Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st April 2008, 03:10
c4rdinal c4rdinal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Lower device (/dev/md3) is already mounted

Hi!

Got this problem on Virtual Machine Replication & Failover with VMWare Server & Debian Etch (4.0) howto. Hope u can help me fix the problem.

Here's the portion which gave the error:

Linux:~# drbdadm up all
Lower device (/dev/md3) is already mounted
Command 'drbdsetup /dev/drbd0 disk /dev/md3 internal -1 --on-io-error=detach' terminated with exit code 20

My machine is currently at RAID 1.

Linux:~# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 30 240943+ fd Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sda2 31 516 3903795 fd Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sda3 517 1732 9767520 fd Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sda4 1733 9707 64059187+ fd Linux raid autodetect

Disk /dev/sdb: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 * 1 30 240943+ fd Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sdb2 31 516 3903795 fd Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sdb3 517 1732 9767520 fd Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sdb4 1733 9707 64059187+ fd Linux raid autodetect

Disk /dev/md3: 65.5 GB, 65596489728 bytes
2 heads, 4 sectors/track, 16014768 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 8 * 512 = 4096 bytes

Disk /dev/md3 doesn't contain a valid partition table

I understand that the Howto is using ext3 partition and it said it should not be mounted first. I know i have to unmount the RAID Partition. But what's the proper command/configuration in the drbd.conf to load it as RAID 1 partition. Is it possible?

Also, I'm using a Gigabit NIC. In the /etc/drbf.conf

syncer {
rate 1024M; # Use more if you have a Gigabit network. Speed is in Kylobytes. e.g.: 10M = 10Megabytes
group 1;

Tried rate 1024M but there's an error as follows:

:~# drbdadm up all
/etc/drbd.conf:17: rate 1024M => 1024000K out of range [1..700000]K.

How can I fix it? What the valid options?

Thank you so much and more power!

Last edited by c4rdinal; 1st April 2008 at 03:36.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st April 2008, 04:20
c4rdinal c4rdinal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up

Hi,

Got some progress here. Error regarding the RAID device is gone already. Here's what I did in case somebody encountered the same problem:

I uncommented the /etc/fstab RAID partition and made this entry:

/etc/drbd.conf

on server1.domain.com { # Use the EXACT hostname of your server as give by the command "uname -n"
device /dev/drbd0; # drbd device ID
disk /dev/md3; # physical disk device , check your partitioning scheme !!
address 192.168.1.200:7789;
meta-disk internal; # I use internal metadata storage
}
on server2.domain.com {
device /dev/drbd0;
disk /dev/md3;
address 192.168.1.100:7789;
meta-disk internal;
}

I followed the rest of the howto and everything worked fine. However when I shutdown the primary server I got this error:

drbd0: worker terminated
drbd0: unacked_cnt 1935
drbd0: Sorry, I have no access to good data anymore.
Kernel panic - not sysncing: drbd0: Sorry, I have no access to good data anymore.

Any idea?

Thank you and more power!

Last edited by c4rdinal; 1st April 2008 at 05:29.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st April 2008, 19:05
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

This is all I could find: http://thread.gmane.org/gmane.linux.network.drbd/10550
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd April 2008, 03:55
c4rdinal c4rdinal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

I'm sorry, I can't find anything there that may address my problems.

I noticed that the /var/vm is not really mounted /dev/drbd0

#fdisk -l
Disk /dev/md3: 65.5 GB, 65596489728 bytes
2 heads, 4 sectors/track, 16014768 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 8 * 512 = 4096 bytes

# df -h
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/md2 9.2G 1.1G 7.7G 13% /
tmpfs 1011M 0 1011M 0% /lib/init/rw
udev 10M 76K 10M 1% /dev
tmpfs 1011M 0 1011M 0% /dev/shm
/dev/md0 228M 13M 204M 6% /boot


/dev/drbd0 should be mounted as /var/vm which is also my RAID /dev/md3. But my RAID device seem not mounted as can be seen above.

Any comments?

Last edited by c4rdinal; 3rd April 2008 at 05:17.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HOWTO: SUSE 10.0 and Software RAID a.k.a FakeRAID crushton HOWTO-Related Questions 35 16th January 2009 20:40
ISPConfig Installation error linuxuser1 Installation/Configuration 4 26th February 2008 07:38
Slow connection to FC6 system post-LAMP install? cfspence Installation/Configuration 8 29th January 2008 20:09
ERROR: The PHP binary coming with ISPConfig does not work properly on your system! qvindesland Installation/Configuration 22 21st May 2007 17:05
printing to a network printer ojs Installation/Configuration 4 24th February 2006 12:05


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.