Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Feature Requests

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11th June 2008, 01:56
cambo cambo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 53
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis View Post
For those who wonder how to set the apache redirect mentioned by till:
Code:
Redirect / http://www.anotherdomain.tld
Hi
I tried this and got an error:
" You cannot assign HTTPD Includes to this website."
Am I missing something?

What I want is if anyone comes to my .net site, I just want to send them to my .com site.
I have them both set up as 2 different domains in ISPConfig

Thanks
Cambo
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 11th June 2008, 09:19
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,415
Thanks: 812
Thanked 5,204 Times in 4,080 Posts
Default

Please make sure that you enabled httpd includes in the settings of the reseller to which the site belongs.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12th June 2008, 06:42
cambo cambo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 53
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Please make sure that you enabled httpd includes in the settings of the reseller to which the site belongs.
Ahhh.. It's the simple things that you don't understand that will get you every time.

Thanks Till, works perfect now!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12th June 2008, 12:49
Baggus Baggus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Lightbulb

Ofcourse there is always the easy and the hard way, assuming that you have both sites running on the same ISPconfig server you can just remove the complete web directory from one of the sites and replace it with a symlink leading to the directory of the other site.

I have done this before to get an application outside ispconfig to work and i am 100% certain it will work in this situation aswell.

my situation: i had torrentflux setup in /usr/share/torrentflux so i went to the ispconfig dir i.e. /var/www/web1337/
and deleted the web directory inside the web1337 directory, replaced it with a symlink

Code:
server@server:/var/www/web10$ ls -al
total 36
drwxr-xr-x  8 www-data web10 4096 2008-06-12 12:48 .
drwxr-xr-x 14 root     root  4096 2008-06-04 02:08 ..
drwxrwxr-x  2 www-data web10 4096 2008-06-04 02:08 cgi-bin
-rw-rw-r--  1 root     web10   41 2008-06-12 04:00 .htpasswd
drwxr-xr-x  3 www-data web10 4096 2008-06-05 00:30 log
drwxrwxrwx  2 www-data web10 4096 2008-06-04 02:08 phptmp
drwxr-xr-x  2 www-data web10 4096 2008-06-04 02:08 ssl
drwxr-xr-x  2 www-data web10 4096 2008-06-04 02:08 user
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root     root    26 2008-06-04 02:21 web -> /usr/share/torrentflux/www
drwxr-xr-x  3 root     root  4096 2008-06-04 02:19 web_backup
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Baggus For This Useful Post:
elusivemedia (6th July 2008)
  #15  
Old 13th June 2008, 09:22
cambo cambo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 53
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hi Baggus
I am actually doing that in some of my websites to link /images to some personal ftp accounts that are outside the website where images are uploaded to.

I never thought of doing it as a type of domain forward.

As you say, there's more than one way to skin a cat.

Regards
Cambo
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 6th July 2008, 20:28
elusivemedia elusivemedia is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baggus View Post
Ofcourse there is always the easy and the hard way, assuming that you have both sites running on the same ISPconfig server you can just remove the complete web directory from one of the sites and replace it with a symlink leading to the directory of the other site.
thanks! very easy...better than paying someone $5/yr to do domain masking
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
a simple question on sub-domain forwarding... I think... dimas Installation/Configuration 11 4th August 2007 11:38
Domain Change in website Jose Gosalbez Installation/Configuration 15 19th July 2006 12:38
simple question: re domain www.foobar.com.foobar.com bryxal Installation/Configuration 2 2nd June 2006 22:04
Server Not Autorative for Domain Error drbista Installation/Configuration 10 20th December 2005 16:41
postfix config jmroth Installation/Configuration 6 18th September 2005 15:58


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.