Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st January 2006, 15:36
web-worlds web-worlds is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Apears like Apache not working

Hi,

I have the following question, I have setup with the perfect setup suse 9.2,and here everything goes okay with the install, after that I did a ISPConfig install and there I run into trouble with the Zlib-devel that was not installed, after fixing that all went well untill the end, after the choice http or https the install starts the configuration.

Here it tells me :

Connected successfully to MySql server
ls: /etc/apache2/vhost.d/*.conf: no such file or directory
ls: /etc/apache2/vhost.d/*.conf: no such file or directory

Restarting some services...
which: no apachectl in (/sbin:/usr/sbin:/usr/local/sbin:/root/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/usr/local/libexec)

Then it goes normal again till the end with starting postfix etc etc

But strangely enough when I run on my main domain that I used everywhere phpinfo it doesnt seen to compile the script.

Also I dont know if it should show the deafult apache page or not ?? could it be something is not started ?

http://www.web-worlds.com gives a access forbidden page.
http://www.web-worlds.com/info.php gives only the text.

What could be wrong?

BTW I should say that you peoples Howto's are farout the best I could find!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 21st January 2006, 16:51
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by web-worlds
Connected successfully to MySql server
ls: /etc/apache2/vhost.d/*.conf: no such file or directory
ls: /etc/apache2/vhost.d/*.conf: no such file or directory

Restarting some services...
which: no apachectl in (/sbin:/usr/sbin:/usr/local/sbin:/root/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/usr/local/libexec)
These are just warnings, you can ignore them. The installer has to be compatible with a multitude of Linux distributions, therefore there can be warnings for the one or other installation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by web-worlds
But strangely enough when I run on my main domain that I used everywhere phpinfo it doesnt seen to compile the script.
Your PHP scripts in the default Apache site won't work after the ISPConfig installation because in the SuSE tutorial you disabled PHP globally so that you can turn on/off PHP in ISPConfig on a per-site basis.
As far as I can tell, there's nothing wrong with your installation. You can now try to create your first web site with ISPConfig.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st January 2006, 17:31
web-worlds web-worlds is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Falko thank you for the fast reply

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Your PHP scripts in the default Apache site won't work after the ISPConfig installation because in the SuSE tutorial you disabled PHP globally so that you can turn on/off PHP in ISPConfig on a per-site basis.
How do I go and enable PHP then for the main site, I went through the Management part of ISPConfig but can not really seem to find any info on this?

Thanks again,
Web Worlds
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st January 2006, 17:43
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,478
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,255 Times in 4,121 Posts
Default

The main site is not needed anymore after you installed ISPConfig. If you re-enable PHP for the main site, ISPConfig cannot configure PHP anymore.

Just create a new website in ISPCOnfig an copy your pages / scripts in the newly created web directory.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st January 2006, 18:08
web-worlds web-worlds is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
The main site is not needed anymore after you installed ISPConfig. If you re-enable PHP for the main site, ISPConfig cannot configure PHP anymore.

Just create a new website in ISPCOnfig an copy your pages / scripts in the newly created web directory.
Ah so I think I get it, what I can do now is just to create the domain name as a site in ISPConfig to become available.

Great I do understand...

Thanks for the speedy replies of both of you, ISP config ROCKS!

Web-Worlds
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st January 2006, 20:19
web-worlds web-worlds is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Still another Question

Hi,

As you both are so fast in replying... What would be the best way to install a Squirrel mail installation, and with that I mean WHERE, so that it can be accessed by all users??

Thanks again in advance,
Web-Worlds
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21st January 2006, 21:09
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,478
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,255 Times in 4,121 Posts
Default

I would create a new website "webmail.yourdomain.com" and install squirrelmail inside. Dont forget that you need to create an DNS A-Record for webmail on the authoritive nameserver for your domain.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22nd January 2006, 10:46
web-worlds web-worlds is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

Golden idea, feeling a kinda of embarrassed that I didnt think of that myself thanks anyway, any chance that there will be a sign-up script for ISPconfig that does most of the work ???

Keep up the great work,
Web-worlds
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22nd January 2006, 12:13
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,478
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,255 Times in 4,121 Posts
Default

You can have a look at the remoting framework for ISPConfig.

http://www.ispconfig.org/remoting_plugin.htm

IWith the rmoting framework you can add customers and webs automatically from a sign up script that is e.g. part of your companys website.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22nd January 2006, 14:45
web-worlds web-worlds is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Hi,

I will have a look at this, thanks for the tip, btw for everybody that still wants a free .be domain for a year, you can still register for free untill 31 january nice if for example you want to test a site

here is the link : http://www.trade.be

Thanks,
Web-worlds
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PHP not working jefash General 10 28th May 2006 08:48
PHP/MySQL/Apache2/ISPConfig configuration issues? senzapaura General 21 25th December 2005 14:01
install apache 1.3 on FC 4 superg Server Operation 1 22nd December 2005 17:44
Apache 1.3 Support SleeperZ General 3 9th November 2005 11:10
Apache + PHP lola Server Operation 1 25th April 2005 13:41


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.