Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11th August 2008, 15:04
mpolito1969 mpolito1969 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Vodafone Mobile Connect software

Dear all,

I've just bought an ASUS F3Sr notebook, everything works well under Vista but I'd like to move to Linux.

I'm using the Ubuntu (8.04.1) live CD to test for compatibility, At present I can't connect to the internet through the internal UMTS modem.

I ran the Vodafone Mobile Connect software and almost everything was OK: it got automatically configured with my operators data (i.e. the APN), it asked me for a PIN, I gave it, it started and I saw in the bottom of the window appearing the string "Vodafone IT", which means (I guess) it found my operator's network.

I pressed on the "connect" button but nothing happened. No errors shown and no connection established (I could not browse the web with Firefox). The button label didn't change to "disconnect".

I pressed several times the "connect" button but it just didn't do anything.

I ran it again from the command line in the hope I could see some error messages on the console but I couldn'd see anything.

Have you already seen this behaviour? Do you know if there is something like a log file where I can search for error messages?

Unfortunately, I'm using an Ubuntu live CD, which means I'm continously switching between Vista (to connect to the internet) and Linux (to make tests) so troubleshooting the problem is more complicated.

Any help will be appreciated.

Bye,
Max
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12th August 2008, 19:10
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,716 Times in 2,558 Posts
Default

Do you see any errors in the logs (in the /var/log/ directory)?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th August 2008, 22:07
mpolito1969 mpolito1969 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Unfortunately there is nothing in /var/log, no file has been updated during my attempts.

If I run 'sudo vodafone-...' and I press on the "connect" button I see a notification windows saying it attempted three times a connection but it couldn't. It suggest there are mistakes in the configuration (but doesn't say anything about where are the configuration files or what options are incorrect) or there is no carrier (I know there is a carrier as I can connect from Vista).

I tried to send an SMS and it worked, I received it on my phone.

I also tried with wvdialconf.

I ran wvdialconf to update the /etc/wvdial.conf file and it made everything without complaining but when I run wvdial it complains the configuration doesn't specify any valid phone number, login name and password. Of course... I don't have any of them.

I don't know what else I could try...

Bye,
Max
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th August 2008, 23:22
ralic ralic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpolito1969 View Post
I also tried with wvdialconf.

I ran wvdialconf to update the /etc/wvdial.conf file and it made everything without complaining but when I run wvdial it complains the configuration doesn't specify any valid phone number, login name and password. Of course... I don't have any of them.
You may need to tell wvdial which configuration to use, otherwise it uses the default one.

I use my Sony Ericsson phone connected to my laptop via USB and connect via GPRS. Here's my wvdial configuration entry. If you try and use it, you will have to replace the bold parts with those unique to your setup.
Code:
[Dialer Sony]
Init1 = ATZ
Init2 = ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
Init3 = AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","YOUR APN"
Modem Type = USB Modem
Baud = 460800
New PPPD = yes
Modem = /dev/ttyACM0
ISDN = 0
Phone = *99***1#
Password = none
Username = none
Stupid Mode = on
If you don't know your APN, try find it on your provider's web site or contact their customer service center to request it.

Invoke as follows:
Code:
wvdial sony
Maybe you can get just enough hints from it to solve your problem, but I can't guarantee it will work for you. Maybe it will just keep you busy until someone more experienced comes along....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st August 2008, 23:07
mpolito1969 mpolito1969 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I tried again with vwdial, it doesn't work.

I used the following vwdial.conf:


[Dialer Defaults]
Init1 = ATZ
Init2 = ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
Init3 = AT+CGDCONT=1,"","web.omnitel.it"
Modem Type = USB Modem
Baud = 460800
New PPPD = yes
Modem = /dev/ttyUSB0
ISDN = 0
Phone = *99***1#
Password = none
Username = none
Stupid Mode = on

Actually I can't understand the reason to have a "phone" field as I don't have any number to dial in Windows Vista.

Anyway, wvdial says

--> Disconnecting at Thu Aug 21 20:02:24 2008
--> The PPP daemon has died: A modem hung up the phone (exit code = 16)

You find attached the /var/log/messages and the output from vwdial (log.txt).

Bye,
Max
Attached Files
File Type: txt log.txt (2.8 KB, 188 views)
File Type: txt varlogmessages.txt (2.7 KB, 201 views)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25th August 2008, 22:28
ralic ralic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpolito1969 View Post
I tried again with vwdial, it doesn't work.
It looks better than I expected for a first attempt.
It actually connects and gets a carrier, but doesn't seem to get a PPP response.

Try setting stupid mode off. This will allow the connection to progress further instead of handing off to PPPD immediately. You might need to send some special command to fire off ppp on the server. After a couple of attempts like that, the logs will probably offer more hints about what to do next.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpolito1969 View Post
Actually I can't understand the reason to have a "phone" field as I don't have any number to dial in Windows Vista.
The phone number here is not the same as in the general sense. It's a special one to 'invoke' GPRS. I'm guessing vista might be hiding this from you, if it even uses this method at all.

Doing it this way may not be the most efficient, but the idea is to get you connected if possible, and later you can look for a 'better' way to do it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25th August 2008, 22:54
mpolito1969 mpolito1969 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I'll try, thank you very much for your hints.

By the way, I've written to the Option support asking for some advice and they replied

Code:
The 3G device you have purchased is an OEM product. We are sorry that we are not able to assist you with your support inquiries. The product has been
commercialized and is supported by your local supplier. Please contact your
local supplier-support helpdesk. (i.e. Asus)
They built this blasted modem, they know even the smallest detail of it but they don't give me any support because I have purchased it as an OEM product????? I don't give a hang about it being an OEM or what else, it's an Option product and Option MUST support me. This is not about being honest with customers...

I swear next time I'll be much more careful about what is inside a PC. And I don't want to get in touch with any other Option product, whether OEM or not.

Ciao,
Max
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 4th September 2008, 22:15
mpolito1969 mpolito1969 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

I've found a solution, it's here:

http://www.pharscape.org/component/o...ewtopic/t,508/

Ciao,
Max
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mpolito1969 For This Useful Post:
falko (5th September 2008)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problems with vodafone mobile connect for linux nurburgracer HOWTO-Related Questions 3 14th August 2008 19:59
Getting e-mail working hansoffate Installation/Configuration 29 13th August 2008 16:33
Postfix problem: lost connection after CONNECT from unknown fernando_torrez Server Operation 5 30th November 2007 14:17
mail issue - can recieve but not send phillycode Installation/Configuration 2 24th March 2007 15:02
Perfect Xen 3.0 setup for Debian gurneyzap HOWTO-Related Questions 4 26th March 2006 11:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.