Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Other Forums > Smalltalk

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 14th February 2008, 18:45
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmagnets
Does anyone know roughly what proportion of hosts allow this type of virtual IP set up? Is it common or rare for it to be allowed?
Out of the three hosters I've worked with (Hetzner, 1&1, Strato), only Hetzner allowed it. I guess it's a rare feature.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmagnets
Also, what is the best way of asking a prospective host if it is possible, to minimise the chances of misunderstanding. It'd be a nightmare to pay for hosting and then find it can't be done when you thought it could.

Thanks for the haproxy tutorial.
I'd ask if they support HA setups (e.g. with heartbeat or keepalived) where one IP address (the virtual IP address) can be shared by more than one host.

BTW, anyone got any feedback from Hetzner?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
toodles (15th February 2008)
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 15th February 2008, 14:54
toodles toodles is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The organisation I work for has been in contact Hetzner about the issue and as a result of that, I have been contacted by Hetzner. They said that they do not yet have a solution in place and do not yet know what, if anything, will be made available. They did want to reassure my organisation that what they would be able to do no matter what the case, is to give me not only a virtual IP but also a virtual MAC that can be moved between the servers with the IP address. This would allow me to continue my HA setup. The only disadvantage is that which ever server is the master will no longer be accessable via it's normal IP while it has the virtual IP. This is only possible for me because I have a crossover cable connecting the two servers which may not be the case with other customers. I would of course prefer a different solution, but I can live with this one.

--toodles
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 16th February 2008, 17:45
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toodles
The only disadvantage is that which ever server is the master will no longer be accessable via it's normal IP while it has the virtual IP.
This is a huge disadvantage for us because we run multiple Xen VMs per physical host. If I understand this right, only the active loadbalancer VM would be accessible while all other VMs on that machine would be cut off...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 16th February 2008, 18:34
toodles toodles is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
This is a huge disadvantage for us because we run multiple Xen VMs per physical host. If I understand this right, only the active loadbalancer VM would be accessible while all other VMs on that machine would be cut off...
Ah yes. I see what you mean. Perhaps it would be possible to have an extra nic placed in each of your servers. I know it's extra work, and would involve a short amount of downtime, but then you could use one nic for the loadbalancing IP's and the other as the server's main IP. I think you're charged 15Euro/nic once off. Just an idea. If I understood your situation correctly, it should work, no? I realise that this isn't the ideal solution either, but at least you wouldn't be left stranded.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 17th February 2008, 18:42
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

This would cause a lot of local testing (and therefore lost time) before we could use it on a production system.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 17th February 2008, 18:45
toodles toodles is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

:-( True. Let's hope Hetzner will come up with a solution and not put it's customers through trouble!!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 21st February 2008, 16:16
Dmagnets Dmagnets is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I didn't consider using Hetzner when I first posted to this topic, but now having seen their prices, I'm really tempted to!

I tried to register on their forums to see progress on the IP takeover issue but couldn't understand the German registration form. Can anyone fill me in on what is happening?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 21st February 2008, 17:35
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmagnets
Can anyone fill me in on what is happening?
No news so far. They're thinking about a solution, but haven't come up with anything yet.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 25th May 2008, 16:42
cgick cgick is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi folks,

we are located in rz 6 which still allows some subnets to be used by two machines on virtual interfaces. our latest subnet which we registered though doesn't route to both machines any more.

did you get any feedback from hetzner? the support simply told me via e-mail that ha-solutions aren't supported any more and theres no alternative.

i read that virtual mac-addresses could do the job? maybe we could even fake the mac by the active machine to bypass that check. did anyone of you guys get information obout alternatives?

best regards,
chris
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 26th May 2008, 09:44
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

Haven't heard anything back from Hetzner. I'm really hoping they don't touch existing HA setups. If they do, we will leave...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ERROR: The PHP binary coming with ISPConfig does not work properly on your system! micko_escalade Installation/Configuration 35 30th March 2007 11:31
Another ERROR: The PHP binary coming with ISPConfig does not work properly on your sy hoopsx3 Installation/Configuration 2 29th January 2007 07:56
Install Error Alpha Installation/Configuration 9 6th April 2006 19:48
setup fails on debian 3.1 dtrumbower Installation/Configuration 7 7th March 2006 13:42
ISPConfig Failure on SuSe 9.3 gimhan90 Installation/Configuration 13 2nd February 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.