Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Other Forums > Smalltalk

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 26th May 2008, 10:08
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,486
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,255 Times in 4,121 Posts
Default

Is this really a technical issue? Just a guess: If a customer runs a HA setup, the server will most likely have very much traffic. As all traffic is included in the price of the current servers, hetzner just might not want these high traffic customers or any new customers with high traffic anymore as the bandwith they consume are for sure above there mean price calculation...
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #22  
Old 27th May 2008, 21:18
toodles toodles is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cgick View Post
hi folks,

we are located in rz 6 which still allows some subnets to be used by two machines on virtual interfaces. our latest subnet which we registered though doesn't route to both machines any more.

did you get any feedback from hetzner? the support simply told me via e-mail that ha-solutions aren't supported any more and theres no alternative.

i read that virtual mac-addresses could do the job? maybe we could even fake the mac by the active machine to bypass that check. did anyone of you guys get information obout alternatives?

best regards,
chris
Hi chris,

No feedback yet. Virtual mac-addresses can be made work (ask Hetzner to give you one), although it's not terribly nice. From what I understood, it works something like this.

server1 - macAddress1 - ipAddress1
server2 - macAddress2 - ipAddress2

virtualMacAddress3 - ipAddress3

You can now give either server1 or server2 the virtualMacAddress3 along with ipAddress3, but while it has this mac and ip address, it cannot have the original mac and therefor the original ip address. This means that your server will not ever have an ip address under which it is always available. You'll always have to try between ipAddress1 and ipAddress3 for server1 and for the second server it will always be either ipAddress2 or ipAddress3. It will make everything a lot more complicated.

Don't try and add "fake" mac addresses on your own. The switches remember your mac address and will not give out any IP address to a different mac address. This will mean that once the mac address is changed, you will no longer be able to connect to their network until your original mac address is restored. Your nic will "remember" the mac address, so even a reboot won't restore it, and because your machine will be disconnected from the network, an automated remote reboot will not work either. They will have to switch off your server for 10 minutes or change the mac address back manually.

Don't take my word for the above, this is only to the best of my knowledge. I wish I had better news.

Regards,
toodles
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 27th May 2008, 21:25
toodles toodles is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Is this really a technical issue? Just a guess: If a customer runs a HA setup, the server will most likely have very much traffic. As all traffic is included in the price of the current servers, hetzner just might not want these high traffic customers or any new customers with high traffic anymore as the bandwith they consume are for sure above there mean price calculation...
I agree, this is a very plausible explanation. After all, taking a look at the pricing:

DS3000 = 1000GB/Month = €49 = €0.049/GB

Everything that goes over the 1000GB/Month costs €0.09/GB, almost twice as expensive. Therefor it's cheaper to use a high-availability(HA) solution in terms of traffic, if you're using a lot of traffic. Of course, there's other ways to do this, but HA is of course nice to have... I mean, it IS highly available! :-P

toodles
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 4th June 2008, 11:18
cgick cgick is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Hetzner Kundeninformation

Die Mail weiter unten kam gerade rein - es wird ernst!

Ich werde heute mal mit Herrn Fritzsche (Chef de Netz) telefonieren um nach alternativen Möglichkeiten zu fragen. Herr Pirner, der uns vor knapp 9 Monaten zugesichert hat dass unser Heartbeat-Setup bei Hetzner läuft meinte er wäre der richtige Ansprechpartner.

Unter Umständen würde Hetzner auch ein eigenes Netzsegment für uns Heartbeatler aufbauen, ich schlug vor die ca. 150 Kunden an den Kosten zu beteiligen. Immer noch besser, als der Zeit-/Kostenaufwand zu einem anderen Provider umzuziehen der Heartbeat anbietet. Und so einen wie Hetzner muss man auch erst mal wieder finden...

Quote:
Die kontinuierliche Entwicklung und Erweiterung von internen
Sicherheitsstandards führen am Montag, den 21.07.2008 um 10:00 Uhr zu einer Anpassung des
Routings Ihrer zusätzlichen IP-Adressen.

Dabei wird Ihr Subnetz nicht mehr wie bisher, auf unseren Routerport
gelegt, sondern direkt auf Ihre Haupt-IP geroutet. Dadurch können
wir sicherstellen, dass nur Sie Ihre IPs nutzen und eine fehlerhafte
Konfiguration Ihrer Racknachbarn keinerlei Auswirkungen auf Ihren
Serverbetrieb hat.

Diese von sicherheitsbewussten Kunden bereits geforderte Maßnahme
führt zu einer signifikanten Steigerung der Sicherheit und Stabilität
Ihrer Anwendungen!

