58
domain name change thedude General 2 15th August 2005 21:44


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.