Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Desktop Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 7th May 2008, 11:43
comedit comedit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Changing over effortless to 64bits from 32 bits

I have in ignorance installed the wrong type of kubuntu. I should have installed the 64 bit version instead of the 32bit version to be able to fully utilize my 4gb memory for virtualization.

I am already using it for a few months and really want to avoid spending a whole day or more reinstalling everything.

I have a laptop with kubuntu 8.04 installed (just upgraded).

I have an e-sata conection available and an empty external harddisk with more then enough free space.

My question Is there an easy way of doing this or do I have to go don the route of reinstalling everything ?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th May 2008, 21:46
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

What kind of virtualization are you going to use? Xen? OpenVZ? Both come with 32bit kernels that support more than 2GB of RAM.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th May 2008, 22:27
comedit comedit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default more then one type of virtuialization

Falko thanks for the info.

But I will probably want to be able to run more types (vmware, virtualbox, and openvz.) for comparisson reasons.

However your tip is very usefull.

I assume if I would want to go change anyway it would be a complete
reinstall and thereis no simple trick ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th May 2008, 15:03
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by comedit
Falko thanks for the info.

But I will probably want to be able to run more types (vmware, virtualbox, and openvz.) for comparisson reasons.
You'll have difficulties finding a kernel that supports Xen and OpenVZ at the same time, unless you compile it yourself.

To be honest, I can't tell if VMware supports more than 2GB RAM on 32bit systems...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th May 2008, 16:13
comedit comedit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default thanks

Ok I will check the vmware sites for specs

The extra gb is to support more machines running at the same

Thanks for the info
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing defults of IspConfig lrider General 3 25th February 2008 09:37
Frontpage Extensions 2002 - Apache 2.0 rvarkevisser Installation/Configuration 10 13th August 2007 17:00
Changing "Return-Path" trcinc1 Server Operation 2 28th December 2006 01:01


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.