Dabei werden zum oben genannten Zeitpunkt folgende Subnetze umgeroutet:

78.47.172.160/255.255.255.248 auf Haupt-IP 88.198.69.233
78.47.172.168/255.255.255.248 auf Haupt-IP 88.198.69.235

Durch diese Arbeiten sind die Subnetz-IPs nur noch auf dem System nutzbar,
auf welchem die Haupt-IP konfiguriert ist. Daher muss vorher sichergestellt
werden, dass die Haupt-IP auf dem Server eingetragen ist und die Subnetz-IPs
nur auf diesem Server genutzt werden. Die Nutzung eines Subnetzes auf
mehreren Servern ist nicht länger möglich.

Falls Sie die Subnetz-IPs auf einen anderen Server nutzen, als bei der Beantragung
des Subnetzes angegeben, bitten wir Sie uns mindestens eine Woche vor dem
oben genannten Termin zu informieren. Wir werden dann die Zuordnung mit
Ihnen gemeinsam entsprechend abändern.

Aufgrund der durchgeführten Arbeiten kann es möglich sein, dass eine
Konfigurationsänderung am Server vorgenommen werden muss:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

1. Sollten Sie die Subnetz-IPs nur als zusätzliche IPs auf Ihren Server gelegt
haben, ist keine Änderung an Ihrer Netzwerkkonfiguration nötig. Sie
können aber die bisher als Gateway verwendete IP anschließend als Server-
IP nutzen. So steht Ihnen eine zusätzliche IP-Adresse zur Verfügung!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

2. Falls Sie die Subnetz-IPs für virtuelle Server nutzen, müssen einige
Anpassungen erfolgen, da die virtuellen Maschinen ansonsten aufgrund des
Wegfalls des Gateways nicht mehr erreichbar wären.

Bei dieser neuen Art der Subnetz-Allokierung muss zur Ansteuerung der VM
ein "Routed"-Setup verwendet werden, da ein "Bridged"-Setup leider nicht
länger möglich ist.

Dabei wird dem Host-System die Aufgabe übertragen, das Gateway der VMs
bereitzustellen. Dies erfolgt am bestem, indem eine IP des zusätzlichen
Subnetzes auf dem Hostsystem eingerichtet wird. Diese kann dann in dem
VM als Gateway genutzt werden.

Genauere Informationen über die Einrichtung der zusätzlichen
IP-Adressen nach der Umstellung finden Sie unter:

http://wiki.hetzner.de/index.php/IP-Subnetze

Da bei der Nutzung von Virtualisierung Konfigurationsänderungen am
Server erfolgen müssen, welche möglichst zeitgleich mit der
Routingänderung stattfinden sollten, ist es auch möglich, das
Subnetzrouting bereits vor dem oben genannten Termin umzustellen.

Bitte kontaktieren Sie dazu unseren Support (subnetz@hetzner.de), um einen
Termin zur manuellen Umstellung zu vereinbaren.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 4th June 2008, 11:46
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

We've got the same message today.
Can you PM me the phone number of Mr Fritzsche?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 4th June 2008, 14:47
cgick cgick is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I just called RZ6 and asked for him. If he's is not in place ask for a callback, he will do so... Hope we get this to a happy ending!
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 4th June 2008, 16:44
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

I've just tried to call him, but he wasn't there anymore. Will try again tomorrow.
Did you speak with him already? Any news?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 4th June 2008, 21:50
langerdan langerdan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Just want to add that I would also be willing to support a solution for HA at Hetzner. I got same email today and will lose my failover setup if I cannot get a solution.

I'm happy Hetzner customer of more than two years and would rather stay with them if they can find a solution, rather than migrate away.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 5th June 2008, 11:12
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

I've just talked to Mr Fritzsche, and he said that everyone with a HA setup should write an email to subnetz@hetzner.de ; they'll collect the emails, and if there are enough of them, they will provide an alternative solution for us.

I've just sent my email, now it's everybody else's turn. PLEASE, write them an email and don't give up!
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:

Last edited by falko; 5th June 2008 at 13:12.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 5th June 2008, 12:12
langerdan langerdan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

I've sent my email
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to langerdan For This Useful Post:
falko (5th June 2008)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ERROR: The PHP binary coming with ISPConfig does not work properly on your system! micko_escalade Installation/Configuration 35 30th March 2007 11:31
Another ERROR: The PHP binary coming with ISPConfig does not work properly on your sy hoopsx3 Installation/Configuration 2 29th January 2007 07:56
Install Error Alpha Installation/Configuration 9 6th April 2006 19:48
setup fails on debian 3.1 dtrumbower Installation/Configuration 7 7th March 2006 13:42
ISPConfig Failure on SuSe 9.3 gimhan90 Installation/Configuration 13 2nd February 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.