Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 18th January 2006, 12:52
reddogg reddogg is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Debian perfect setup network problem

Hi,

I have read many many thread on this site multiple times (and read lots of other web pages) and have never been able to understand what I have to do.

I would like to say thankyou to everyone on here and for the Perfect setup how to's for such a great source of information.

I am new to linux and I am having problems with my network setup on my Debian perfect setup. If I setup my server with a static IP I cannot connect to the internet.

I have tried the exact configuration that is shown in the How To's but have never been able to get it to work. I have been able to install the whole server (including ISPconfig) but have left the network settings as DHCP instead of static so I dont loose my network connection.

Currently I have this network setup.

Internet -> Speedtouch 530 ADSL modem (Dynamic IP) -> 8 Port switch -> windows box *2, mac mini, Perfect setup Webserver.

- I am unsure as to what hostname I should use (I own many domain names through my business and I sure there are some spare to use as a test until I get a real one, if this is what I need).
- I am unsure how to setup both my modem and my server with the static IP.
- When I had setup my server I was only ever getting the directory structure of my server and not the apache default page nor could I access the ISPConfig page even though I have forwarded all ports to my server.


Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Reddogg
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 18th January 2006, 17:49
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reddogg
- I am unsure as to what hostname I should use (I own many domain names through my business and I sure there are some spare to use as a test until I get a real one, if this is what I need).
If you have a spare domain that you can use for technical purposes only (i.e., not for web sites, emails , ...) that would be ideal. You can then create a subdomain, e.g. server1 (-> server1.yoursparedomain.com) and point its DNS record to your router's public IP address.

Quote:
Originally Posted by reddogg
- I am unsure how to setup both my modem and my server with the static IP.
I need some infos about your router:
- LAN IP address, maybe also netmask and broadcast, if available.
- The IP address range your DHCP server on the router uses.
You can find the details in the router's web frontend.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th January 2006, 22:04
reddogg reddogg is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Address pool is as follows:

start address 10.0.0.1 -> end address 10.0.0.254
subnet mask 255.255.255.0
gateway 10.0.0.138
server 10.0.0.138
primary and secondary dns 10.0.0.138

10.0.0.138 is the address of the modem and is the speedtouch default ip.

This is all the information that I could find - re your question.

When using a domain name and also dyndns do I put sever1.example.com as the hostname or do I put server1.homeunix.net (dyndns domain).

Last edited by reddogg; 22nd January 2006 at 02:09.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Perfect Setup - Debian Woody (3.0)... sending mail from my XP box? ExCIA HOWTO-Related Questions 17 27th June 2007 18:31
The Perfect Setup - Debian Sarge (3.1) Issues krazy1 HOWTO-Related Questions 10 9th May 2006 17:02
Problem on Debian Sarge Perfect Setup daniel_rodriguez HOWTO-Related Questions 4 12th January 2006 14:10
e-mail problem!!! Debian 3.1 maroonworks Installation/Configuration 18 6th December 2005 14:42
Debian Sarge Perfect Setup Rocky Installation/Configuration 2 4th November 2005 16:32


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.