Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15th July 2008, 22:33
BorderAmigos BorderAmigos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego & Tijuana
Posts: 302
Thanks: 26
Thanked 33 Times in 31 Posts
Send a message via MSN to BorderAmigos Send a message via Yahoo to BorderAmigos
Default BIND server in ISPConfig general question...

All the named sites under ISPConfig are up and running well and accessible by domain.name. But the system says BIND is not running on boot up. I can manually start it and all still runs well. This isn't a problem just a general configuration question as ISPConfig seems to be running a separate DNS than the main BIND one. I want to write some code that does dynamic DNS updating of the sites on my server.

Does ISPConfig use the same DNS configuration files as the default BIND? I'm curious how the names are still resolving when the BIND9 server is stopped.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 16th July 2008, 17:37
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

Which distribution are you using?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th July 2008, 17:43
BorderAmigos BorderAmigos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego & Tijuana
Posts: 302
Thanks: 26
Thanked 33 Times in 31 Posts
Send a message via MSN to BorderAmigos Send a message via Yahoo to BorderAmigos
Default

Debian Etch, Kernel 2.6.18
ISPConfig 2.2.23 (I think)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th July 2008, 15:44
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

ISPConfig uses the default BIND. Its configuration can be found in /etc/bind/.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th July 2008, 17:21
BorderAmigos BorderAmigos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego & Tijuana
Posts: 302
Thanks: 26
Thanked 33 Times in 31 Posts
Send a message via MSN to BorderAmigos Send a message via Yahoo to BorderAmigos
Default

There is no folder /etc/bind on my system. The configuration files are in /var/lib/named/etc/bind/. This is how it was installed by the 'Perfect Server' instructions.
__________________
System6Hosting.com, ISPConfig 3, Debian.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th July 2008, 14:27
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

But /etc/bind should be a symlink to /var/lib/named/etc/bind...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25th July 2008, 23:29
BorderAmigos BorderAmigos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego & Tijuana
Posts: 302
Thanks: 26
Thanked 33 Times in 31 Posts
Send a message via MSN to BorderAmigos Send a message via Yahoo to BorderAmigos
Default

Indeed there is, thanks.

I need a script that updates the IP of primary zone files when the IP changes. One way is using nsupdate to directly modify them. But if I'm not mistaken, ISPConfig would wipe out those changes next time it re-creates the VHOSTS.

So, maybe a better idea to write a php script that will update the values in the ispconfig database then trigger a rewrite of the vhosts and a restart of the name server. Does this make sense?

I'm using DynDNS service for the main nameserver domain updates but don't want to pay an account for every domain name I use in addition to that one.

I guess my concern is that ISPConfig would re-read the IP addresses from MySQL before re-writing the zone files, rather than having them already stored in memory. True?

Have a great weekend.
__________________
System6Hosting.com, ISPConfig 3, Debian.

Last edited by BorderAmigos; 25th July 2008 at 23:31. Reason: added info.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26th July 2008, 01:06
BorderAmigos BorderAmigos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego & Tijuana
Posts: 302
Thanks: 26
Thanked 33 Times in 31 Posts
Send a message via MSN to BorderAmigos Send a message via Yahoo to BorderAmigos
 
Default

Something like this maybe...???

Code:
<?php
//
// Configuration
//
$dbhost = '';    // MySQL Host Name
$dbuser = '';    // MySQL User Name
$dbpass = '';    // MySQK Password
$remoteip = '';  // Some remote site that will echo your IP address
//
// Update Script
//
$ip = file_get_contents($remoteip);
if ($ip !== false)
{
 $conn = mysql_connect($dbhost, $dbuser, $dbpass) or die('Error connecting to mysql');
 mysql_select_db('db_ispconfig');
 $query = "UPDATE dns_isp_dns SET dns_soa_ip = $ip WHERE dns_soa_ip = *";
 mysql_query($query) or die('IP update failed.');
 $query = "UPDATE dns_a SET ip_adresse = $ip WHERE ip_adresse = *";
 mysql_query($query) or die('A update failed.')
 $query = "UPDATE dns_isp_dns SET status = 'u' WHERE status = *";
 mysql_query($query) or die('DNS update failed.');
 mysql_close($conn);
 $update = shell_exec('touch /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/.run');
}
else
{
 die('Error getting IP address.');
}
?>
I have a remote server that echos the IP using SSI. The intent of this is to update the main external IP and any A records (which I'm using for www.).
__________________
System6Hosting.com, ISPConfig 3, Debian.

Last edited by BorderAmigos; 26th July 2008 at 01:08.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSL Cert Question for ISPConfig Access giganet Installation/Configuration 33 28th March 2009 07:56
ISPConfig 2.2.21 | Debian 4.0 | DNS configuration question iceget Installation/Configuration 8 17th February 2008 18:25
The Perfect Setup - Debian Etch (Debian 4.0) some trouble daniel80 HOWTO-Related Questions 26 1st February 2008 16:30
Problems with Postfix Mysql Courier PatrickAdrichem Installation/Configuration 3 13th April 2007 15:44
How set DNS entry for different server? SupuS Installation/Configuration 1 12th June 2006 09:48


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.