#1  
Old 2nd January 2008, 18:40
Sohail Khawaja Sohail Khawaja is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to Sohail Khawaja
Default Munin graphs

Hello all,

I have joined an office where server's resources are being monitored on munin. Three red hat servers are running. one is configured as server ( munin + munin-node) and rest are client (munin-node). I am new with munin. dont know any thing about munin except its a monitoring tool over linux and it really seems to be great.

Now i have installed and configured a new server rhel5. I installed munin-node and configured in this way /etc/munin/munin.conf

host_name server4

allow ^192\.168\.1\.10$ ( munin-server IP i.e. server-2)

and on the server side at server 2

[server4.mydomain.com]
address 192.168.1.11 (server4's IP)
use_node_name yes

htmldir is set on server 2 like this
htmldir /opt/munin/var/www


service munin-node is running on server4.
on the other hand on server2 where we see the graphs of all the servers ... its there only an entry like that

mydomain.com :: [ day week month year ]
server1.mydomain.com :: [ Disk Network Nfs Other Processes System ]
server2.mydomain.com :: [ Disk Network Nfs Other Processes System ]
server3.mydomain.com :: [ Disk Network Nfs Other Processes System ]
server4.mydomain.com :: [ ]

can any body help me whats wrong ? or what else needed to be configured?
an early reponse will be highly appericiated.

many thanks
sohail
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 3rd January 2008, 14:59
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Please take a look at the logs on the server and client. Are there any errors?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd January 2008, 15:43
Sohail Khawaja Sohail Khawaja is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to Sohail Khawaja
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Please take a look at the logs on the server and client. Are there any errors?
thanks for your time.
well, on the server4 (rhel5)that is my new server and here its munin client and have munin-node working.

well the log is not being generated . . . see its pasted here

cat /var/log/munin/munin-node.log
2008/01/03-14:33:37 Server closing!
Process Backgrounded
2008/01/03-14:33:37 MyPackage (type Net::Server::Fork) starting! pid(14402)
Binding to TCP port 4949 on host *
Setting gid to "0 0"
2008/01/03-14:34:55 Server closing!
Process Backgrounded
2008/01/03-14:34:55 MyPackage (type Net::Server::Fork) starting! pid(14536)
Binding to TCP port 4949 on host *
Setting gid to "0 0"

while on rest of the servers this log is being generated . . . i think problem lies here ... please let me know what to do now?

secondaly, on the server end there is a tag in #/etc/opt/munin/munin.conf

htmldir /opt/munin/var/www

there is 3 folders (cgi, mydmain.com and server2) and three files (definitiions.html, index.html,style.css). Will i have to do something here ?

please help me out.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th January 2008, 10:33
Sohail Khawaja Sohail Khawaja is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to Sohail Khawaja
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Please take a look at the logs on the server and client. Are there any errors?
Will i have to go for plugins to generate graph of this client ( linux-4)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th January 2008, 18:50
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Is the new client configured exactly like the other ones? Is SELinux disabled?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 7th January 2008, 10:38
Sohail Khawaja Sohail Khawaja is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to Sohail Khawaja
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Is the new client configured exactly like the other ones? Is SELinux disabled?
Well, the previous clients were compiled from source by the previous sys admin, and they all are configured in /etc/opt/munin/munin-node.conf at RHEL4 while this new client is RHEL5 and I installed it by binary rpm file with default values.

# cat /etc/selinux/config | grep SELINUX
# SELINUX= can take one of these three values:
SELINUX=disabled
# SELINUXTYPE= type of policy in use. Possible values are:
SELINUXTYPE=targeted


please help me to sort out this problem.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 7th January 2008, 11:40
Sohail Khawaja Sohail Khawaja is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to Sohail Khawaja
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Is the new client configured exactly like the other ones? Is SELinux disabled?
Hi falko

Thanks for your response.

Yes, the firewall is disabled.

# telnet localhost 4949
Trying 127.0.0.1...
Connected to localhost.localdomain (127.0.0.1).
Escape character is '^]'.
# munin node at Server4


[root@Server4 root]#telnet 172.19.0.6 4949
Trying 172.19.0.6...
Connected to 172.19.0.6 (172.19.0.6).
Escape character is '^]'.
Connection closed by foreign host.

the entry in the server2 is like that

[server4.mydomain.com]
address 172.19.0.6
use_node_name yes

If i try to connect through telnet to server4 from server2
[root@Server2 root]# telnet 172.19.0.6 4949
Trying 172.19.0.6...
telnet: Unable to connect to remote host: No route to host

I think problem is with firewall because i am not been able to connect to server by telnet but the firewall is disabled.
SELINUX is disabled. then telnet?

[root@server4 ~]# cat /etc/selinux/config | grep SELINUX
# SELINUX= can take one of these three values:
SELINUX=disabled
# SELINUXTYPE= type of policy in use. Possible values are:
SELINUXTYPE=targeted


please guide where i missing something?
Many thanks.
Sam
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 8th January 2008, 17:43
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sohail Khawaja
If i try to connect through telnet to server4 from server2
[root@Server2 root]# telnet 172.19.0.6 4949
Trying 172.19.0.6...
telnet: Unable to connect to remote host: No route to host
Is the system in the same subnet as the other ones? What's the output of
Code:
iptables -L
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
munin not updating graphs flachance HOWTO-Related Questions 10 14th September 2012 16:23
munin permissions sjau HOWTO-Related Questions 10 17th April 2009 17:27
Munin & Monit Hans Server Operation 16 6th November 2006 17:38
SpamAssassin (lugin) with Munin edge Server Operation 4 18th August 2006 23:37
Extension for the monit and munin programs(tut from falko) ColdDoT Server Operation 7 4th May 2006 11:37


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.