#1  
Old 21st October 2005, 10:38
SurfingAlien SurfingAlien is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Hostname & DNS questions...

Hi All!

I hope to find someone who could help me out with some questions I have regarding hostnames & DNS

First of all, I'm not an ISP :-) As you'll soon discover, I'm not very well versed in DNS stuff also :-)

Since I'm more or less comfortable with SuSe Linux 10.0, that's what I'll be running on the server. I've already done the perfect ISP Server Setup by Till Brehm (excellent document!!!), but still remain with some questions... ISPconfig works by the way, but aside to being very slow, pages do not build up completely 9 out of 10 times. Any hints on that?

Maybe it's a good idea to explain what I want to accomplish... I want to set up a server to host a few websites; some stuff of my own, 3 sites for friends of mine, and a site for a group of apartment-owners I'm in the board for. All strictly non-commercial! In addition to this I want to offer POP e-mail & FTP for these sites...

All www.something.tld sites have been registered with (different) ISP's, and have them pointing (A-records?) to my IP-address. This is also done for the someone@something.tld (MX records). I am therefore not providing a DNS service.

The FQDN of my DSL-line is "r-l-p.xs4all.nl", and resolves to (static) IP-address 213.84.63.92. Is it a good idea to name my Linux host "r-l-p", and the site "xs4all.nl"? To me this makes sense because for one all e-mail Postfix will be sending can be checked by receiving parties to be an existing FQDN and corresponding IP-address...

The intenal IP-address of my Linux machine will be 192.168.1.2 (in a DMZ; apparently my router has trouble doing port-mappings), my router has 192.168.1.1 as IP-address (default gateway).

If I run the ISPconfig setup, at times I get questions about domain names and IP-addresses, and frankly I don't always know which one's I should enter here...

The same goes for setting up new sites; what IP's should I enter where?

Can one of you guys help me out, and give some explanation on it? I would sure appreciate your time & trouble!!!!!

If I am not complete on all details, please let me know...

Thanks in advance!

Kind regards,
Peter
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 21st October 2005, 11:31
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,430
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,208 Times in 4,084 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SurfingAlien
Since I'm more or less comfortable with SuSe Linux 10.0, that's what I'll be running on the server. I've already done the perfect ISP Server Setup by Till Brehm (excellent document!!!), but still remain with some questions... ISPconfig works by the way, but aside to being very slow, pages do not build up completely 9 out of 10 times. Any hints on that?
Do you mean pages in the ISPConfig Interface? This is caused by an incorrect value entered as host + domain during setup. You can correct this by setting the URL in the config file /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/lib/config.inc.php to the correct value. If you have no domain pointing to your server, you can use the IP.

Quote:
Maybe it's a good idea to explain what I want to accomplish... I want to set up a server to host a few websites; some stuff of my own, 3 sites for friends of mine, and a site for a group of apartment-owners I'm in the board for. All strictly non-commercial! In addition to this I want to offer POP e-mail & FTP for these sites...

All www.something.tld sites have been registered with (different) ISP's, and have them pointing (A-records?) to my IP-address. This is also done for the someone@something.tld (MX records). I am therefore not providing a DNS service.

The FQDN of my DSL-line is "r-l-p.xs4all.nl", and resolves to (static) IP-address 213.84.63.92. Is it a good idea to name my Linux host "r-l-p", and the site "xs4all.nl"? To me this makes sense because for one all e-mail Postfix will be sending can be checked by receiving parties to be an existing FQDN and corresponding IP-address...

The intenal IP-address of my Linux machine will be 192.168.1.2 (in a DMZ; apparently my router has trouble doing port-mappings), my router has 192.168.1.1 as IP-address (default gateway).

If I run the ISPconfig setup, at times I get questions about domain names and IP-addresses, and frankly I don't always know which one's I should enter here...
Use your internal IP: 192.168.1.2
As domain for your server i recommend that you make a subdomain e.g. server.yourdomain.com of one of your already registered domains that you point to your server.

Quote:
The same goes for setting up new sites; what IP's should I enter where?
Your internal IP: 192.168.1.2
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st October 2005, 13:39
SurfingAlien SurfingAlien is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Till,

Thanks for your very(!) quick reply...

Indeed I was referring to display-problems with ISPconfig. I changed the IP address in the config file and all is OK now!

It seems I did set up the host/domain name of the Linux server as you indicated. I've started adding sites & users, and all looks great.

One slight problem though... I've run the chkconfig --add ispconfig_server, and it's listed in /etc/init.d/rc3.d/S99ispconfig_server, but it just won't start after rebooting the server. Any thoughts on that?

For the rest: ISPconfig is a fine piece of work and support from you guys deserves a big compliment!

Thanks!

Peter
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st October 2005, 15:07
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,721 Times in 2,562 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SurfingAlien
One slight problem though... I've run the chkconfig --add ispconfig_server, and it's listed in /etc/init.d/rc3.d/S99ispconfig_server, but it just won't start after rebooting the server. Any thoughts on that?
Is it listed also in the other runlevels (e.g. in /etc/init.d/rc5.d)?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24th October 2005, 20:42
SurfingAlien SurfingAlien is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Falco,

Sorry for the late reply...

S99ispconfig_server is listed in both rc3.d and rc5.d (default runlevel is 3, by the way)

Thanx!

Peter
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th October 2005, 22:28
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,721 Times in 2,562 Posts
Default

You can try to delete the S99ispconfig_server symlinks from the rc3.d and rc5.d directory and then use chkconfig to create the system startup links.

I'm not quite sure about the syntax, so you better have a look at
Code:
man chkconfig
before.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
question about hostname and domain Ovidiu Installation/Configuration 26 8th March 2006 10:56
What should hostname be? Lil'Brudder General 2 19th October 2005 10:08
Server Hostname and IPSConfig Lil'Brudder Installation/Configuration 2 14th October 2005 12:46
Changing Hostname MyLinux General 1 5th September 2005 07:58
Newbie questions SidSkiba Installation/Configuration 2 29th August 2005 20:51


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.