#1  
Old 22nd October 2005, 01:26
killfrog killfrog is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Debian Sarge RAID5

Hi,
I lately got my "claws" on an old server, it's a Dual CPU PIII 450Mhz with 512MB RAM and three ULTRA SCSI 9Gb Hardisks.
I want to install Debian Sarge with kernel 2.6 and I want it to run with RAID1 for the /boot partition and RAID5 for the rest (root and data folders)
It is very possible (my friend did it already and I helped him a bit) to get a nice stable system running by following the Falko's HOWTO for a perfect Debian Sarge Install.
The only problem is that the initial support for RAID is not included in the kernel by default.
So I got to another nice site with a very nice HOWTO for setting up Debian Sarge from a Live CD such as KNOPPIX and setting up the disks to be RAID, it is done using the "debootstrap" feature (the link of the howto is http://juerd.nl/site.plp/debianraid).
The guy is a perl freak, he even wrote a script that automatizes all the installation process! The only problem is that that page seems to be a little outdated (he wrote it in May!) and not everything is going as its supposed to go. I emailed him, still got no response.
NOW, my question is: Can I setup the server in the "Falko's" way on one of the HD, and then later, when I have the system up and running, to compile the kernel and only then to setup the raid to make it work on all of my disks?

I'd aprecciate any help with this issue.
Thanks,
Ziv
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 22nd October 2005, 15:42
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by killfrog
NOW, my question is: Can I setup the server in the "Falko's" way on one of the HD, and then later, when I have the system up and running, to compile the kernel and only then to setup the raid to make it work on all of my disks?
Hm, I think so. I'd at least try it.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd October 2005, 21:43
killfrog killfrog is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

HEY!
I figured it out!
After reading so much about the several ways to set up RAID I've learn some stuff, and I understood what was my error.
The first time I tried, I wanted to create the RAID devices from the Base Setup in the partitioner program, all I did was to set the whole HD to be RAID autodetect, and when I tried to make partitions on it, it failed at the mkfs stage.
Now what I did was to set up a few partitions as I wanted them to be, exactly the same in all the disks, as follows
/dev/sdx (x=a,b,c...) first partition for /boot=64MB, second partition 512MB for swap, third partition all the rest, for root.
After creating the same partitions on all disks, I went to the RAID menu, and created a new device, RAID1 for /boot (IT HAS TO BE RAID1, NOT 5!!!) that is built up from the first partition of every disk (/dev/sda1, /dev/sdb1, /dev/sdc1) and then I set it up to be used as ext3 and mounted as /boot, and so on with the rest, just that all the other partitions were set as RAID5.
IT WORKS!
The only funny thing is that I made the swap be also on RAID5, so I came up with a swap partition of... 1GB!, is it bad? I don't think it would be a problem...
Anyway, thanks for your brief reply, and don't bother to try.
Now the question is, will I be able to add more disks to a live RAID5 device?
There is a posibility that a friend of me will bring me more disks of the same type, and I'd like to add a few extra Gigs to the data folders...
Ziv

Last edited by killfrog; 23rd October 2005 at 21:46.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compile Kernel 2.6 under Debian Sarge falko Kernel Questions 117 28th September 2009 13:03
Compile Kernel 2.6 under Debian Sarge falko HOWTO-Related Questions 5 17th October 2008 13:58
Perfect setup (debian sarge) Pelle Installation/Configuration 4 11th October 2005 17:17
Problems installing ISPConfig Debian Sarge hschel Server Operation 4 22nd August 2005 19:46
Install Debian Sarge with Kernel 2.6 root Installation/Configuration 4 10th May 2005 10:51


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.